Do safety razors work well in the shower? Hello all,

I have been using multi-blade razors for several years but am dissatisfied with pretty much any brand because they tend to clog too easily and end up dull in no time. I usually shave while taking a hot shower because my skin is rather sensitive, so I was wondering whether a safety razor would be a valid alternative.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!
asked by Edo on May 30, 2011
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-5 of 5 answers
A
votes
Take the time to wash your face with soap early in the shower, so your beard can hydrate, apply Shaving creme/soap, take it slow. Works well, been doing that for 40 years.
B. Kaufman answered on July 22, 2011

A
votes
I've been using mine in the shower, just as I did with the disposables. Works pretty much as well as when taking the time to do the whole soap/brush thing at the sink - just a different way of going about it.
What's really cool about this one is that it is heavy enough that you can't go whipping it around your face like with the disposables, so you end up naturally slow down and use at the proper speed for it to do it's best job.
Derick Deg answered on May 31, 2011

A
vote
Thanks! I'll give it a try.
Edo answered on July 21, 2011

A
votes
Yes ... they work best in the shower ... and especially after you've been in a while ... and even more especially after you wash your hair. But after you've finished your shower ... don't leave the razor there. shake it dry and store it in a dry, still place ... like your medicine cabinet. Also loosen the top of the razor so the blade isn't stressed and so is allowed to be flat(un-curved) but not loose ... and then when you want to use it again just screw it back down tight. And never touch the blade edge ... not for cleaning or anything. Clean blade only with a water stream.