Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 7, 2007
I received two pairs of the Gold Toe Comfort Crew athletic socks for the holidays and they are terrific. The material is very solid, high-quality ribbed with some stretch. The tube of the sock is versatile, and can be cuffed, slouched, or pulled up. They don't fall if worn completely pulled up. While they're high quality they're not so thick that they affect the fit of your shoes. They wash well and are perfect for everyday wear.
0Comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2007
I became a fan of Gold Toe socks about 8 years ago and this style is my favorite (I prefer a thick sock - note this is slightly thinner than an athletic sock and much thicker than a trouser/dress sock.)

Why Gold Toe?

- Well constructed
- Wash and dry well
- Retain shape
- Excellent price

If you're looking for a sturdy, every day sock this is highly recommended. This is not a dress sock - most appropriate for jeans or business casual.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bought these, hoping for classic gold toe quality (nice heft, thick cotton cushioning, long life).

Unfortunately, I was completely disappointed. While these are a slight step up from cheapie Hanes socks from the big box store, these are NOT the same quality we used to get from Gold Toe.

The six pair I bought shrunk, pilled like mad (bits of cotton sluffed off inside the sock after every wash) and they all developed holes within 3 months of wear. No, I don't use bleach. They simply were not made of very high quality cotton and wore through at the friction point at the ball of each foot.

I won't buy Gold Toe socks again until I hear that they've returned to their classic standard.

Why, oh why, can't women get the same high quality socks that men can buy so easily? I hope Gold Toe reads the mail and improves their manufacturing standard. Until then, I opt out.
22 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2010
I purchased these along with a set of Champion crew socks. I ended up returning the Champions and keeping the Gold Toes. I found that the material used in the Champion socks was a little thinner and not as cushioned as the Gold Toe socks. The insides of the socks also felt somewhat rough, and I was concerned that they might get rougher with repeated washings. The Gold Toe socks seemed to be better reinforced in the toe area. But one thing I liked about the Champion socks over the Gold Toe socks was that they came up about an inch higher over my calf. So one star off for length. It was a hard decision about which ones to keep, but I've been really happy with the Gold Toes and they've held up very well.

UPDATE 1/10/11
As I've washed these socks, they seem to get shorter and shorter (and I don't wash them on hot water or dry them on high). The length was short enough to begin with, but repeated washings have made them even shorter. I am now disappointed in these socks. If you are looking for a true crew sock in terms of length, I would skip these Gold Toe socks.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2010
I purchsed size 9-11 of this item [Gold Toe Women's 3-Pack Comfort Crew Athletic Sock in Black]. I wear a size 8 athletic shoe. The socks were just what I was looking for, and they fit OK, but snuggly. I always wash things before I wear them. After washing according to the directions, the socks were very tight, and one sock had come apart at the stiching where the heel portion is sewn to the rest of the sock...leaving a hole. That was only one flaw out of many socks, but you might be more satisfied if you purchase a slightly bigger size than you normally wear.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2007
I purchased 3 pairs of these socks for my niece, who recently grew to a shoe size of 9. Gold Toe socks I knew from past purcases as an excellent quality sock - softness, wears well, launders well, and lasts longer than others on the market. The special point: these socks are all white. Most women's white athletic socks have a pink toe. My niece didn't want pink socks. I will buy more of these socks in future as Christmas & Birthday gifts for my niece.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2012
I've worn Gold Toe crew socks for years, and was always confident that I was getting a quality sock. They were comfortable, fairly thick and they wore well.

Recently I purchased 6 pair of Gold Toe crews here, and I'm extremely disappointed. They fabric is so light weight, I don't think these socks will last 3 months. The seam in the toe is kind of funny, too, and it bunches up on the sides making the socks a little uncomfortable sometimes.

I'll be looking for a heavier, sturdier alternative for my next crew sock purchase.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2013
Gold toe socks were recommended to me by several people. However, these socks are terrible. I might as well have bought socks at a big box store. The ankle ribbing is too tight (and I am a small person), the cotton is very stiff and scratchy and the cushioning is virtually non-existent. A total waste of money. Maybe the Gold Toe brand was good once upon a time, but these socks are awful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
I think these socks are a great. Not too thick, not too thin. A little shorter than some other gold toe socks that I have, but still tall enough to wear with jeans or slacks.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
I have always bought Fruit of the Loom or Hanes socks, but they become thin and lose their softness and any padding so fast, I can't wait for them to get holes so I can throw them away. So I'm giving Gold Toe a try. I have a size 7-and-a-half foot. These fit perfectly on my feet and feel very nice, but they are tight around the ankles and I have skinny ankles/legs. My legs are "ribbed" after only a few hours wearing these socks. They are really comfortable though. Not sure if I'm going to buy more... I think I'll wait and see what happens after a few washings.
Update: They shrank a lot after just one wash. They still fit me, but anyone with a bigger foot would be in trouble.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.