Customer Reviews

283
3.9 out of 5 stars
Rogaine for Men Hair Regrowth Treatment, Original Unscented, 2 Ounce (Pack of 3)
Item Package Quantity: 3Change
Price:$39.99 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

91 of 106 people found the following review helpful
on February 6, 2015
Item Package Quantity: 3
Works as expected, but takes a while I started taking it with Mynoxidrin Mynoxidrin - Extra Strength Hair Nutrient Formula Nourishes and Strengthens Thinning Hair and Promotes Hair Growth! and my hair growth really accelerated! Adding the mynoxidrin make a big difference. Awesome combo.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
87 of 103 people found the following review helpful
on April 22, 2013
Item Package Quantity: 3Verified Purchase
Experience:

I am a woman with moderate genetic hair loss at the front top and temples. I had diffuse thinning that was noticeable and getting worse. I started using this product about 1.5 years ago. I use it every day, no exceptions. However, admittedly, for the past year I have been applying it only once a day instead of the directed twice a day.

It definitely works and I am quite pleased with the difference it has made. The sparse areas are now reasonably filled in, minimizing the scalp's real estate compared to hair strands. I see results everywhere I have applied Rogaine, with the most success at the temples. If I had to pick the area that is the least dramatic I would say the very front/ above the forehead. But I was told by a hair loss specialist that this area always sees fewer changes no matter what grow product is used. But again, even here I see a difference.

These days a casual observer does not notice my hair loss. That's what I want: I want it to be good enough so that I do not feel it is glaringly obvious to the casual observer. But yes, someone who is rooting around up there *looking* for my hair loss will see areas of lesser density. My sister, who has a closer vantage point and knows the issue, thinks the result has been great. The diameter of the hairs that have come in also appear a bit thicker than my thinning hair, though it may not be due to the Rogaine.

Who Should and Should Not Bother Using This Product:

I think that, much like anything else, the results of Rogaine depend largely on the user:

First, if you expect to see results in 2 weeks, move on. This product takes 3 months to show meaningful results, though you will begin to see sprouts at about 6 weeks. If you know a bit about a hair's growth cycle you will understand why. I am bemused by the negative reviews written by folks who say, "I tried it for 10 days and saw zero results." It's like watering tomato seeds in a garden one week and demanding to see a harvest the next. Growth cycles just don't work that fast.

Second, if you know you are not the type of person that will commit to using this product every single day, move on. Your hair follicles must be constantly stimulated by this product in order to grow and stay in your head. The product is not long acting (about 12 hours per application, hence the 2X day recommendation for top flight results) , so once you start skipping days (especially consecutive days), your will jeopardize the results. If you stop using Rogaine altogether the growth will fall out before the year is out. However as I said I have been using this 1X a day and I'm satisfied with the results I got. It's just that applying it 2x per day would provide maximum results.

Third, if you have unrealistic expectations, move on. This product will not give you the lush, thick, hair you probably never had. The reality is that your hair loss is the result of a complex confluence of hormones and genetic factors that scientists don't yet fully understand. This product will act to fill in the spaces and minimize the amount of scalp that shines through, but it cannot perform miracles.

Liquid vs Foam

I first purchased the foam, and then moved to the liquid. I recommend the foam for those whose spots are mostly bald. If you have a fair amount of hair in that spot, use the liquid, because the foam just coats the hair and fails to fully penetrate the actual scalp where it needs to be. Yes the liquid can run if you are slow to rub it in but you learn how to control it.

Product Consistency & Smell:

The actual product contains a bit of glycolic (I think, or something very similar) to act as a mild exfoliant of the skin so that the product penetrates better. This may feel a little itchy to some people, and some people may notice flakes (exfoliated skin) but this will go away once your skin gets used to the product. I did not feel any sensitivity and only at the start did I notice just a few flakes in my hair.

Understand also that the product will make your hair dirty sooner and in need of more frequent washing if you do not already wash your hair every day or two.

I don't notice any strong odor. There is a vague smell to it in the bottle but this does not carry over in the one serving you apply to your hair.

Other Considerations

Eating crap and not exercising has not caused your genetic hair loss, but the cascade of hormones created by a poor lifestyle are exacerbating your problem. Period. I struggle with this all the time, but over the past 2 years I've gotten serious about not making life harder for the hormones responsible for keeping my hair in my head.

I've also stopped using hairspray, mousse, and gel. I had no idea that the chemicals in hair products (especially hairspray) strip the hair strand so much that it thins and breaks. For those with thick and super healthy hair this isn't noticeable. But for us it is. Since I stopped using hair products i have seen improvements that I do not attribute to the Rogaine. (I.e. Hairs stop breaking as easily.)

High heat blowdryers, hair extensions, and constant dye jobs are also exacerbating the thinning of your hair. I notice all my hair looks so much healthier in the 15 months since I stopped the extensions, blow dry only for special occasions, and use only demi hair color (which does not strip hair.)

Give Rogaine a try, be patient and give it the time it needs to work, and have realistic expectations. I think you'll find the results satisfactory.

P.S. I took off one star because I think the price the company sets for this product is too high.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
69 of 86 people found the following review helpful
on July 24, 2013
Item Package Quantity: 3Verified Purchase
I have read that this only works on the crown of your head and this is a definite falsity. I am 31 and my hair was getting significantly thinner with age. I am used to having extremely thick hair, so this was a big blow. It got to a point where I thought it was irreversible. I read that rogaine only worked on the crown and that the pill solutions had MAJOR side effects. So I thought, what the heck and gave it a go. I combined this with the Revivogen shampoo.

I am now sitting here typing this with a nice thick full head of hair. I do 1 1oz dropped (sometimes more if I over do it or get to much in my hair in 1 spot) in the morning and 1 before bed. I shampoo exclusively with Revivogen.

I chose this over the foam because, A it makes sense that I would get more of the stuff on my scalp and less wasted in my hair and B I have read on a bunch of thinning hair forum websites from some mega nerds (those guys that just obsess about factoids whom I love and appreciate) that the alcohol irritates the scalp, which causes dandruff which INCREASES hair growth.

That being said. You will get dandruff or flaking of skin. You can use Nizoral if you are finding the itching and flaking to be to much. I just tough it out.

In summary. It works all over head. They only say crown because they originally got FDA approval on the crown and are not legally allowed to advertise it works on any other area. I ASSURE YOU IT DOES DONT WORRY!!!!!!!!!

Get the liquid not the foam. It works better!

Get Revivogen for your shampoo to cleanse your hair of that crap anti hair chemical during the day and night while your rogaine is fighting its battle as well.

Get Nizoral for the itch and flaking.

Give it a couple months. Just get into a routine.

I am not paid for these recommendations I honestly don't care if you listen to me or not. But just do it and enjoy your hair and stop worrying ;)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on April 30, 2014
Item Package Quantity: 3Verified Purchase
Sudden hair loss is a nightmare. You wake up actually thinking, "Is this real?" To be fair, after reviewing my pictures from the last 4 years, my hair was starting to thin. But it was far from being recognized as male pattern baldness. I started overworking it in the gym for about 6 months. It took a toll on my hair. Hair production shuts down to repair the body when you overexert yourself. I didn't know that until it was too late. My temples and my crown was affected. I freaked out. I researched and I came upon these words from a doctor... "Rogaine will not kill any hair you didn't already lose." So, I decided to try rogaine. I also read doctors say, "You can apply it to your hairline."

I was receptive to it. Baby hairs were growing near my temples. Everything seemed fuller. It only took 1 week to see results. There was some itch but it was cured when I reapplied at the appropriate time. I got a little lazy and I slowed down on it. The front of my hair started to thin (wasn't an issue before). All the baby hairs fell off. Naturally. So I started putting it on religiously again. The baby hairs didn't come back. What was an itch was now rashes. I immediately stopped of course. And then..... a month or 2 later, I loss about 25-45% of the hair which came in contact with rogaine. The hair around my temples still grow but at a snails pace. My hair growth is patchy all over. I read that it takes 1 to 2 years to fully recovery from rogaine. Its been 6 months and theres not a lot that has changed. You have been warned.

My suggestion:

Don't panic. Try everything you can naturally before you venture into harsh chemical land. See a real doctor to test your blood for nutrients needed for hair production. Take saw palmetto and a hair, skin and nails multi-vitamin. Jog 30 minutes 3 times a week. Wash your hair every other day. Make sure your shampoo is not toxic. Get enough sleep for your body to repair itself. No stressful activity 2-3 hours before bedtime. Give it time. If that fails... change your hairstyle and comb it over without looking like a total idiot. It should cover you for another 5-10 years. Hopefully by then someone will win the billion dollar race to discover a fix. Good luck.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on May 8, 2014
Item Package Quantity: 3
Beware this is a sex drive killer. I am a 38 year old male in excellent shape. I run and lift daily, recently I started getting a little thin on top so I decided to try Rogaine. I applied twice daily as directed for about 3 months. Prior to using Rogaine my sex life was great. My wife and I usually had sex 2-4 times per week. About a month in I began noticing my sex drive declining. It was as if I had no desire for sex and when we did have sex it took longer to get an erection. My erections were not the same quality that they used to be. I was chalking it up to getting older but it came on so quickly that I started to do some research. I just never made the connection between Rogaine and sex drive. Fortunately info on the net revealed many more cases like mine. I quit using the stuff about a week ago and I already feel myself slowly getting back to normal. My sex drive is returning and my face doesn't look as puffy. They don't list this as a side effect on the bottle but the crap would be a lot harder to sell if they did. Do some research before you use this stuff and good luck I wish you the best and hopefully it works for you as advertised. Personally I would rather be bald than have my junk quit working. Oh and the results on the hair regrowth were minimal at best.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on September 26, 2012
Item Package Quantity: 3Verified Purchase
I, like you, was also perusing these Amazon reviews for a while before I made the purchase. I was thinning at the front part of my head and getting really upset about it. Eventually I just ponied up and made the purchase.

To my amazing relief, it worked! My hair started to get thicker and that sinking feeling in my stomach just went away.

I put it on in the morning after I shower and though it is a bit of a pain, you get used to it and it just becomes part of the routine.

Trust me, if you're skeptical just buy it. You won't regret it.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on August 20, 2011
Item Package Quantity: 3Verified Purchase
I've been using Rogaine since it was first introduced. I have more hair today than I did back in 1989!

My father's father was bald when I was born. My mother's father had lost 1/2 his hair by the time he retired. Not to mention that my mother lost so much hair after 50 that she was always wearing a wig.

Instead of the recommended twice-a-day regimen, I use the included dropper to apply 1cc of "extra-stength" Rogaine only once, before bedtime. The dropper lets me spread the liquid on my scalp without wetting my hair. And each bottle lasts 2 months.

For about what it costs for lunch at Burger King, you can keep your hair for another month. Rogaine works!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on September 16, 2011
Item Package Quantity: 3Verified Purchase
I was using Women's Rogaine, and my hair eventually started to fall out again after a year of use. My doctor told me to start using the Extra Stength Rogaine and the hair loss has decreased dramatically.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on February 1, 2013
Item Package Quantity: 3
I had noticed that my temporal hairlines were receding (male pattern baldness) and also some hair loss on the rear of my head. This was in the early stages but I knew for sure that its gonna get worse with time. I was hunting for a solution and Rogaine seemed convincing at least for my rear-head baldness. Rogaine didn't assure restoration of temporal hair loss, BUT NOT IN MY CASE. I gave it a try on both my receding hairlines and my rear head... And to my surprise I started seeing tiny little hair babies starting out from nowhere in my temporal lines :-) And I was so amazed and glad to see that I m getting back my youth hair lines...Of course it cured my rear-side baldness which was even faster than the frontal hairs. Ok, now enough about my results... if u are looking for quick results u might get for rear baldness or any spot baldness on top of the head...but for temporal hair loss restoration u got to wait for a few weeks and keep applying Rogaine day and night without losing hope...It has worked for me in this case and I m so glad to recommend this product for anyone to give it a try... Absolutely no side effects !!! After applying this serum, u might feel it slightly getting into your head which might be a little heavier feeling than usual, doesn't hurt you though...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 11, 2014
Item Package Quantity: 3Verified Purchase
I am 26 y.o. and from my father has very serious balding problems, he only has some hair left on the side of his head, above the ears.

I have noticed the first signs when I was 23: first my temple and frontal line of my head started to move upwards very slowly. Then in the last 2 years my crown area has thickened and most of my hair fell off from the center of my vertex, leaving some areas uncovered.

My Rogaine package arrived 2 months ago, I ordered a 6 month-package. I use it twice a day, without missing a day. I also take hair vitamins (biotion, B1,B2,B6 etc) just to ensure my hair has the sufficient material to "work with".

I put Rogain to the crown area and to the frontal area. Sometimes I drop some to the mid-scalp and massage it into my full head, just to experiement wether it stops the general hair-fall.

The process was the following:

- in the first 2 weeks no sign has shown, my hair fall increased, it was a bit scary

- after the 3-4 week my hair fall has lessened, and some minor baby hair started appearing in the frontal area of my scalp

- after 6 weeks the baby hair got thicker and my hair falling almost stopped (still some fall, but I guess its the normal pace now)

- after 8-9 weeks: my frontal area has almost completely grown back, the hair is very similar to how it was 4-5 years ago. The crown area is also showing improvements, there are no uncovered bald spots any more. When I touch my crown, I cannot feel my bare scalp anywhere. There is still much to improve in the crown, but the newly grown baby hairs are giving it a semi-transparent layer, which is very nice. I am sure in a few weeks/months these baby hairs will also get much thicker, just like on my frontal area.

Side effects:
- no side affects on my libido at all
- my hair has gotten dandruff, lot of flaking happens. I guess its time to use Nizoral.
- it makes my scalp dry, and because of this it itches sometimes (the itching is very minor). I started using a natual coconut-milk product, which help a lot about it

In short: it DOES work, it gives back my confidence, and makes me feel young again. I can finally style my hair which I could not do in the past 3-4 years.
I hope the improvements will continue in the upcoming moths and I can grow back all my hair.

The 5* is not even questionable from me.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 38 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.