Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 31, 2011
I was all set to purchase the YPT-320 when I stumbled upon this model. At the time of my purchase, Amazon was offering a 10% discount and the price ended up being about the same as the 320, so I chose the YPT-330 instead. They are essentially identical, with the only differences being that the 330:

- has 15 more "natural sound voices"
- has 5 more preset voices (although this may somehow be combined with the above difference)
- is 1mm shorter in depth
- has the "Ultra Wide Stereo" feature
- may have a slightly newer version of the Yamaha Education Suite (Y.E.S.), but I'm not sure about that
- has 1.7MB of internal memory, as opposed to the 320's 373KB
- is charcoal gray instead of the 320's "champagne gold" color

Given all that, the biggest difference to me wasn't even any of the technical details, but rather the physical design. I simply like the charcoal gray color (with black and white buttons) better than the gold color (with orange and blue buttons) of the 320 model. Since the price ended up being about the same, I went with the color I liked more.

Aside from the design, I suppose the 330's biggest selling point over most other models is the "Ultra Wide Stereo" feature. This is a feature that you can turn on and off with the press of a button (similar to the touch sensitive feature), and it basically gives the impression that the speakers are spread farther out to your sides, rather than being "inside" the keyboard. It's a nice option, but I'm sure a lot of people might find it as much of a distraction or distortion as a helpful feature.

As far as the sound goes, I used to have a YPT-310 and the 330 sounds just as good as the 310 did, and I know that the 310 was highly rated. Though I haven't played with many of the other voices yet, the grand piano sound is very clear.

One other important piece of information is that the 330 does *not* come with an adapter. The 320 does, so if that's important to you and you don't care about the colors, I'd suggest getting the 320 instead.

Finally, in case anyone is confused by the model numbers, there is basically no difference between the PSR and YPT models other than the physical design. The PSR-323 and the YPT-320, for example, are the same (except for color). The different model numbers are a code used by Yamaha to designate to whom they are selling the keyboard, such as to a music outlet or a big-box store, or in different countries, and the prices may also be different.
77 comments| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
Purchased for teenager who can read music. At this price you really can't beat the capabilities of this keyboard. The touch sensitive feature does actully work. It sounds good, makes composing easy, is very portable, so it makes a great learning tool for teenagers. They accidentally learn things while having fun! The free online music available for it is a great value. It is in the form of a PDF file. The only complaint there is that if you download and print it the print is quite small making it somewhat difficult to read. The content however is good. Way more features and voices on here than will ever be used. Some are good and others just take up space.

My only real question here is why on earth anyone would sell an electronic device like this without including an AC adapter? I ordered one at the same time as the keyboard and really think it is an essential and would recommend anyone getting the keyboard get the adapter.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2012
So far, I love my keyboard! After deciding to re-focus my efforts on learning to play the keyboard I decided to upgrade
from a PSR6 (49 keys and I can't even remember the year) to this YPT 330. The range and sounds are certainly different
and I have been practising on it every day since I received it a few weeks ago. It's easy to adjust the tempo, voice and
style. I have not yet tested the "keys to success" function and others but will get there soon. I am very encouraged by this
keyboard and will provide a further update soon.
My only beef is with Amazon. While I searched for the Keyboard and adaptor separately, there was a package deal which
included both items and would have saved me at least 30.00 dollars. Even as my package was being shipped I decided to check
again and there it was!!!
My past experience with Amazon however has been all good!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
Good keyboard for the beginner. Bought this for my daughter and she really likes it. Not on the level of a Roland or anything, but should be good for someone starting out. Touch sensitive keys are a must and this was the cheapest one I could find with the most features.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2013
I've used this keyboard for a month now and I am happy so far. For the price this goes for, it does a good job at getting the key aspects I've aimed for.
Pros: Touch sensitive keys allows for practice on different levels of pressing strength, I got this keyboard because someone stated the similar priced Casio has only two levels of of tone for its touch sensitivity.
Keys have some resistance which is good. I was afraid of keys that were too light.
Sounds are clear and decent simulation of piano sounds.
Cons: Keys make a klacking sound when released. It's probably typical of all hollow plastic keys in the price range.
It does not include the power adapter.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
I tend to wait to give stars for electronics...just in case. I love this keyboard. It connects to the computer and has a lot of options. It's just shy of a full piano size, but I can adapt the music to account for the missing low ranges. I also have the pedal that goes with it. The sound is beautiful. Glad we chose this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2012
This is a tight-budget keyboard. Can't find any lower price one with touch sensitive key. Got it bare bones without any power unit, and we don't need any. Our 7"/DVD player has the same plug. Immediately, YPT330 works in both the house and the car like chime.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
The sound quality is very very nice and that YES training program is pretty cool. I bought it for a Christmas gift for my roommate and he loved it. He doesn't play it as much as he used to but I think that's just his mild ADD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
This is a nice keyboard for beginners. I have no issues with it. BUT, Amazon's way of doing business is mind boggling. You have to buy the power supply, which I didn't mind at first until the keyboard arrived and on the front of the box it says "Power Adapter Included". Well I thought I spent $11.00 needlessly until I opened the box and there is no power supply in there. So, Amazon, do open the boxes, take out the power supply and sell them separately? Strange way of doing business.......5 stars for keyboard 1 star for Amazon.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
My granddaughter's music teacher recommended this keyboard. He said that for the money it was without a doubt the best one I could buy for her. It came on time, was easy to set up, and has all the bells and whistles she will need for some time. My daughter is as pleased as I am with the keyboard, and I would highly recommend it for anyone starting out. Couldn't be happier....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.