Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: LEGO Green Building Plate (10" x 10")
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Periphery Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 22, 2009
Lego baseplates are wonderful for giving stability to the creations of the Lego or Duplo builder. Duplo baseplates do not work with Legos, however, so this is very versatile for either size blocks. It is 10" by 10" in size, a fact I wish had been mentioned in the description as I thought I was ordering a larger one--one that two children could use at the same time. It is somewhat flexible, so will work better on a hard surface than on a padded carpet. Baseplates are essential for the Lego builder, and this is a good size for a smaller project or one builder. I recommend the 15 x 15 inch size for larger projects.
22 comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2011
We love these plates and have several at our house for LEGO play when the grandkids come. Two of our grandsons wanted LEGO tables for Christmas so my husband and I bought 8 of these plates along with two LACK side tables from IKEA for $7.00 each. Glued four plates on each table and added a mesh bag for storage on two sides of each table - instant LEGO table for a fraction of the cost to buy one, made with love by 'Granny and Poppy'. Not sure how they would turn out, we bought the smaller LACK table, but are pretty sure that we will upgrade to a larger model for each of them soon.
55 comments| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2013
The plate works with Duplo Legos and small Legos. Very happy. My 5 yr old and 2 yr old can use the same plates.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 26, 2000
My son has at least four of these boards, and he uses them all the time. I agree with the reviewer from Virginia that these should be included with every major set because the Legos do fall apart when they have to be transported from one place to another. I also think the boards are somewhat expensive, but at least they're sturdy and you can connect them with Lego blocks to build bigger scenes.
0Comment| 106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2012
I love legos! my son is crazy for them. I am giving him the plate for Christmas. I ordered two different sizes. a 10x10 and this large one. they are the same size. the plate its self is good, works well, not too flimsy.
The description has no sizes but large. One other pages a large is much bigger. i paid more for it because it was large. it is a 10x10. dont be confused! dont pay a large as this is just a 10x10
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2006
These baseplates are important if your little one likes to build structures with Legos. I'd recommend attaching them to a board (I wood-glued 6 of them to a board, added some molding, and put sliders underneath so I could store the board under beds or sofas) so they won't flex.

Otherwise, you'll definitely need to encourage your child to play with these on a table or other hard surface, and warn them that moving their constructions to another spot might result in the creations coming apart.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2013
I was totally surprised at the flimsy-ness of the plate. It's nice and big, but pretty flimsy. It still works. You just need to have something under it to keep the bricks from popping off it, so I give it an average score. Adequate, but not great.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2002
This baseplate makes it very easy for the kids to build their toys. No slipping all over the place and makes a lovely base to display the toys.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 1999
The baseplate is essential for creating any large lego building or scene. The lego structure simply will not be sturdy enough without it. I wish more of these baseplates were included in lego sets, because it seems silly to have to buy this piece separately. It would be better if the baseplate were a bit thicker so that it would not bend even slightly under pressure. That would make it easier to move a work-in-progress.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2011
I had a ton of Legos as a kid (who didn't?), passed down from family members and friends so it was a mish-mash of whatever was available in the 70s. Today's Legos are very neat in that they come in lots of great colors and there are so many fun sets out there with unique pieces to play with. My kids and I love them!

The base plates, however, are a huge disappointment. First they're not included with most sets, which just seems stupid to me (especially the complex kits that are so $$ to begin with!). I finally ponied up to get a few in various sizes for my kids and I'm surprised at how flimsy they are! I remember the base plates being thick - the edges were nearly the same depth as your standard Lego brick - and most importantly they were rigid. I have many memories of stepping on the corners of these things with bare feet, ouch! But I'll tell you what, those base plates wouldn't flex and shatter your creation into a million pieces, either. The larger base plates are the worst - my kids like to play with their Legos in the living room where we've got a rug on the floor and my youngest (who is 3) has a hard time getting bricks to stick flat as every time she pushes down the entire thing warps inward. I try to encourage them to build on the hardwood or on a table but they prefer the rug (it is Winter, who wouldn't). Anyway I just think that the base plates, especially at $5-$7 for a piece of molded plastic, should be the same quality they were thirty years ago and stand up to a lot of play.
22 comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 50 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.