Back to Business Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Bose SoundTouch 130 Amazon Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars42
Price:$49.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 8, 2010
I gave this to a child who has pretty much everything. She started playing with it as soon as she opened it. She absolutely loves it.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2008
I love this. I received this game a few days ago and have made the creation of a pattern part of my nightly routine to wind down from my stressful days. If you count the pieces and add up the number of degrees per color per pattern (or any other game) agility can be maintained by both the left and right brain while making something truly beautiful. I only gave it 3 stars for educational value because the mathematical aspect can easily be ignored.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
Gift for my 7 year old son Christmas 2013. Some observations:
1) A great toy for creative play. Comes with a board and a bunch of magnetic pieces. The "board" is basically a coated piece of sheet metal (rounded edges) about 12 inch square. The kit comes with 3 different shapes and colors, that are combined to make patterns and shapes etc...

My 7 and 5 year old boys really enjoy using this, and making neat shapes. The box this comes with is also covered in patterns that can be copied by the kids - making a lot of options to be copied onto the board.

2) Shapes "stick" very well to board. A little too well, in fact. My kids have a hard time getting the pieces to move or pick them up once stuck down, because the magnetic tug is pretty strong. I suppose this is both good and bad

3) In order to make the patterns and shapes look correct, the pieces need to be carefully assembled. For adults or very adept kids, this is not really an issue. For younger kids - its can be difficult for them to properly assemble the more challening shapes. My kids might be too young for this type of thing, but I hate to limit them and they enjoy trying,

4) My only real issue with this set is the price. Essentially - all this is is a piece of carboard packaging (equivalent of an old vinyl record case), a 12" x 12" piece of powder coated sheet metal, and a variety of very thin magnetic shapes cut from a larger sheet. The folks selling this are probably making a kiling, since I doubt it would cost more than $5-$7 to make this thing. I paid much more than this for mine.

Please don't misinterpret - my kids really like it, and its a good alternative to video games and stuffed animals as a toy. My only lament was that after getting it, and seeing what it was, I wish they would set the price a bit lower so I could feel I got full "value" from the product. Otherwise - its a good investment.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2007
I've set this out at parties and people are fascinated. You can play while having a conversation and a drink...and it gets interesting when more than one person works on something at the same time.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2009
I gave this to my mother for Christmas, and we have both enjoyed it very much. The primary color scheme is very simple but striking. The only downside is that we need something to hold all the pieces not in use, and the small red pieces have a tendency to get lost if you're not careful, which is normal for anything with small pieces. Altogether, though, I think it's a great product.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2012
We bought this for our 5 year old son and he has been having a great time with it. The magnetic pieces do tend to get scattered around the house but we are trying to stay on top of that. Otherwise, he enjoys making pictures on his own and also copying the samples provided on the cover.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2011
My Aunt bought me Fractiles for my birthday a few years ago. At first I did not know what to think of them. Then I started just taking them with me where ever I went. I find children and adults can not resist playing with them. I have used them to distract small children when they are sad, to fill in moment between activities when children (even the older than 20 year old's) are board. So much fun. Leave them on the fridge use the travel magnet board. These things are so compact you can truly take them anywhere.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2010
This a Christmas gift for my 8 year old granddaughter. Hopefully she and her other two siblings will enjoy. It's something different and unique that you can't find at any store in our area. Great job Amazon for providing quick delivery to our door.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2015
This is quite simply a wonderful toy / puzzle for all ages above seven. Very small children will have difficulty maneuvering the pieces, and 5 and 6 year olds will tend to scatter the pieces all over your house. Only you know how responsible your child is, but remember, as you lose pieces, the value of the set is seriously compromised.
That said, let me tell you that this is endlessly fun, fascinating, and relaxing. Copying the patterns suggested on the package, experimenting with your own patterns, playing in tandem with a child or grandchild, fiddling around with the patterns while watching TV, all are simply addicting. My granddaughter started playing with this when she was 7, and every time she comes over it's the first toy she pulls out. She's even made a couple of the full mandalas using every piece in the set!
As to educational value, well, I suppose you could get all mathematical and geometrical and add up angles and hypotenuses, but that is really stretching it. This is, primarily, a toy for kids and adults.
I would suggest, though, that you start keeping your eye out for a container to put the pieces in as soon as you get it. They are REALLY easy to misplace. I found a three-compartment plastic case in a dollar store once and snapped it up immediately. It's perfect for separating the red, yellow, and blue pieces and keeping them neatly arranged.
My only complaint about the product is the price. I agree completely with other reviewers who claim that this is ridiculously overpriced. It's $50! At that price I'd expect the pieces to be individually hand cut by skilled Venetian artisans. If they cut the price in half they'd still be making a profit.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
I have been investing in items that expand my girls mathematical understanding outside of the conventional workbook. I want them to see the art in everyday things - including art. I already owned the travel version of this item, but wanted to expand so that more than one person could create something at the same time OR any one person could make a nice large piece. This particular item is great for budding artists and for exploring math in unconventional ways.

I have a magnetic dry erase board that we used, though I think it would be even more interesting to have a large black metal board (a small one is included in the kit) to make these designs as the colors would really pop, but the white background is adequate for my purposes at the moment. My girls create with these while I read aloud for our some of our school time. However, adults and kids alike enjoy creating with this, and both my husband and I enjoy it as do my adult children, friends, and extended family. This is a wonderfully relaxing activity that results in a lovely creation without extreme effort or interesting pattern at the very least - though much effort can be placed into it to get a much more intricate pattern as well.

For reference, in our home, children as young as 3 to those into the later years of life have enjoyed this.

It is well worth the purchase, IMO.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.