Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Stephen Kellogg Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Price:$29.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 11, 2004
I did the same thing a few other people did. I ordered this thinking it would light up, play music and come in a collector box. I was surprised when it arrived in a white box and was more surprised when it didn't light up and play music. When I came back to the Amazon site to check the description I caught my error. Amazon's description is what I received, but then where did I read that it lights up and plays music....on the Fisher Price website. It comes up on their site as "Catalog Exclusive" but is a deluxe set which is $30.00 plus $6.95 shipping. The deluxe set has additional pieces, hay for the animals and some fence pieces. I read the description there, toggled over to Amazon, saw the "Exclusive" and just assumed it was the same. Tsk, tsk on my part. All in all there was no harm done. I bought this to help my friend keep her one year old daughter away from their Christmas tree and the traditional manger set. I showed it to my daughter, who is three, and she wanted to put it in her room immediately! She likes it either way. I thought of buying the deluxe set for my friend and keeping this set for my daughter, but when dealing with a manger (of all things) it just doesn't seem right to consider this product inferior. Don't feel cheated, take the $15.00 difference and buy the book "The Christmas Star" by Marcus Pfister as a companion to the manger set. Reading to a child about the star of Bethlehem, and acting out the story with the manger set, will stick with them longer than the 5 seconds they spend staring at the musical star.
0Comment499 of 515 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2011
I know some of you will be thinking that I am not rating the product--but the whole point is for those of you who might do the same as I did--just didn't notice and/or took it for granted that shepherds would be a part of a standard nativity scene!

Anyhow, I really like this set a lot. It is perfect for my kids to play with, which is what I wanted. But I guess I wasn't paying attention when I bought it, because I notice now that it doesn't have any shepherds. It's got the wise men, but no shepherds. I'm sure if I had looked closely, I would have noticed, but I just want others to take note of this. It's kind of funny to me, actually, since the wise men weren't even at the manger in the Biblical account but the shepherds were there.
55 comments126 of 134 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2002
I bought the Fisher-Price nativity set for my grandchildren, and it is wonderful except for one thing: where are the SHEPHERDS? They are an absolutely integral part of the Christmas story--how could the designer omit them?! I would be very willing to buy them separately if F-P would only offer them so that we could have a complete set with ALL the important characters. Thank you.
22 comments47 of 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2002
I ordered this for my 1 year old and he loves the little people that came with it. This will be a great toy to help teach him about the birth of Jesus Christ. The little people are really cute and this toy is very unique. I have not seen a thing like it in the stores. What a great toy! I look forward to more Christmas themed toys by Fisher Price in the years to come!
0Comment21 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2003
This is a great way to introduce our daughter to the true meaning of Christmas, with a toy that will hold her attention for more than a minute! Many people commented that this Nativity scene differs from the one in the Fisher Price catalogue (with the lit star, music etc). If you look at Fisher Price's website it says "Catalogue exclusive", so of course you can NOT get it here. AND, the catalogue toy costs more money, so there is not really any comparison. Still, I think a better description of the product on this site would help customers be sure what they are getting.
All in all, I think we will be keeping this out long after Christmas!
0Comment35 of 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2007
This is an adorable set and great teaching tool! We all love it in our family, but you can get the Deluxe Set at Walmart for $34 on the website and $38. in the store. It has the shepards, dog and extra green hill. Save some money and check out a cheaper option!
0Comment44 of 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2007
I am sometimes disappointed with Amazon.com's decision to allow vendors who price gouge. Fisher-Price's own online store sells this same product, which is a very nice toy for toddlers, for exactly one half of the price offered here by "Outside the Box". Amazon's own prices are usually very competitive, but they really need to monitor vendors like this one.
88 comments59 of 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2007
My girls (6 & 4) LOVE this toy. I have seen many nativity sets marketed toward children, but this is by far the best. We also purchased the shepherds separately to complete the set. Overall excellent!
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2002
My 1 1/2 year old daughter just received this as a gift and she loves to make it play "Away in a Manger". This is a very durable toy, like all Little People products. I am grateful that companies take time to make toys that help our children learn about our Savior, Jesus Christ. Although she is too young to understand the Christmas story right now, this toy will be around for a long time to help her father and I teach her about Jesus' birth. Have a Blessed Christmas!
0Comment32 of 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2004
This is not the deluxe set that is described in the Fisher-Price catalog. Had I read these review closer, I would have realized this before I bought this set. This one does not play Away in the Manger and the star does not light up. But then, you don't have to worry about batteries and the child paying the music over and over and over.
0Comment25 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 23 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.