Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 12, 2002
As a tea drinker, an electric kettle is indispensible. This was purchased after my ancient Philips model died and at the time no other Philips was available (now there is one on this site that I would recommend). This KRUPS looks fashionable and is made in France (not China), but is less than convenient. The lid is not hinged and must be removed with a push button to fill. The built in filter is then free to fall out if you empty the kettle. It is quiet when boiling and doesn't steam, but you must push and hold down a button to open the spout. It is slower to boil than my old Philips. Form before function; something I've experienced with other KRUPS products, and I shan't do it again.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2001
While very convenient to use, this kettle has one major flaw: the design of the electrical receptacle in the base. We have had this unit for a little over a year and with heavy use (boiling water 4-5 times a day) the receptacle pins wore out and bent. It's in a non-working and probably dangerous state. Needless to say the 1-year warranty is over and replacing the base will cost more than half of the new unit. I guess this is called "planned obsolescence". Avoid this unit and look for other brands (We are looking at Braun and Hamilton Beach).
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2001
Notwithstanding the poor review this kettle got elsewhere here, I went ahead and bought this one since it seemed to have all the features I was looking for. My previous kettle, an old large base, traditional electric had finally self destructed by leaking all over the place. In comparison, the Krups has been a dream kettle. The features that I appreciate include: small footprint, cordless main unit, easy to use controls, shuts off quietly when done boiling (no steam condensing everywhere since the pour spout is closed when heating), good external water level readout, large enough capacity, and fast heating times.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2001
I had high hopes for this kettle and it worked very well for most of the first 6 months of ownership. Then it began to automatically cut out before it had come to a boil, and I had to wait for the thermostat to click before I could give it another try. It took numerous attempts to get it to actually boil. As any tea connoisseur knows, it is essential to make tea on a rolling boil, and overboiled or water repeatedly boiled water flattens the taste. If you don't actually require the water to boil, this can be an excellent kettle.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2001
After trying many tea makers, I decided that the "old fashioned" way of making tea was best for me. Not long after, my mother found the Krups and bought it for me. I fell in love instantly! The water was just perfect - not underheated nor overboiled - just the way I like it. I've had the tea kettle for more than a year now and it continues to work flawlessly. If you decide on this tea kettle, I'm sure you'll enjoy it as much as I have.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2002
My Krups 859-70 is now useless. After less than a year of very light use, it leaks water continuously and floods the counter top. I have to boil then empty! Complete rubbish, compared to some great kettles I used to own back in England.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2001
As others have stated, this is a great product. But after a year it has developed a split in the water gauge, and hot water leakes so we can only boil if less than 7.5 cups. I have written to Krups but no answer. Twice I have burnt my hand with the water leaking out.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2002
I love this product, it has improved the quality of my life!!!! Being a new Mom, I found I was forever putting a pot on to boil, having a diaper emergency, stopping to nurse, play with the baby, put her down for a nap and run to start a load of laundry and then I'd smell the pot slowly melting on the burner. Now I start the kettle and when I next think of the lovely cup of tea I'd like, the kettle is waiting for me to start it again. It even holds the heat quite well so I rarely have to re-boil. And I haven't started one fire since I got it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2002
I bought this tea kettle over a year ago for a co-worker. Great product. Everyone at work loved it so much that she actually kept it at work. It gets used almost daily and I have to say, it still looks brand new. I would recommend this product to everyone who is looking. It was a little on the pricey side, but worth every penny for a quality product. One review said something about the heating element cracking easily. Can't say we've ever had that problem. It lifts off the heating element too, which is a plus. 5 stars great product
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2001
I truly enjoyed this product for all the reasons others have mentioned: good design, ample capacity, quick boiling. However, after about a year of moderate use, the kettle has gotten very rusty inside and lead me no other choice but to look for a replacement. Buyer beware!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.