Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 10, 2011
Looked like a nice product, but the weight was so inconsistent that I had to return it. I tried it on several hard surfaces, and I tried it for several days, getting off, and immediately getting back on resulted in weights that varied by up to 12 pounds. I tried to be very careful about placing my feet in the same positions, and not moving while I was on the scale, but the results were so inaccurate that they were useless.

EDIT:
I'm leaving my original review so that this update can be put in context.

Within half an hour of this review being posted, I received an email from the VP of the EatSmart company. He apologized, said that it must be defective, and offered to replace it. I received the replacement a few days ago, and it is definitely performing much better. Its weight measurements are right in line with other reliable devices, and all measurements are consistent.

I'll give the product itself five stars because it now appears to do what it says it does with good accuracy, and if I could, I would give another five stars for the customer service. It is nice to know that there are still companies who take their products, and their reputation, so seriously.
2424 comments| 2,744 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2011
Yes, I did receive an e-mail from the company about a month after my purchase to rate their product on Amazon. Ok. Why not? They explained they are a small American company. It only takes a moment of my time and I really don't mind. I for one, almost ALWAYS check out reviews on Amazon before going to the store to make my purchase on a product.

So now for my review.

As others have said, this is a nice looking scale. It came well packaged and was ready to go right out of the box. I found it very easy to set up as well (one thing I was worried about was entering my height as I have a 0.5" increment in my height, but the scale lets you enter height in 0.5" increments - hooray). In the past 6 months, through proper diet and regular exercise I've lost 43 lbs. I became curious about what my body fat % (I had it tested years ago at a health fair with an electronic hand held device to find I was about 34% -boo) might be and found this scale and took the plunge after reading other reviews.

I have not had my body fat tested in many years and especially not since shedding some major pounds but I had an "idea" of what I might be based on some calculations where you measure different parts of your body, enter your age, gender, height, etc... I thought I was about 20% before ordering the scale but wasn't really sure. (If it helps any reviewers I'm a 30 year old female, 5'5.5" tall, and currently weigh 125 lbs).

When I first received my scale, I decided not to set myself as athlete, based on the other reviews, though I consider myself a somewhat avid exerciser now. I stepped on my old scale 3 times and the new scale 3 times. Perfect match. I got six identical weights. Check.

Next I waited to find out my body fat % - I got a reading of 19.9% - keeping in mind from what I read that electronic body fat testing can have a margin of error of about +/-3% (I don't know what the particular margin of error is for THIS scale, but this is in general for most electronic devices). I was already prepared to except the fact that this number might not be correct. I recorded the number and continued to weigh myself in the morning (for accurate weight) and in the evening (for body fat%) and began tracking the number. I found that the scale was consistent in body fat% readings only changing the number by about 0.1% or none each day. Hooray! All I want is something to track my PROGRESS with and this scale fits the bill. I'm happy to say that in one month, I managed to get my body fat% down to 19.3%. It seems reasonable to me with the work I've put in to lose 0.6% in one month.

Also, muscle mass went from 39.9% to 40% - one of my body builder friends tells me it is difficult for a woman to put on more than 5 lbs of muscle in a year, so I don't expect this number to change much either (though I do lift heavy weights 3x a week).

As another reviewer noted when you are looking at your percentages - yes, they will total more than 100 when you look at body fat, muscle mass and total body water. That is because you have some water in your muscle and your fat as well so this water technically gets counted in your muscle and your fat and then all by itself (i.e. it gets counted TWICE), thus explaining why the totals are greater than 100%. Hope this makes sense.

So overall, I'm very happy with my purchase. It's a sleek-looking, fun gadget that helps me track my progress as I work towards my long-term health goals.

I also like the fact that you can just step on it and stand there and it will come on. No tapping, no buttons to push. Just step on it and get your info. Awesome. My husband also likes the scale and his numbers seem to be fairly accurate as well. The scale is "smart" enough to know who is stepping on it. Because my husband outweighs me by about 50 lbs when he steps on it, it automatically knows "user 2" is on the scale as opposed to when I step on it, it automatically figures out I'm "user 1". This might be an issue if two members of the household have near identical weights, but otherwise, you just step on it and it's ready! No switching to your user self number or anything. Ingenious!

I originally had trouble deciding whether to get this scale or keep my old scale and purchase the hand held body fat tester by Omron. Well, I've never tried the Omron product, but am happy with this scale. It gets the job done and I wouldn't hesitate to buy it again.

UPDATE 5/3/13
I was reminded to update my review after someone left a comment. My scale is still running on the original batteries. I finally reached my goal of 6 pack abs around 17.5% body fat on my scale. I then got pregnant and didn't use the scale for that period (as recommended by the manufacturer), but hubby did. I'm now 9 months post partum and am back to 19% bodyfat and close to my goal of returning to six pack abs. Last month I went to a health fair and got to use the Omron hand held device for bodyfat%. The Omron was 1.5% higher than my scale. But again, I care less about exact numbers and more about trends and consistency, which this scale delivers!
Recommended.
1313 comments| 878 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2011
So, I've owned this scale for a little over two weeks now and have been consistently tracking my results at the times suggested within the user's manual... "To receive the most accurate weight measurement, please weigh yourself first thing when you get up in the morning" and "To receive the most accurate body fat, etc. measurement, please weigh yourself in the evening, before eating."

Having followed this advice, in my initial review I felt that my measurements day-to-day were very consistent, but not that accurate in regards to body composition. Well, with a little help from the Amazon user community, I retract any doubt I once had in this product.

I initially took issue with the body composition measurements not being comparable with those I had received using a hand-held body composition tool at my local LA Fitness. However, after changing the scale setting from "Athletic Male" to just "Male", as suggested by another user, the measurements were spot-on (... maybe I'm not an athlete after all). So, my advice to those purchasing this scale, even if you meet the criteria specified in the manual and "exercise +10 hours of strenuous/aerobic a week"... try both settings. (I'm still curious as to how that setting influences the calculations)

And as for my doubt regarding all of the percentages not adding up to 100% (body fat, total body water, and muscle mass)... that's apparently a misguided expectation on my part. Once again, another user pointed out to me that there's going to be some overlap in the body composition percentages using this type of measuring instrument. By definition, muscle is part water. So from what I understand, water might be counted both in the muscle mass percentage as well as in the total body water percentage, causing the sum of all the percentages to be greater than 100%. Now, if I was a little loose in my explanation there, it's because I don't fully understand it... but a quick search on Google proved that this is in fact the case, and that I should have paid closer attention in Health class.

In conclusion, for the money, you simply can't beat this scale - intuitive set-up (well, maybe not that one setting...), awesome build quality (glass-top, not rubber or plastic like you may think from the pictures), as cool-looking as a scale can be, and most importantly, highly consistent results that are as accurate as can be expected from such a device. Meaning, I'm certain there are more accurate means of determining weight and body composition - but they aren't nearly as practical or affordable as this solution. Excellent deal!

I hope this was helpful, feel free to drop comments or questions.
1313 comments| 995 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2012
Ok, so, I did a LOT of research before making an accusation like this.
Like many, I purchased this product based on the great reviews and the top selling status. I purchased it because I was allured by the low cost and the abundance of features. The fat % is the only reason why I paid $55 for a scale that gave me that number instead of $20 for one that didn't. As a scale only, it works fine, but I paid more than double for a scale that will read body fat.

Unfortunately, this product only gives you a random average fat % value based on your age, height, sex, and weight from an algorithm programmed into a microprocessor in the unit that has memorized these values and just recites them when you step on the scale and certain weight, height, age, sex values are met. THERE IS NO SENSOR IN THE SCALE THAT MEASURES BODY FAT. IT IS JUST AN EXPENSIVE SCALE!

Like I said, I did a lot of research. So, here we go. You can double check me if you have this product and you will see that it is a complete scam. Enter in my values, "fake" my weight on the scale, and the fat % etc will be an almost exact match to what mine are.

I am a 31 year old, non athletic (according to the instructions), male, 6' 0.5" tall, and weigh 169 lbs. (my actual body fat is around 18% for reference)
The values of course range a little because they have to make it look realistic but the values I got for my stats entered were:
11.7% body fat, 61.9% tbw, 41.6% muscle, and 6.2lbs bone.

Now, if you already own this product and recreated my stats and "faked" my weight, you should have come up with values that are very similar and are starting to doubt the product right?

To further test my theory, I have searched a lot of reviews to see if I can recreate conditions based on a couple of other reviewers stats.
These are what I came up with:

Reviewer M. Ferrell 30 yo, female, 5' 5.5", 125lbs reports a fat reading of 19.9%. I recreated this by entering in the information as if I were a 30 yo, female, 5' 5.5", and I grabbed the towel rack as I was weighing to make the scale read 125 lbs (approximately, it's hard to do that exactly lol). Guess what the fat reading was..... 19.7%.

Reviewer bassgiraffe (video) 33 yo, female, 5' 11", 196lbs reports readings of 29.5% fat, 46.2% tbw, 36.9% muscle, and 4.6lbs bone. Again, I recreated this by entering her information in the scale and grabbing the towel rack to make my weight approximately 196lbs. The values were 30% fat, 45.9% tbw, 40% muscle, and 4.5lbs bone.

After seeing this evidence, I then decided to take the unit apart and see what this "sensor" is. After dismantling it, I could see the 4 weight sensors on each corner and then there were 4 wires, one pair of black and red, and another pair of black and red all just going to the metal "eat right" metal logo plate all soldered on the plate and going back to the circuit board.

It is not possible for a Bio-Electrical Impedance "sensor" that supposedly sends an electrical signal through your body to be like this. It would have to have 2 contact points, input, and output electrodes that your feet have to contact. The scale is pure glass with the exception of the metal "eat right" logo plate.

This just has 4 wires all connected to the front logo plate completing the circuit. There is a reason for this, however. It is measuring something. It is just a resistance meter to tell if you are barefoot. THAT IS ALL IT IS DOING. When you step on the scale with bare feet, the static electricity of your body interferes with the electrical resistance value of that completed circuit slightly when they get near the logo plate. Much like a multi-meter. If you place your finger near a multi-meter's tips, the values change slightly.

That is how it knows if you are standing on it with bare feet or with shoes on. This is required because if it didn't have it and you stood on it with shoes and it started doing its little "working" icon and started telling you your readings, people find out that it is a scam. Well, at least faster than I did.

****EDIT: I decided that I wanted to even FURTHER prove this without a doubt, I wanted to do one last definitive test. I had my dog, a 5yo 52 lb husky, be a lab rat for me.
I entered in all of my real information: 31 yo, male, 6' 0.5".
I took a weight measurement (169.4 lbs), when it was locked in, I had my dog quickly stand on the scale and sit (it took more than a few tries to get him to do it quick enough and stay still lol).
Incredibly, the scale started showing that it was "measuring" by doing its "working" icon.

Guess what the results were?
11.7% body fat, 61.9% tbw, 41.6% muscle, and 6.2lbs bone. EXACTLY the same as my original baseline reading.

I continued to do the same thing except I replaced my dog with my 13 yo niece. Took my weight measurement (169.4 lbs) quickly jumped off and had her jump on.
11.7% body fat, 61.9% tbw, 41.7% muscle, and 6.2lbs bone.

Then my sister.
11.7% body fat, 62% tbw, 41.4% muscle, and 6.2lbs bone.

Then my friend who weighs 270 lbs (mostly fat, not muscle).
11.8% body fat, 61.9% tbw, 41.7% muscle, and 6.2lbs bone.

I was thinking about buying a rat at the pet store and using that but I'm pretty sure you all know what the results of that would be anyway.
9595 comments| 1,607 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2015
Usually I just read Amazon user reviews and ratings, buy products. This scale had highest good reviews on this category of items, so decided to buy it.

Ordered on Oct 14th, item received on Oct 23rd, so if you are in hurry (like me), make sure you have enough time to receive it.

Seems Body Fat, Water, Muscle values are almost correct 98% matching with my Gym equipment or doctors office.

Weight Number is so different, Here is the big problem, with in 10 minutes, i am seeing too much variation in weight on same scale. Please see attached photos.

I am using last 3 days, seems batteries are FINE, LED is fine, no other issues like, not blinking of low batteries etc like other negative reviewers mentioned, seems this is alright to my item.

This scale looks beautiful, total family liked it including my little daughter, her weight 34 lb looks good always, her weight coming out correctly with pediatrican, seems this scale likes her, NOT me, i am 200+ lb though :)

How can i fix Weight value changes? is there any firmware i have to upgrade for this scale? OR i just got defective piece, i have to return or exchange item by talking to Amazon CS? if anyone suggest simple trick to fix weight issue without return, I will be glad as Fat %age looks correct.

thanks
Kalyan Gudivada
review image review image review image review image
44 comments| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2015
It's a great scale, I've had it for years and this is my first error (PIP8)! We never had these issues on the non-digital one. It will give me my weight now and that's it. Still when it did or does work it is an excellent weight that won't cost you an arm nor a leg.
review image
33 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2012
I've been using this scale for about a month now and LOVE it! Prior to get this scale, I had the Precision Digital Bathroom Scale w/ Extra Large Backlit 3.5" Display and "Step-On" Technology, also from EatSmart. It has a lot of same features I love about my Precision Digital Bathroom Scale -- step on technology, large display, sleek design, etc. So, what makes this one better? Information! All I could get on my previous EatSmart(tm) scale was my weight, which is fine if that's all you want. However, if you are interested in a more complete picture, the Precision GetFit Digital Body Fat Scale will definitely give you that! Here's the information you'll get:

*weight
*body fat percentage
*body water percentage
*body muscle percentage
*bone mass

Another really awesome feature about this scale is that it features an eight [8] person memory. Each person's data (age, gender, etc.) can be programmed into the scale. Once it's been programmed, the scale will automatically recognize which person is on the scale based on their weight. I've also used the Tanita BF679W Duo Scale Plus Body Fat Monitor with Body Water scale in the past, but it only stores data for two people. So, having the eight person memory is a great feature if you have a large family or just several people who will be regularly using the scale.

Some of the other features of this scale include:

*Measures in pounds or kilos
*Weight measured in increments of 0.2 pounds or 0.1 kilo
*Max weight capacity of 400 pounds/180 kgs (many only go to 300 or 330 pounds)
*Uses 4 AAA batteries (included)

All in all, I think this is definitely a great scale. The only feature I can even think of that would be nice to have would be an audible alert when the weight locks in on the scale since the most accurate way of weighing is standing straight up looking forward. By having the audible tone, one would know when it's OK to look down at the results on the display. Since it doesn't include that feature, I usually just wait about 10 seconds or so before looking down. That's such a small issue though that it certainly didn't warrant dropping this item down from a 5 star review.
review image review image
22 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2012
This scale is my new frenemy. It's easy to have around and does its job well. I just wish the news it gave me was more to my liking.

Take this morning for example. Because we set up the scale with our different profiles (easy to do if you follow the instructions), I know it's waiting for me. Waiting to judge me.

I refuse to be intimidated by a small inanimate object, so I hopped on to use it. Because of some vaguely written warning in the manual I have a fear about using it with wet or damp feet. The thing has never shocked me but I also haven't given it a chance to. Daredevils might appreciate living on the edge. I appreciate not being electrocuted.

The scale immediately knew it was me. While it flashed my weight on the easy-to-read monitor (a moment that always causes a grimace), it pulled up my profile, logged my new weight, and saved it to track my progress- or lack thereof.

One more brief moment and and it began to calculate my body fat. I should have hopped off to save myself a bit of dignity but I decided to hang on for the news. A few blinking lights let me know that it's still working, still sizing me up.

And then it was over. My body fat % appears on the monitor. It's a nicely lit screen and it's easy to read even while wincing in disgust. That extra slice of dessert last night is not doing me any favors.

Sometimes I hate this scale. Not because it doesn't work- far from it. It works a little TOO well.
33 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2013
Buyer beware, this scale is NOT consistent. I did a lot of research before buying this scale, and I followed the directions precisely in how to set it up and use it. However, I weigh myself every morning, and the scale simply is not consistent. I don't even mean day-to-day, I just mean minute-to-minute! I weigh myself one day, then the next, and it looks like I have lost three pounds - so I immediately re-weigh, thinking that can't be right - and the scale registers a pound higher. Then I immediately reweigh again, and it measures another pound and a half higher yet again! So in the course of three minutes I have somehow gained 2.5 lbs? I think not.

It's highly annoying that I can't trust this scale on first weigh. I have to weigh myself at least three times EVERY time I weigh so that I know the scale is measuring consistently (and frankly even then I don't really trust it). Maybe half the time it will be consistent, but many times it will not - thus the multiple attempts every morning.

I can't wait to get another scale and toss this in the trash.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
It did not last long!! I will not buy it again. I'm a petite girl and usually I weight myself around 104lb. For some reason, this scale weight me 73.0lb and 254.4lb. How could it possible?!
review image review image
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 181 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.