Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 14, 2006
I've been using these speakers for a month now. I have them hooked up to my laptop using the soundblaster audigy 2zs notebook. They sound like what you'd expect from multimedia speakers. The satellites lack detail, and the bass can't get anywhere near 40hz. These speakers do benefit from the fact that they are 5.1, therefore they are better than 2.1 when watching dvds, and they look pretty good when paired with a dell lcd. I know that I did mention that these are hooked up to a laptop, but I have a dell 2405 24" lcd sitting right behind my laptop with the center speaker hooked up to it.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2011
Great Product, strong subwoofer. Bought for 8$ at a yard sale, so i got a crazy deal. The Middle speaker DOES NOT require the proper monitor mount, as it comes with a desktop mount. it is just a metal peice the speaker clicks into. awesome surround sound. very loud. only problem i have encountered is (very) light static when no music is playing and if youre turning the volume up or down too fast, the volume jumps VERY high for a split second. Probably just the potentiometer (volume knob) in need of replacement. Secondary Bass/Treble adjustment. very easy to replace a blown fuse, but i havent had to yet in the 2 years i have had the set.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
Years ago had broke the rear left of my dell 5650.So for a lone time i only had had only 3 channel surround sound.I finally decided to buy a new version of the dell 5650 surround system.the old was after 7 years was still running .No replacing the glass circuit yet,by the time had had gotten this new one.I almost order the newer version ,the 6000 model ,but, it looked flimsy.I hear customer complaining that the rear speaker could not pick up any thing.So if found this company that had a brand new 5650.Now my live 365 radio stations have fuller sound.I'm going to have to be careful not to keep any of the wires under the lazy boy.This how the other got broke.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
I've had these speakers for 8 or so years so far, and they've served me well in spite of the occasional hiccups along the way.

Pros:
- The sound quality is decent for 85% of the ears out there (and I can be pretty picky about my audio quality).
- easy setup
- center control latches onto Dell flat panel monitors

cons:
- volume control gave out 2 years into owning this, making the power/volume just a power switch
- every 5 minutes, speakers go silent for 3 seconds.
- no headphone jack

bottom line:
Dell speakers, you have served me well. I want to use them for a little longer, but if they keep the 5 minute/3 second silent trend going, it's time for a new sound system.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2014
In those many years, it's always sounded great! 3 Systems later and I still have it, sometimes the volume knob gets tricky, but this thing can pump out some sound. I do I have to say it's beats my buddies Logitech hands down. Wasn't cheap at first, but I think I got my money's worth.
Never used the monitor mount, just the metal stand. Works fine anywhere.
The cabling is a bit bulky, but it's analog, so I would expect that much.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2011
This product was designed to work with Dell monitors. The center speaker is mountable if you have the right monitor model, most users don't. The speakers have long cords and the output is average. I found this model used at a computer salvage thrift store in Portland for just $20.00 . Gotta love the Geeks.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
He had this sound system before but the bass box developed a short and one of the speakers blew out. The clips for his old center speaker and the knob both got destroyed by my nephews. This replacement was AWESOME! Now he has plenty of spare parts to keep him in business for years to come.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
They are fantastic, it has a true 5.1 connector so make sure your sound card is ready or if you are on a laptop get an adapter. I have owned 5 speaker sets and this easily takes the cake.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
I bought these along with a Dell XPS 420 computer in 06 from Dell.com. I talked the salesman down to $50 with all the bells and whistles I had on put on my special made unit. Through computers crashing, laptops dying, sound and music changing, my exotic mix of hard rock 'n' bass to melodic pop-these black beauties have yet to fail me. I now own an Alienware 2015 17 laptop and noticed I may need a little help with the audio ( although not much). I hooked these "old" mothers to my "new " buddy-WOW sounds like they just came out of the factory! Dell really put some enthusiasm into making these! If you take(took) care of these speakers, they (took) take care of you! awesome sounds- I am sure there are just as good systems and way BETTER (EXPENSIVE) SOUNDING...I'll never buy another system other than Dell's....great work
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2011
I purchased the speakers at a local computer store, and I am puzzled at all the low reviews here. I find them to be really good speakers with rich volume and sound ranges, and very good stereo separation. When cranked up all the way, they did not distort for me much at all, and they have all volume capabilities I need and then some. I compared them to much more expensive speakers at the store and I found them comparable to almost all of them. I just had to purchase an adapter for them since I do not have an upgraded sound card, and they work quite well out of the basic headphone out jack on my computer.
They were rather easy to hook up as well, pretty straight forward.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.