Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the Gospels, then read this
I first read this 35 years ago, and the title sounds like you're getting an unsatisfying overview...yet in this relatively short book is a substantive look at the life of Christ that you will return to again and again. It is a superb reference book, for both scholars and laity. I have turned to it often over the years, especially recently as I've been preparing to teach...
Published 18 months ago by Robert G. Leroe

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No page numbers
This Kindle book does not have page numbers. The book does lay out the life of Christ very well. It has great section such as the Baptism, the Temptation, the Miracles and so much more. I love that each chapter has separate sections for each and explores each subject very well.
Published on September 22, 2012 by air max


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the Gospels, then read this, August 18, 2013
I first read this 35 years ago, and the title sounds like you're getting an unsatisfying overview...yet in this relatively short book is a substantive look at the life of Christ that you will return to again and again. It is a superb reference book, for both scholars and laity. I have turned to it often over the years, especially recently as I've been preparing to teach the Gospel of Matthew. Harrison's insights are so very helpful. This is a book that needs to stay in print, perhaps with a more compelling title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For a fairly short, sharp, and extremely scholarly biography of Jesus, it doesn't get any better than this., October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Everett Harrison was a professor at Fuller Seminary for several decades. In my opinion, this was the best work he ever. It's very readable, very scholarly--but not overly scholarly, if you know what I mean. It is a solid work that leads you right into the story of Jesus without straining to come up with wild and weird historical theories to try to titillate the reader. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You will GET some NEW LIFE!!!!, October 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a must read will open your eyes for another view as it relate to Harrison. It's really not a Short Life ,It's your whole LIFE that's being dealth with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Short Life of Christ (Hardcover)
Thank you for the quick response. My husband wanted a hardback version, not paperback and he was very pleased with the condition of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus, Our God, September 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I certainly learned a lot from this little book. I now look at the short life of Jesus Christ with a whole new respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, October 11, 2014
Good reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No page numbers, September 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This Kindle book does not have page numbers. The book does lay out the life of Christ very well. It has great section such as the Baptism, the Temptation, the Miracles and so much more. I love that each chapter has separate sections for each and explores each subject very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A short life of Christ,
A short life of Christ, by Everett Falconer Harrison (Hardcover - 1968)
Used & New from: $3.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.