Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Tales of the Revolution: True Stories of People who are Poking the Box and Making a Difference
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 11, 2011
This is actually just a collection of anecdotes. No narration. No structure. No themes. Just one anecdote after another. Its all vy inspiring yes, but it also feels like a tossed salad. Totally mixed up with no structure.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2011
Some inspiring stories lost amongst a sea of ra ra and blah blah. Not really worth the time spent to read.
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2011
This book gave me ideas for things I can do to make a difference and has inspired me to take action. This book celebrates the human spirit and showcases remarkable people who are changing the world. As they say hope springs eternal. It;s fascinating to read about these unique people and how they put their dreams in motion.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2012
To be honest, I was hoping for more from Seth Godin. This book was just a collection of other people's stories without any commentary or added value from the author. Some of the stories were somewhat interesting, but nothing that would inspire me to anything revolutionary.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2012
There are plenty of stories in here of ordinary people doing extraordinary things and really making a difference in the lives of countless other people. I did find many of these stories to be genuinely inspirational.

However I did find that there was a lack of quality control (I find this to be a common problem in virtually all of Seth Godin's books) There were too many stories from self promoting self-help bloggers.

I would have liked to have seen more focus on actual results rather than what people claimed that they were going to do. Also there didn't seem to be any examples of people actually manufacturing any products.

The examples of Not for profit projects were much more inspiring and many were very impressive.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2012
I started reading this not even knowing there was an actual book, and now that I've read this free version I would love to read the real version.

This is an ebook filled with inspirational stories of people who have challenged the norm by creating a startup or finding an unorthodox way of becoming an entrepreneur. I found myself taking notes on some of the people (there are full names and websites for some stories) so that I can look them up later. If you have been considering creating a startup or becoming more involved in your community, these stories may inspire you to actually go for it instead of just thinking about making a difference. Many of the people within this ebook didn't start out with a big idea, or with a lot of cash to make their dreams come true. Instead, these people were able to make the most of what they had, take initiative, and become successful.

A problem with this collection of tales is that they are not organized, it is obvious each story is written by a different person, and there is nothing that unifies them besides the people within the stories who poked the box. That doesn't bother me as much as how some of the stories don't have a person's real name or company name because this means I don't have a way to look them up and find out more about the project.

Overall, I'm glad that I read this, and I found it very inspirational.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2012
As other reviewers have said, this isn't actually a traditional book; it's a collection of essays and vignettes by individuals that were submitted to the author of Poke the Box. I think really understanding this point is crucial: this ebook is analogous to an "extra feature" of the Poke the Box, just like how when you watch a movie on DVD you may be able to access extra features such as interviews or liner notes from the DVD menu.

So with that in mind, my experience (and FYI, I have not read Poke the Box) was that although the stories varied greatly in terms of how compelling and useful they were, overall there were enough great ones that I came away feeling glad I'd picked this up and given it a read. I made a handful of notes for websites and companies mentioned that I was interested enough in to actually go back later and check out, which is always a good sign. (The medical charity h[...] was a great one!)

Unfortunately, as The Emperor mentioned in his review, Tales of the Revolution does have numerous quality control issues, specifically typos and other editing/proofreading errors. Ultimately, I found them to be so distracting that they single-handedly knocked what would have been a four-star rating (in the context of the intentionally bonus-feature nature of the book and the $0 price tag) down to a three-star rating.

But this is free content, and you get the proofreading you pay for. I would have felt insulted at this number of typos in something for sale, but I can't feel that way about something being freely offered to me. There were enough cool stories that on balance, I feel like I came out ahead.

Again, I think the key with this one is not to go into it blind, because then it will come across as merely random. Go into it with your eyes open, and I think you'll find something to make it worth your while.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
The stories here are good, but they don't suck you in. I couldn't actually finish the book, so I feel bad reviewing it, but that's my review; the stories didn't hit me hard enough to keep bringing me back to them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
This is just a compilation of stories about people who did something to "poke the box". Maybe I should have read the description a little closer, but I was really disappointed because this turned out to be a simple compilation of stories.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
I thought that this was a great book. It is a great little snapshot of stories. You can easily finish a story in about 5 minutes or less- so if you want to keep coming back to this book you'll actually finish a story quickly.

I do recommend highlighting and writing notes when you are reading books like this- there is a lot of information that is in here, but it is difficult to actually comprehend it unless you're writing notes and highlighting specific pages in this book.

Overall, I would recommend this book to another person who is looking to start their own business or looking for ideas to get a new job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.