Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 21, 2011
This is an excellent book for someone who wants to learn to play the clarinet one their own. I ordered the Clarinet Fingering Chart along with it but the fingering chart included in the book is much easier to use.
0Comment30 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2006
I learned how to play clarinet on this book along with my band at school. It is a fun and great way how to learn. It shows big notes and the names of it under the notes on the first few pages so beginners can learn to reconize the notes. Its what my band teacher called "Kindergartin" Then i grduated from "Kindergartin" And the notes whent to normal. it is just great
0Comment20 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2011
Book is geared for absolute beginners. Good for someone that wants to teach themselves how to play.

Pros:

* Describes how to place mouth on instrument.
* How to assemble intrument(make sure the keys are not lined up when initially connecting the middle 2 pieces of the clarinet)
* Not only instructs on fingering but also fundamentals such as type of notes/rest, tempo and such.
* Uses familiar tunes.
* Fingering chart located in the back of book.

Cons:

* A little slow getting started if you are already familiar with fundamentals.

Cannot comment on the DVD or CD that is included as I have not used them yet. Overall very good book for beginners.
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2012
This book was actually recommended by my son's music teacher because this is the first year of band for the students in our district. It is very informative and easy to follow. We will actually be able to skip ahead a little from the class even without the teacher giving the assignments.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2013
This is my daughters first musical book...the book and CD combo is making "at home" learning fun and easy...thank you
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2013
I'm 72 and decided I needed a new project, so my wife surprised me with a clarinet. This is a great guide for someone who knew how to play when he was a child and is not taking any formal lessons now.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
This very colorful large print book was purchased at the last moment with no apparent expectations, however, it arrived on time and was very helpful in my 12 years old 6th grade class.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2014
I purchased 3 other books from other authors and found this book to be all I needed. It begins teaching the notes above the break and has songs to encourage the use of those notes. It moves quickly on to the keys below the break. It is the best book I believe to start on. It was recommended by a friend because of its easy pace. I certainly recommend this book for starting up on your own.
In the back of the book there is a chart for playing all the keys and makes a clear progression from easy to more difficult. I began growing immediately. My husband who has played the Bb Clarinet gave me pointers on how to improve my posture and mouth for ease of playing. Tone is very important and you might benefit from an instructor because there are problems to encounter with breathing, throat and mouth--such problems would be clarified by having live instruction.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
Book 1 for the B Flat Clarinet. My son is familiar with this series, as each of his band instructors has asked for this, so it is what he chose when he picked up another instrument on his own. He can play the clarinet now, so the series must do something right.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2013
This book was required for elementary school band. My child learned so much from this book. My child went from never picking up an instrument to learning how to play the clarinet from this book and a GREAT instructor!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse