Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
60
Price:$16.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 18, 2007
This tea party game was the favorite Christmas present this year. My daughter just turned 3 and loves this game. We can not go through a day without playing it several times. The table cloth is so cute and "girly". The pieces are very durable and well coated to avoid damage from a small spill. One time through the game, and my daughter had the rules down pat. (She still has some trouble with Chutes and Ladders and Candy Land etc., but picked this game up with no trouble at all.) Another great perk of the game is that my 3 year old can set the game up and pick it up all by herself!

I would highly recommend this game for any young girl, especially if she is even slightly prissy. It is so cute, even I couldn't wait to play!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 5, 2009
I purchased this game based on the previous reviews. It is a very cute game and my 3 year old daughter loves to play it. There are enough pieces for up to 4 players. The teapot is the spinner. Each person takes a turn with the spinner. Whatever item category the spinner lands on, the person picks that item from the "tea tray" (box lid or bottom). Players cannot collect food items until they have a plate.

The categories of items are: plate, tea cup, sugar & cream, napkin & utensils, fruit, dessert, sandwiches, and bees. If a player's spin lands on the bees, they must choose 1 item to return to the box.

The game comes with a real fabric "tablecloth" to play on and alternative instructions for different ways to play the game.

The game pieces are very sturdy and the artwork is very nice. We really like the concept. The only cons to the game for us are:

1. The tablecloth needs to be bigger. The game suggests that the teapot spinner be placed in the middle of the cloth and players' items on the edges around the teapot. With 4 players, there isn't enough room for all 4 plates (if the teapot is in the middle).

2. The game can take a while, or become a bit boring when you have to keep spinning to get the last items. If a player lands on an item they already have, they can exchange it for another item, but it can take a long time.

Overall I gave this toy 4 stars based on the concept, quality and enjoyment of the game. I knocked off 1 star for the tablecloth issue and the fact that the game could last a very long time, at least longer than young ones might want to play.

(the box is marked for ages 5 and up, but I don't see why it couldn't be labeled 3 and up)
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2007
We LOVE our tea party game! The real fabric tablecloth is a nice touch, and is creased deeply enough to be folded the same way when it is returned to the box. The game pieces are sturdy enough for plenty of pretend play, and the box becomes a tea tray for the remaining teatime items. Each plate, cup, sandwich, fruit, and dessert looks different from one another, so instead of skipping a turn when a child already has an item they may to trade it for a like item just to keep things interesting. The game lasts just long enough to stay fun. An added bonus at our house is that it not only eschews licensed characters like Dora or Barbie-- it even has art by renowned children's book illustrator Lizzy Rockwell!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2007
I gave this to my 4 and 6 year-old daughters last Christmas. It's now our favorite game. There isn't any skill involved, just luck, but it's still lots of fun. It does teach them patience because you have to build your place setting and gather, or lose, food items gradually as you land on various parts of the spinner. Sometimes we pretend we're having a tea party too!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2008
My daughter is two and my son is six. Both enjoy the game. It is easy for my two year old to understand and it is an amusing game for my six year old. If anything it does teach patience as well as table manners.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2012
Eeboo makes really cute stuff that is not covered with disney princesses or the cars movie characters...refreshing! They have a couple of games that are identical to this one, but otherwise themed; the picnic game comes to mind. This is a great beginner board game because there is no reading or counting and its a pretty quick game to play. You only use a spinner to take turns and hopefully collect (and not lose) essential items for your tea party place setting. The first one to complete it wins. Despite its simplicity, my daughter has enjoyed it for years. We started playing it at around 2 1/2 years old. The game pieces are all laminated cardboard and have lasted for many years now with little to no wear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2012
Even when my daughter is not in the mood to play the game, she will still set up the tea party, tablecloth and all. It's so cute and the instruction card is well set for how a table should be presented, and matching all of the place settings is an added bonus for small detail recognition. Overall, we love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2013
Gave this as a gift to a friend who LOVES to have tea and tea parties and generally hosting those of all ages for some girl time. This was a BIG hit. Great price, totally original and unique, arrived quickly looking perfect. Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2009
I purchased this game for my 5 year old niece last year for Christmas. She loves tea parties. She is still playing this game til this day. Which, for children, rarely happens. I am not sure how educational it is, but she does enjoy it. If you're an adult and you're forced to play this game over and over it does get a little tiring. But that is with almost any game though. It's a fun and simple enough game that my 6 year old nephew doesn't mind playing it with her. I explained the directions to her one time, and never went over them again. This is a perfect, not over the top, gift that most little girls will enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2009
My 4 year old daughter was given this as a big sister gift when her brother was born. It's been a terrific toy. I had a long recovery from my son's birth, and this was a great game for us to play together while I lay on the couch. It has also been a good thing for her to play with relatives who can't get on the floor and play with her toys. She plays this with her friends, or they just use the pieces to have tea parties without playing the game. It has proven to be quite versatile and fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.