Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jessy Lanza Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 11, 2012
The Microsoft Plain & Simple series books are great introductions into operating systems and applications. The Windows 8 edition is no exception. Lots of color illustrations and step-by-step guides cover the basics of getting around in this new operating system. A great low-cost (from Amazon) addition to your computer-related library.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2012
This is the basic, you-gotta-know-this manual MS was too cheap to include with the Surface (and, unfortunately, it shows how MS may have already scuttled the RT world by rushing a product out into a market familiar with a completely different way of using a gesture-operated tablet).

I picked up this book and found several handy tricks in just the first couple pages of hands-on examples. However, it also, and more importantly, explains the ideas behind the tools (e.g., the tiles, charms) that let the user move on to use the hardware 'intuitively'.

Other topics you might not have thought much about include using bluetooth devices and pens in addition to whatever input devices came packaged with your hardware. It gets you thinking about all the things you can do with a real tablet COMPUTER, as opposed to what you're limited to with a tablet that is mostly just a media consuming device.

Didn't give it a 5 of 5 because, as other reviews show, there is a little gloss missing. But, also, a rating of 5 would be for a copy that came with a .pdf version that can be loaded on the device and saved by the purchaser, themselves, since there's no iTunes equivalent providing convenient, one-stop app/book retention (again, that uncomfortable question of whether RT is a new iOS or another WindowsCE...).
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
The manual arrived prior to the actual software and I read it from cover to cover twice so when the W8 software arrived I was ready. Very helpful and made the install painless. I would recommend this manual to all.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
Best book to learn windows 8.
Factual, intuitive, and to the point.
My go to for sequence.

Only con: Wore it out from use.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
Pro: good color pages, consecutive numbered steps to take.
Cons: Some steps are missing. The binding/spine cracks apart and will start to loose pages within a relativly short amount of time.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
I had purchased this same Plain and Simple book for my Vista and Windows 7. I am not as pleased with the Windows 8. It is not as simple as they want you to believe, and they really don't go into a lot of detail with things I was looking to research. Overall I think it would have been better for me to have bought something else. In the future if I need another book for a computer I will not be getting The Plain and Simple.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2013
This is a good book for someone who needs the basics. The new Windows 8 can be a challenge and this was very helpful.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2012
My family started using Windows 8 this past Friday, the first day of its general availability. We have a Surface in addition to running Win8 on two desktops. For the most part, none of us including the kids had any trouble getting used to the new interface... and everyone except me loves it! I like it, but so far have found myself switching back and forth between the new tile interface and the old desktop. I was working from home this weekend so I was on my PC a lot. My hubby bought this book so he could learn a few tricks. A few tips, from how to group the tiles and name the groups to what the new IE's "skip ahead" feature actually does, are really good. But this colorful book is really a beginner's guide. It covers everything from the new Start screen with the tiles to customizing your Windows 8 experience to managing online and family safety. But the book was evidently put together in a great rush, as it has quite a few typos! Overall, it's a good "missing manual" type of guide.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2014
"Windows 8 for Tablets Plain & Simple" is an excellent text for understanding all of the major elements of Tablet operating systems. This is especially true when you purchase a new tablet and find a slip of paper written in 3 languages that directs you to a lot of web sites. There are some real benefits in having a manual in your hand when faced with difficult questions: Windows 8 for Tablets Plain & Simple fits that need.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2013
Excellent resource guide to learn the ins and outs of Windows 8. I didn't care for the redundancy of programs which I don't use and costs to use versus the other free software that's great in Windows 8.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.