Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 29, 2011
I ordered the printer from Amazon and received in 2 days (...nice job, Amazon). The setup was very easy on my Win7 PC, taking about 30 minutes total. The fax setup instructions were a bit confusing, but reading them a second time was helpful. Setting up the wireless connection was also a bit confusing, but mostly because I wasn't sure whether my router had the auto-setup feature described in Brother's instructions. (It did not, but once I realized this, the setup took about 1 minute). The instructions recommend printing a color picture from their library to insure the printer works properly. I was pretty astounded at the quality of the picture...coming from this relatively inexpensive printer. Nice features?...duplex printing, built-in card readers, fax, copier, scanner, and of course wireless. I am very impressed with Brother's attention to detail and quality. As it should, everything worked out of the box. Only downside is that I wish it printed a bit faster, but I shouldn't expect better performance from this price-range of printers.
22 comments54 of 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2011
Good price thru Amazon. Easy setup. Completely compatible with MacBookPro Snow Leopard. Have not hooked up WiFi but am sure it would work fine.
I am 84, not an advanced computer user so got quick answers to some questions using their online chat support system and easily downloaded user manuals. It is relatively quiet and speedy. Very satisfied.
33 comments64 of 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 26, 2012
I've spent a lot of time trying to find a printer in this price range that would meet all of my paper jam needs. Then Brother comes along and BOOM - paper jams that exceed even what I imagined were possible. The Brother MFCJ625 features a "non-rolling" roll bar that traps paper on *every single print.* Yes, you read that right - no more worrying about whether the paper will jam or not, the guesswork is done. And with the built in Wi-Fi you can now jam paper wirelessly.

"But wait," you say. "Why would I want to spend 2/3 of my day trying to dislodge bits of paper with tweezers from between the tiny teeth of a roll bar while holding a flashlight in my mouth?" Brother is already a step ahead of you. It may actually be 4:30 pm in the real world, meaning that you're now late for that meeting/kid's ball game/surgery you planned to attend. But the clock on the Brother MFCJ625DW will assure you that it's only 10:30 am, no matter how many times you reset it. It's like *gaining* 6 hours every single day.

With the Brother MFCJ625DW, your paper jam issues will compound exponentially the more you use the printer. It's all part of Brother's "Watch Your Life Slip Away Moment by Moment" initiative, in which customers spend hours staring into the black abyss of the paper tray, cursing the day they were born. They've cleverly hidden all the places paper can actually get stuck behind immovable walls of cheap plastic and metal teeth. There's a compartment in the back that allows the majority of the paper to be extracted, but don't worry - no matter how gently you extract it, there will always be tiny bits left behind for you to find. Think of it as a micro-scavenger hunt that ends with you slashing your wrists in frustration. At this price point? That's a bargain and then some!

Laptop users will especially enjoy the Brother MFCJ625DW. The marathon paper jams forever eradicate that pesky sense of freedom and portability you enjoy with longer laptop battery life and wi-fi connectivity. That's right, the Brother MFCJ625DW can jam paper no matter where you print from. This means you'll need to constantly move from your location back to the printer to fix the jam (don't forget your tweezers). It's great exercise, as is writing out your report, paper, or thesis by hand, just like your great-grandmother used to do. After you realize that no matter what you do, what type of paper you use, or what god you pray to, there is simply no way the Brother MFCJ625DW is ever going to successfully print without jamming, you can finally give up on the notion of productivity, creativity, and free time to spend with loved ones. But don't worry, the endless "spooling" messages that appear - on the rare occasion the printer actually communicates with you in anything other than arcane error codes - will give you a feeling of productivity that lasts, literally for hours.

Get one today before the price goes up! (Lighter fluid and matches not included)
4848 comments159 of 186 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2011
I just set up a wireless home network and the Brother fit right in. I tried to get the printer on the network without reading the instructions without much success. After reading instructions it took less than 5 minutes to set up(LOL.) The print quality can be set for saving ink for everyday documents to very high quality to print your own photos. The touchscreen is awesome and makes the interface from the printer very easy to use. Scanning looks great and the output can be how/where ever you want it. Some of the features takes a little getting use to and is not as fast I thought but over all an excellent product for the price. I would definitely recommend Brother to friends and family.
11 comment28 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2012
I have had the printer for about 6 months now, and this is an awesome printer. I have always bought the other brand printers before, but I'm never going back. I grew tired of spending 10 mintues convincing myself that having a printout was worth the cost of the ink.

Pros
- has all the features I want and more; wireless, auto duplexer, document feeder.
- it does very good pictures on photo paper
- it sips the ink; I got about 1000 pages off the black cartridge that came with the printer.

Cons
- not the fastest printer in the west
- when copying, there is a long delay while the printer is doing ??? before you can copy again
- document feeder does not scan two-sided pages (ok, it is missing one feature I want)

In the end, slow performance is ok with all the features and TCO of this printer.

Other thoughts
I also bought the after-market inks that are compatible with this printer (15 dollars for 20 ink cartridges!) I am just as happy with the print quality, the cartridges last a long time, and so far I've had no problems with them.
11 comment19 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2011
I purchased because I wanted to use with airprint for my iPad and iPhone. Got everything set up and it said no AirPrint printers found. I called Brother customer service and all they could recommend was using the Brother iPrint & Scan app that only prints jpeg and PDF files. I was very frustrated and finally discovered there is a firmware update that has to be done on the brother site...wished their customer service department was aware of it...

Otherwise it's decent for the price..
22 comments27 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2012
My previous printer was a Kodak AIO ESP 3. I had purchased it for the cheaper cost of ink supplies. But I ended up really disliking how long it took to "warm up" and print. I also wanted to find a wireless printing solution that was independent of a computer having to be turned on and connected to the printer. The Brother resolved all of these issues. Replacement ink is relatively inexpensive and it boots up and is ready to print in a short time. It feels very solid and well built and looks sharp sitting on the desk. It also supports Google Cloud Print via a simple firmware update located on the Brother website. I can easily print Google Docs from an iPad. I'm very happy with the purchase.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2012
In comparison to HP and Cannon inkjet printers that I have owned, this printer is simply better. The Brother MFCJ625DW certainly takes up much less room than a Cannon MX860, which had a huge footprint. The J625DW is ink-efficient, fast, quiet and very good quality. An additional plus is the fact that this printer spends little time cleaning its nozzles, therefore using less ink in the process; generic ink cartridges are available at reasonable cost. Ink color usage is also more uniform, i.e., all cartridges seem to be consumed at a more even rate - this is much better than my previous inkjet printers, which seemed to suck the ink during very long auto-cleaning modes. The MFCJ625DW ink usage is minimal in comparison.

Color photos are excellent. Fax function is as expected. Have not tried the scanner as yet, however, using the auto-feed copy feature proves that the scanner and auto-feed work just fine. Duplexing feature is quicker than either the HP or Cannon. BTW, I am using 24lb weighted paper and 69lb weighted photo paper - these feed through the Brother MFCJ625DW just fine.

The only downside worth mentioning is that the function software for scanning, organizing, and general interfacing could have been written a little more seamlessly. I have not used the Paperport software that comes as a stand-alone for organizing scanned documents, but I recall this software from the old Paperport days - it worked just fine, and I would expect this software to be an improved version.

Overall, at the price I paid (< $100) on Amazon, this printer really is solid.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2012
I have owned this for about 2 weeks now. I must say for the price it is loaded with features. Wireless setup might be a little difficult for some. DO NOT get the LC_61 cartridges that they want you to add to the order. They are incorrect for this printer!
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2013
I hate this printer. My biggest issue of contention I have with this printer are the ink cartridges. There are 4 separate ink cartridges, black, yellow, magenta and cyan. If you run out of ANY one of the color cartridges you CAN'T print in black ink only. I recently ran out of yellow and magenta ink and just wanted to print in black ink only and it wouldn't allow me to print. I called Brother to inquire about this and they just gave me a lame reason why I had to replace the color cartridges even though I had a full black ink cartridge in place. I told them this was absolutely ridiculous that I have to go out and purchase two color ink cartridges that I don't need before I can print in black ink. It's as If they are holding my black ink hostage until I purchase color ink. This is just another way to extort more money from the consumer in order to maximize their profits.
1212 comments18 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.