Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

130 of 134 people found the following review helpful
on September 10, 2005
Pros:

Good looking in all surroundings.

Protects my computer very well.

Well made and durable ..great zippers.

Very roomy but not bulky. ...Room for several good sized books, in addition to folders, DVD/CDs and all the laptop "paraphenalia" (adaptor, cords, mouse, etc.)

Even has a little netting/pocket that folds out large enough to carry a one liter bottle of (Dasani) water!

Easily works as a carry-on for travel.

Cons:

Not the lightest case I've picked up.

No "feet". Sits on ground and can get wet/stain when set on any surface that is even slightly wet or muddy.

Handle, while it is surprisingly comfortable, it is a velcro thingie holding two handles together. Velcro tends to show "age" by picking up hair, hay and stuff, and it tends to hold less.

Phone pocket looks a little "cheesy" with the yellow phone symbol on it. (But.. Hey! it's removable!)

My job requires me to go from semi-formal (college classrooms) to casual surroundings (a barn at a zoo), and my "office" is where-ever I can set up my laptop. I needed something that would look good, wear well and carry a lot of stuff.

I didn't need to carry a backpack full of stuff, nor did I want to look that informal. I think carrying a backpack looks silly if you're wearing a suit. I didn't want the hassle or expense of leather. I'm not an executive, I sure don't want to look like one.

I do have stuff to carry though, more than just the laptop. Most cases were either too small, or too big and bulky.

This is the ideal case for me. Carries my papers, a couple of books, my water, my phone (occasionally) ...and best of all, it takes very good care of my laptop.

For the occasional air traveler it works very well. It is easy to get the computer out for security checks and it has a strap that lets it attach to the handle of my rolling luggage. I don't have the bulk of a backpack to sling around, but it does have a pretty comfortable shoulder strap for when you have to go from one end of DFW to the other.

I highly recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
136 of 148 people found the following review helpful
on January 24, 2005
After much research...I got this bag.

Pros:

Reasonably light (3 pounds empty I think).

Reasonably sized (not as slim as my old bag...which had no padding)

Has a removable Accessory bag for my mouse and power supply (pretty spacious!). This was THE feature I wanted.

Lots of pockets/places to store things, lots of room for documents, pens, accessories.

Suprisingly easy to carry, either by handle or strap...Oddly more so than my unpadded older case. I guess it might be the padded handle and padded sides. It's comfortable to carry around.

Cons:

No dedicated "slots" to hold my 802.11g card, I stick it in one of the secured pockets. No big deal especially since My new laptop will have built in wireless.

No space to hold a large (I mean large) book, normal books should fit easily (a bunch of them actually).

I don't use or carry CD Disks with me, so that feature is pretty useless..but I guess nice to have.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
This bag is just great. I got it for my Inspiron 9300. I was very limited on bag choices because of the 17" widescreen. When I found this bag I just loved it. Sporty design, especially since most of the bags look too business oriented.

Everything fits perfectly in the bag. Its made very well and features a lot of different places to store your accessories. I can put just about anything I need in there. Including wireless mouse, power adapter, cds, cell phone, water, some games, and whatever else i can think of.

I would highly suggest this product. It comfortable and easy to put all your computer supplies in with a great look. Must buy for 17" screens!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
62 of 73 people found the following review helpful
on November 27, 2005
I needed a durable backpack for my notebook on my deployment in Iraq. I've been using it for over five months now. It has handle sandstorm and the harsh climate. I even modified to carry many of my military items including my rifle (hanging on the front d-rings). Thats an estimated weight of 50 lbs. and sometimes more. Not only I suggest this backpack but the whole entire line of Targus notebook bags since many of my co-workers actually have the same brand.
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on December 26, 2006
I bought this backpack 18 months ago and it has been perfect for my needs.

Here is the average load I pack:

1 bottle of water

1 cell phone

1 Axim X50v PDA, extra battery with extended battery and case.

GPS receiever with bluetooth transmitter

1 large (900+ page)full-sized text book

2 notebooks, 1 student guide

4 pencils, 3 pens

first aid kit (basic stuff only)

1 Texas Instrument Ti-89 calculator

1 small and 1 medium flashlight

$3.00 in coins

1 pocket sized am/fm/weather emergency radio

1 set of tool ID tags

1 set of gloves, scarf, ear muff

1 tightly-wound squall jacket

1 Leatherman multi-tool

1 pocket TV

1 set of AA batteries (4 pack)

1 headphone (the small kind)

1 pack of travel tissue

1 pack each of peanuts, crackers and chips

The pack with this load is a bit more than 1/2 full and is comfortably manageable. The load-bearing straps are designed well enough that the weight is balanced and it doesn't feel awkward as with cheaper backpacks. In fact, I generally just carry it on one shoulder and it doesn't slip like the other packs would.

The water bottle has never fallen out, and I carry this pack in some fairly physically active conditions.

It has seen weather...100 degrees to 17 degrees Fahrenheit. Lot's of rain, some snow, and it hasn't even began to show wear after 18 months. There are no torn corners, no unravelling threads, or worn spots. Amazing!

About 8 months ago I had a bottle of 7-Up in my pack and the lid wasn't on proper. A lot of the soft drink leaked out soaking the pocket of my pack that the bottle was in. The next-door pockets that had my notebooks, textbook, and calculator remained dry. I am not saying it is water-proof, but the pack certainly contained the damage. After drying out, that pocket where the accident happened was fine.

The one thing it could not handle was Sergeant peeing on it. It didn't come apart and doesn't show physical damage...but it smells. Sergeant is my dog, and I mistakenly left the pack on the floor after not paying enough attention to him (bless his heart) and he paid me back in spades. I am buying a new pack today, and some tennis balls to play catch with him.

The negatives about this backpack are few. One, it is a bit large for a locker. When the pack is 1/2 full (with the load described above) it will fit in a standard locker, but needs to be guided, as you can't just toss it in like with smaller packs. If you are packing a full-sized text-book and a laptop, you will have to take the text book out and put it in the bottom of the locker and set the pack on top.

It is very easy to put TOO much stuff in this pack. It has the room, and it is natural to want to use all of that room. It might seem trivial reading this, but really...you have to be conscience of the fact that you can pack too much.

I carried an ALICE pack in the USMC for 4 years and that was a tough, roomie pack. This pack compares extremely well for both endurance and roominess and is far more comfortable and smaller in size. That is why I give it 5 stars.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on August 2, 2005
this is an excellent product. i havefound myself using it everday since ordering it. it has ample storage room, the computer area is well padded and the water bottle holder is a life saver. It seems very well made a durable. i would thouroughly recomend and would deffientrly buy it again if it was lost or stolen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on November 5, 2005
I have been using this bag for a month now. I really like the padding inside the bag that protects the notebook. It also has enough space for me to carry a couple of text books (can take in more if required) and sall of my required handouts, so I dont have to carry another bag for my books. All in all agreat product
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on July 30, 2010
I was happy with this bag when I got it. It's a little bulky, but it worked well for what I needed. Now, a little less than a year later and it's falling apart. There is a brace that runs across the top of the bag. Two rivets run through the spot where the handle is attached and through this brace. Basically the weight of the bag is hanging from the brace when you hold it by the small handle. I carry the bag with my shoulder strap, but I do have to use the small handle to manuever off crowded trains, lift it into overhead bins, put it away in my cabinet at my desk, etc. I don't load the bag up, it usually only has my laptop, cords, a notebook and a book. However, it does take some punishment just from the nature of where it's located and how it's used.

Did Targus use metal for this brace? You would think they would, but no. They used plastic. About two months ago I notice the brace had broken at one of the rivet points. Since the brace is not sewn into a pocket, the broken piece fell to the bottom of the bag, inside the liner. About three weeks later, the remainder of the brace broke at the other rivet and slid down into the bag as well. So, I now have three pieces of plastic rattling in the bottom of the bag and rubbing against my hip when I walk. And because there is no longer structure across the top of the bag, it slouches in the middle and bends any folders or books I'm carrying.

I liked the size and the storage capacity, it was exactly what I was looking for, something light to carry on my commute and when I travel. But, as I often am these days, I'm disappointed again by a product produced cheaply which falls apart after minimal use. I wouldn't recommend buying this. I'm off to search for something with better quality.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
34 of 43 people found the following review helpful
Functionally I give this product 4 stars. It holds my 17" laptop nicely. It would get 5 stars functionally if it could handle a bit more thickness-- as it is, a large charger will cause this bag to bulge out more than I like. Also, the shoulder strap gets tangled up quite often- annoying.

Stylistically, I give this product 2 stars. It has gaudy bright yellow lettering with flat black and gray. It might be at home in a university but I find it embarrassing as I walk into the office or airport. I suspect Targus makes other products that are better looking and functionally equivalent...
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
My employer-provided laptop bag's zippers failed, so I came to Amazon to see the reviews for laptop backpacks.

I had several distinct requirements: Heavy duty zippers; Waterproof; Generous capacity; water bottle compartment.

I analyzed dozens of laptop bags on Amazon, read the reviews, and decided that the Targus CityGear Chicago was the bag for me.

This isn't he kind of thing I'd buy for myself; so I put this on my Amazon Wishlist. And lucky for me, sis-in-law Joni bought it for my birthday. I'm pleased with it.

Positives:
+ I like the name.

+ Black/gray color scheme blends in with Northern industrial cityscapes.

+ Plenty of storage space for keys, change, wallet, CD/Mp3 books, towel, hankie, file folders, water bottle, as well as the laptop.

+ Profile/Fit sets well on my large, bearlike frame and the mesh lining of straps and bag-back makes it much less sweat-producing than those lined with nylon.

+ Plenty of room for my HP/Compaq nc6120 and then some.

+ I like the see thru mesh compartment dividers on some inside compartments that allow you to view what is packed.

+ The exterior, bungee-corded outer compartment has great potential for bulkier objects such as bike helmets, books, or lunch bags.

Cell phone pocket is well-placed on shoulder strap and has a break-away strap so it doesn't get unwillingly disconnected.

The H2O bottle pocket works like a champ.

Negatives: (mostly minor)

- Waterproof? Although I don't recall the product description claiming it to be, it's not as waterproof as I'd like. I'd expect any backpack or bag designed to hold an expensive electronic component should be waterproof. A paperback book stored in one of the outer pockets got soaked to the bone when I was caught in a deluge.

- The Padded CD Player Pocket with Line-Out Jack for Headphones is poorly designed and located. Because it is the lowest and farthest compartment from your head, you can't put your player in the pocket, thread the headphones thru the slot, then stretch the headphones all the way across a fully-packed bag to plug into your ears. If the bag is on your back, you have to take it completely off to do `player maintenance'. I store my player in the pocket when not in use, and stick it in a shirt/jacket pocket if I want to listen `on the go'.

- The jury is still out on this, as it's not yet winter in Chicgo, but I wonder if the straps will open up enough to allow me to wear it over a winter coat. If the straps do not extend enough, this backpack may be unusable in the Chicago winter months by us `Extra Large' sized customers. The straps may require modification by sewing additional strap material on the ends.

- There are so many zippered compartments on the bag, that you can pick it up, put it on, and not know your pack is open. This is more a personal problem with me, but I advise you to secure all zippers before hoisting it on your back.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations