Back to Business Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Bose SoundTouch 130 Amazon Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 9, 2012
I thought this was a great ending for the trilogy. I just hope we will see more of the Kane family if another series soon. Loved the cameo appearances from Camp Half Blood at the school dance! :-) I hope we might see a story arc mixing the demi gods and the magicians at some point?!
55 comments38 of 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2012
With "The Serpent's Shadow," Rick Riordan sticks with his winning formula: gods and heroes (or magicians) must work together to save the world--and they only have a few days to do it. In the final book of the Kane Chronicle, Carter and Sadie have to complete a quest to stop Apophis and the forces of chaos before they destroy all of the created order. Along the way there's plenty of humor, a little romance, some crazy outfits, and lots of fun twists as Riordan brings Egyptian mythology into the modern world. Fans of Riordan's Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series will notice a couple cameos--and some hints of more adventures to come. It's a fun romp of a read. Highly recommended.
33 comments54 of 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2012
Honestly, I was a bit apprehensive going into this. Rick had left far more questions than answers at the end of TOF, and I had a horrible feeling that I was going to be disappointed with some of the resolutions.

I don't know why I doubted his abilities for a second.

Packed with the humor, action, and romance we've come to expect (not to mention including a suble nod or two to our friends in Manhattan), the final instalment in the Kane Chronicles Trilogy is guarenteed to keep you on the edge of your seat till the very end. An absolute must-read!
0Comment44 of 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2012
I've got to admit that the first two books in the Kane Chronicles I was not crazy about. They werent quite on the Percy Jackson level that i love- But this one is incredible. I love it. It is easily the best part of the trilogy. Rick Riordan tied in some stuff from Percy's world, too-Piper McLean's enemy Drew is the local mean girl and Lacy (also from the Aphrodite cabin) is a friend of Sadie's. The characters reach the depth they need in this book. The ending is great.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2012
Apophis is rising and chaos is about to destroy the world. And only Carter and Sadie Kane can stop him. But the only ones left to stand with them are the young magicians of Brooklyn House as their allies are being attacked, the House of Life is divided and on the brink of the civil war, and the gods themselves stand apart. To put an end to Apophis they need to find a spell that has been lost for a millennia and the only one that can lead them to it is the ghost of a deadly magician. Can Carter and Sadie do the impossible one last time? Or will the world fall into chaos?

In this third and final book in the Kane trilogy, Riordan once again weaves his magic to create an epic battle and a memorable story. Riordan weaves a tale that will keep the reader on the edge of the seat through the twists and turns that are created, wondering and hoping that all of our heroes survive to do battle one more time. There's plenty of humor, some romance, the return of old friends, and lots of fun twists in this tale. And possibly a hint or two of future adventures to come. It's an epic read and I highly recommend it.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2012
An excellent solution to an excellent serises! Riordan has done it again! He always describes with such great detail and precision. A pleasure to read. I hope he continues to excert what great talent he has on future books. Though the mythology theme is getting old. No of the less, this book is an excellent read and I would recommend it to anyone regardless of age!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2012
Okay, I'm over 21 but I love Riordan's YA books. I wait as avidly for them as the teens. He manages to teach them responsibility and self-reliance without being preachy, like many of the books that I enjoyed as teen. I'm getting them to read Heinlein and Orson Scott Card also.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2012
I've loved previous versions of the Kane Chronicles however on this third book The Serpent's Shadow, I found Riordan to be a bit long winded and not able to wrap up some the chapters. Often and especially towards the end, I was ready for the chapter to come to a close but instead Riordan felt the need to be very long winded. Also the siblings tugging to regain control of the narrative felt contrite and unnecessary. Maybe younger readers will enjoy it but I often felt like please make the point and move on. Solid but long winded.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
My name is Douglas; and I will review The Serpents Shadow. The Serpent’s Shadow was another amazing Rick Riordan book, as the books that he makes are always like that. But one thing, what I would like to see from Rick Riordan is somewhat like I’ve seen from his son, James Riordan. What that means from me is that he can keep the action in his book, but make it a little, just a little, more realistic. Now, I will talk about the book.

I really like The Serpents Shadow, for way more reasons then that I like Mythology and action. The writing in the story, from first sentence to the last, had me on my heels. I also think that is why he doesn’t put pictures in a book like this. He doesn’t because he knows that by the second sentence you already have a picture in your head. The quality of the book kept me reading it for sometimes what felt like 2 or more hours. Though, if this book had pictures, I would be amazed that they might be able to picture all the characters and draw them out, because this book is so detailed and it would frankly be very hard to do that, not just with this book, but with almost every kids book Rick Rioridan has written. Saying that, Rick Rioridan books aren’t just for kids. I could see my mom or dad reading this book. I would think that they would like it, too. I really don’t think that this book is for younger kids, especially with kids under nine or eight years old.

The quality of this book is amazing. I feel that he has done that to get you reading these books even more, and I like how Rick has made that happen

I really do like it when the book that I am reading has really good quality. I also like when the book has a good story line. Though it is its best when it has both, and Rick Riordan has pulled that off again with The Serpent’s Shadow.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 19, 2012
I have always been interested in "things Egypt" so I don't know how I have so little knowledge about Egyptian mythology. And when you want a heavy dose of mythology on a hilarious platter, who do you come to? Why Rick Riordan, of course! The master of repurposed mythological tales has done it again as he wrapped up the Kane Chronicles with The Serpent's Shadow.

Sadie and Carter know they must stop Apophis, the God of Chaos, from destroying the world. But how could two teenagers stop the apocalypse? When, when you are a Kane, you always have friends in strange places. With Bast, a cat goddess, to watch over their initiates in the house, they embark on a journey to find the way to stop Apophs, but each day he grows stronger. Add to that the fact that the senile sun god, Ra, who was supposed to help them dances around and has to be babysat, that their best friend Walt is slowly dying from a generations-old curse, and Carter was crushing on a magical clay figurine he thought was a girl. Once the figurine was destroyed and they rescued the real Zia, she had no memory of Carter's time with her shabti. And Bas, the dwarf god, has sacrificed his soul to save them and is now sitting like a shell of himself in the retirement home for the Gods.

So how are they going to stop this unstoppable God of Chaos now that they have freed him and allowed him to gain more power than any one god or goddess can control, you ask? Well, it might involve a spell that is so powerful, it will destroy the Kanes for good, but when you have the weight and fate of the world resting on your shoulders, you really don't have much of a choice. Sadie and Carter will do anything to save the world, even if it means tough choices and big sacrifices. And with the Kanes against them, even giant serpent gods who thrive on chaos can stop them!

It is no secret that I think Rick Riordan is a god. God of literary brilliance! His Percy Jackson series and the spinoff series are brilliant uses of Greek and Roman Gods, and this series is just as phenomenal. His ability to repurpose mythology brings it into the mainstream and gets our kids involved in stories that might have been too old, too, boring, and too distant for them before. And let's face it, mythology is interesting, but those stories are intricate and dense and those names get seriously confusing. Let's not even mention how ridiculous those tangled webs of relationships can be! But Riordan makes mythology accessible AND more important, absolutely HILARIOUS! The things that come out of these gods and godesses' mouths will leave you in a fit of giggles. And for my students who have read these stories, those gods and goddesses are interesting and the source of future research and reading. I find kids who read these books want to go on and read more about their favorite gods and goddesses, and since Egyptian mythology isn't as well known as Greek mythology, this series is a great way to strike a balance between the two! And this might be a middle reader series, but it isn't just for middle readers. Anyone from middle readers through adults would enjoy these books! All you have to have is a sense of humor and an interest in some nutty mythology!

The conclusion of the series was whole-heartedly satisfying. I promise you won't think it is going to be until the very end, but it really is. I have to say, I thought this was another 5 book series, so at the very end, when things started winding down, I had to rush to do some research as to whether or not this was the final book in the series. Sadly, because I love this series and wanted it to continue, this is indeed the final book, but it ends beautifully. If there was a perfect way to end everything, The Serpent's Shadow was it. So, I know Riordan is working on the Percy Jackson spin-off, but I really hope he has another series up his sleeve!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse