Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Winter Sports on Amazon.com Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 5, 2012
I came across Tynan's site when I was researching different types of RVs. I enjoyed his site quite a bit because of common interests in such things as poker, smart gambling, RVs, minimalism, programming. In addition, he has an attention to detail about things that he's passionate about. He's drawn to the best of breed products but couple that with a practical side. Not just spending gobs on money on something that has perhaps only a minimal advantage over lesser priced product.

I had already read most of what he had written on his site, tynan.com and was interested in what more he could add to his new book. I wasn't expecting too much because he had mentioned he wrote the entire book or booklet on a round trip flight. But for $2.99, I wasn't going to quibble plus I wanted to support his endeavours. The book is heavily biased towards the vehicle he choose which is a '95-'96 Winnebago Rialto. While it suits his purpose quite well which is to park near metropolitan areas with the least amount of conspicuous attention. I don't think the majority of the people, including myself, would choose this particular vehicle. For one thing, as he mentioned, they increased the size by a foot in later years so one of the main advantages he cites, being able to park in a regular parking spot is no longer available. RVs have progressed in 16 years and some of shortcomings in his Rialto have improved. The vehicle is really tailored for only one person so couples or families need not apply. Much of the book goes into great lengths about the modifications that he did to his Rialto. Some of it very specific to that RV but others that could be extended to other RVs. Upgrading to solar panels. Adding a subwoofer. Looking for DC voltage products for energy efficiency. Upgrading to LED bulbs. Etc. All these suggestions are pretty great and RV manufacturers would be smart to take heed. It would be interesting to see what kind of awesome RV, Tynan would come up with, if he could start from scratch and design his dream RV.

I couldn't give the book 5 stars because of its bias to an outdated RV but I think 4 stars is quite deserving based on its attention to detail and its great price.
11 comment39 of 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2012
I've followed Tynan's blog for many years ([...]) and was always interested in reading about RV modifications. Not an RV user myself, I read the book out of curiosity. The book is a great overview of maximizing the use of an RV and going over important Do's and Don'ts. Reading from the perspective of someone who has performed all of the modifications and lived in an RV for many years, one gets a perspective of not just what to look out for, but also develops an understanding of life in an RV which enables the reader to pick and choose the modifications that are right for them.

Overall, I would recommend this book for anyone interested in downsizing to an RV or interested in minimalist living.

Pros:
-Great suggestions based on experience
-Comprehensive list of possible modifications
-Product recommendations for every job

Cons:
-No pictures
-Not a step by step guide
11 comment22 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2012
To start off, I have no desire or intention to live in an RV. I have a husband, 5 kids at home, a 160 pound Rottweiler and a 60 pound Pit Bull. I don't think they make an RV large enough to hold my family. I am, however, fascinated by the RV'ers life, and once the kids are all out of the house, getting one is a plan. Until then, I read about them, LOL.

The author has put together a very informative, well detailed part journal/part guide* on living in an RV. How and where to park, get electricity, obtain and empty water tanks, etc., is all mentioned in the book, and the author seems to know what he is talking about as far as the use of deep cycle batteries, solar panels, and amp hours vs. usage and appliances, so it's all good information to retain.

The only real drawback to the book is the lack of pictures. I would have loved to see the interior of the RV set up for daily living.

Thanks, author, for the Kindle freebie, and I look forward to the days we may meet up on the road.

*I have downloaded way too many Kindle books lately that were utter trash, both in content and in presentation, and I appreciate that the author took the time to make this look like a real book.
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2012
This book is really written for people who live in a Winnebago Rialta, or minimally, an RV that fits into a regular parking spot. If that's you, then you'll really enjoy the book. If it's not, then I'd skip it. Also, my Kindle edition had some errors and I would turn the page in the middle of a sentence, only to find it start a completely new paragraph, so I missed some of the information.
11 comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2012
Does anyone every proofread anymore? Typos are just annoying and make me wonder if an author is as careless with other details of his book.

I was very disappointed in this book primarily because the description is inaccurate. Two-thirds of the book is devoted to making physical modifications to a particular class of RV's. This includes everything from ripping out carpet, the bed, the A/C, the refrigerator, the chairs, tanks, heaters, and just about everything except the windows. One chapter is even devoted to one specific brand and model. IF this is what one is interested in, then it is a great guide. But, it should have a different title and description. One has to have skills in carpentry, plumbing, and particularly in electrical wiring to get much benefit from this book.

The rest of the book has tips on a particular life-style of RV living - the single male vagabond who parks on public streets and lives there. So, if you are retired, have a family, or don't fit this profile, then a lot of this material will be irrelevant.

Then, the author advocates practices that really skirt the law and common sense, such as how to park illegally and avoid the police, running one's shower water directly onto a public street.

So, just be aware of what you're getting. (Fortunately I grabbed this as a freebie).
33 comments21 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2013
The title lured me in...too bad it had nothing to do with the book. The information is specific to Rialta owners,and even then; wasn't very useful,or even entertaining. It included such pithy tips as taking out your air conditioner because it draws too much power,and parking in upscale neighborhoods until the cops chase you away. One of his tips should have been to write a boring book and charge 2.99. Sorry,I get a little miffed by deceiving titles that waste both my time and money.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2012
I recently stumbled onto Tynan's website: [...] thanks to my subscription to Zenhabits. I saw this book and thought I'd give it a quick skim. To my surprise, I didn't set it down until I'd read it all the way through...twice.

This book is full of helpful hints and while there are a few typos, so what? If you fail to read the title of the book and the description of the contents, shame on you. Amazon's description of this book is accurate. As for those who complain about his use of one particular model, I say that Tynan is using common sense in buying a used vehicle. Why purchase a new one which would severely depreciate the moment he drives it off the lot? More importantly, he's reusing a vehicle that someone else no longer wanted. I think it's much more fiscally responsible and planet friendly to reduce, reuse, and recycle. Speaking of planet friendly, his power saving techniques are awesome and GREEN.

Tynan has inspired me to give this a shot!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
The author goes step-by-step through the problems he has encountered living in an RV and how he has overcome them. His goals are to "live" wherever he wants and to do so with as little contact with the outside world as possible. He's a minimalist. He goes cheap on paying for services but he spares no expense customizing his RV. Worth it for his product ideas and also kinda fun to read.
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
Itsa meh. There's a part where he talks about certain kind of camper and then says: i dont know much about it, you could do soe research.

I mean....i expected him to do the research, thats why i bought the book
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2015
Great book! Some people have complained about it's simplicity as being moreso a guide to a specific model of RV rather than a lifestyle - I consider those opinions unfounded.

The book covers a great deal of the thinking behind decisions that were made to make a small RV a great place to live and it lives up to that standard. Anything that goes into the specifics of the Winnebago that Tynan owns should be considered a bonus for those who have the same or similar models.

I'm super excited to turn my RV into a mobile luxury space for myself and my family and have a much shorter learning curve thanks to this book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse