Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Andra Day $5 Off Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services pivdl pivdl pivdl  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation STEM Toys & Games

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

126 of 136 people found the following review helpful
on September 5, 2012
American Crew's line of hair products is great but the one product that stands out the most is without doubt, AC's Fiber Pliable Molding Cream.

I have been using this product for almost a year now and I love it. Don't let the price or quantity fool you! These things LAST. For me, a 3 Oz jar lasts for just around two months and I have medium-length hair!

Here is some additional opinion of mine about this product:
> The smell is good, kind of a cross between sugary and citric. However, it can be a little overpowering if the product is used in large amounts.
> The product is more waxy than creamy so it requires the right amount of dampness in your hair to work. For a solid hold apply it to toweled hair (that are just about dried). For a more loose finish, apply it to wet hair (though not dripping wet!!!).
> Your hands should be slightly moist for the product to work well during application. Dry hands will give the fiber a gluey consistency. It, then, sticks around in your hands and can be a little gross.
> This product doesn't flake out on you when you use it in the right amounts and I love it for this! However, if you use too much product then you will get some flakes up there!
> It works best for short hair but can be equally good with longer hair for contemporary styles. I also found that it adds a bit of volume to your hair. However, it doesn't provide thorough hold throughout the day for medium/long hair. The holding power barely gets through 6-8 hours in my experience.
> It doesn't work great with "build-up" application. That is, if you apply it one day and then apply some more of it the next day without first washing off the previous application. It tends to get greasy and shiny like this unlike the American Crew Molding Clay.
> It has an extremely matte finish. People can never tell that you are wearing a styling product. However, the shine is there if you apply it to wetter hair.
> The product is very easy to wash off.

So all-in-all, it is a great product if you know how to use it and I will highly recommend it.

--Update--
It is NOT alcohol and paraben free. The ingredients on Amazon aren't all; the complete list of ingredients is:

Water, Lanolin Wax, Cetearyl Alcohol, Alcohol Denat., Tribehenin, Propylene Glycol, Tridecyl Stearate, Dipentaerythrityl Hexacaprylate/Hexacaprate, Ceteareth-25, PEG-8 Beeswax, Tridecyl Trimellitate, PEG-40 Castor Oil, Acrylates/C10-30 Akyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Triethanolamine, Tetrasodium EDTA, Fragrance, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Caramel, Yellow 5.
review image
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
139 of 152 people found the following review helpful
on February 24, 2008
I've used 2 containers and this stuff is great. I have very thick hair so I needed something strong but didn't want the pine straw hard feel that so many other products left me with. As my title says though, you have to learn to get the wetness of your hair just right before applying this stuff as it CAN get too hard if your hair is too wet. If it's too dry, it won't hold like some guys want their hair. I've gotten to the point where after I shower, I'll towel dry my hair then get dressed and THEN apply the product as letting the hair air dry just a bit more after towel drying seems to let a little more moisture out of the hair and really gets the "just right" matte look. I've tried several other products and this one is hands down the best for the money and is easy to find.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
on July 30, 2012
Bottom line: Crew fiber prevents your hair from looking like a fluffy kitten and it smells much better than a kitten, but the hold doesn't last all day.

Your hair will have a dry look after application; the fiber product does not provide a shine. If you apply the product while your hair is slightly wet then it will not hold spiked hair. I recommend you shower, dry with a towel, then wait 5-10 minutes before application.

The product has a masculine scent, but it's not overly bold. Mid 20 year old American and European women love the smell from my experiences.

Due to the difficulty of figuring out the right wetness when applying, and the fact that the product does not hold for my long work hours (12+ hours), I feel that it does not deserve 5 stars for the price paid. I will likely purchase this again because it works decently, but believe it can be slightly improved upon.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
48 of 60 people found the following review helpful
I was looking for a product with good hold but that didn't make my hair so shiny that I look like some sort of greaser all day. I found American Crew Fiber and really like it. It holds well (maybe not quit as well as American Crew Molding Creme, but less shiny), and does the job without ever feeling greasy, flaky or caky, unlike other products such as pomades or gels.

Also, it smells good (smells a bit like mild soap) unlike other products I've tried which have an absolutely repulsive aroma (Matrix Dirty Trix). And once it's in your hair, the smell either goes away or in not noticeable at all.

While I'm sure there are other products that provide more hold, all the ones I've tried add too much shine for my taste. With Fiber, my hair looks naturally good and clean all day without ever turning greasy or dirty looking or looking yucky like I have too much gel in my hair. And if my hair gets a bit messed up (like if it's real windy, etc.), it doesn't end up looking weird. It's hard to describe, but in this situation, my hair ends up looking naturally messed up rather than totally gross or sticky or flaky. In other words, it still looks good and natural even after a wind storm. And if I want, I can re-shape it with my hands and maybe a bit of water with no problem. Before, while using other products, after a windy day my hair would look totally gross.

Another good product to consider is D:Fi Molding Creme however that's more difficult to find (note that D:Fi is owned by American Crew).

I really wanted a product that allows a woman to run her hands through my hair without coming up yucky or greasy and I found it in American Crew Fiber. This is a good product and I would highly recommend it.

NOTE-The way you apply it is rub a bit of it in the palms of your hands first and then apply to your hair. Anyone who says that it clumps up in your hair is applying it incorrectly.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on March 22, 2015
I have been using this product as my "daily driver" for about a month now, so I think it's time for me to write a review on it. As I have mentioned in other reviews of hair products, I have pretty typical "Asian hair." Straight, thick, moisture absorbing, sometimes stubborn to work with. I need a solid, hard product with low shine for my typical, everyday look.

I feel as though this product is NOT suitable for Asian hair. While it does shape my hair very nicely sometimes, it is really more suited for thinner, Caucasian-male-like hair that is more susceptible to a sticky mold like this "Fiber" paste. This stuff is soft and really sticky and you really need to wet your hair before you use it. However, you can't wet it too much or else it'll just feel greasy and not take shape. It is pretty difficult to find the right balance of wet hair and amount of product to use. Even if I wet my hair before I use it, because of how quickly my hair absorbs moisture, it becomes unworkable pretty quickly.

If I can manage to make a shape that I like as I'm getting ready, it only really lasts in that perfect shape for a few hours. Now I know a lot of guys will also use a spray hold to keep hair in place, but I have always only used one or two paste/clay/wax-like products in my hair at a time. I'm not a fan of using hair spray. In addition, it is really hard to twist pieces of hairs into tips with this stuff. If you do manage to getting it looking good, it will eventually fall apart after a few hours. I work at a job where I am always moving around. Nothing too strenuous, but definitely not sitting at a desk all day, so I really need something that can hold at least 8 hours! This is not that product. It will still hold a general shape after those few initial hours, but you will lose a bit of the texturized detail. Additionally, this isn't really a product you can play with and mess with throughout the day. I really try not to touch it at all because I'm afraid I will mess it up and not be able to put it back.

Unlike the Japanese product "Gatsby" that I use, I find this product hard to live with throughout the day. Even if I go to the gym with Gatsby Matte Wax in my hair, it still stays mostly in place. Over-activity while using American Crew Fiber will definitely leave your hair a mess. I also use a lot more product to achieve the same affect with this stuff. It's a good thing that it comes in a larger container than most other similar products. I think I'm going to start shifting back to Asian-made products for my hair that were really made for Asian hair. All of the Western and European style products that I have used really don't cut it. I'm giving it 3 stars just because it's a fair product. I'm not going to discount it completely for not working for absolutely ALL hairstyles.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on November 22, 2012
Update: Since I wrote this, I've changed how I do things. Now, I blow dry my hair bone dry, and then use the defining paste (matte, and holds good with just a tiny spritz of hairspray). I also have some left over forming cream, and it works really well too, just gives the hair a shinier look. For me, that shinier look is nice if I'm going to a wedding, or dressing up...that sort of thing.

I blow dry the hair in the front up, blow dry the rest totally dry, put some defining paste in my palm, rub my hands together vigorously and warm it up, and then work it into my hair. I love the way the defining paste smells, matte looks nice, and it's super easy to get that messy but controlled look. I have slightly wavy hair, not stick straight or curly.

I decided to leave the rest of my original review below. Funny how the process changes over time! Experiment and have fun, but I personally think the Defining Paste is awesome for matte, and forming cream if you want a little bit of shine (but it's harder to work into your bone dry hair, and doesn't smell as good).

********************************************
Original Review

Copy and pasted from my Pomade review...hope it helps!

*********
I've used four different American Crew wax/pomades, and they are all great. They smell great, and they are relatively inexpensive. The hard part is figuring out...what product is good for what hair?

I've gone from very short guy hair, to longer guy hair...and as I've done that, the American Crew product that I prefer has changed.

With my hair really short, I was using their "classic wax," which they no longer make. I started trying their Fiber product on that short hair, and it worked pretty well. Get my hair fairly damp, work the Fiber in, and it would give me good hold...little spike in the front. Another product I was using with my short hair was TIGI Bed Head Men Matte Separation Wax. That stuff is REALLY sticky...which is fine for short hair.

Before I move onto the Pomade, the other thing to consider is...varying the dampness of your hair prior to the product will have a HUGE effect on how it works. For example, you can have your hair fairly damp with the stickier (ie high hold) products, and still be able to work it in really well. As your hair gets drier though, two things happen. The hold becomes even MORE pronounced, but it also becomes harder to work into the hair.

So as I grew my hair out...the Fiber began to work less well. I had a lot more hair, and because it's a "higher hold," it actually started to weigh my hair down. Spiking up hair that's only an inch or two long worked fine...but as my hair got to 3+ inches, it would start to fall over. And the Fiber is fairly sticky...so your hair needs to be fairly damp to work it in, but then it doesn't want to stay up.

I had to move to a "lower hold" product (the Pomade)...and I wasn't used to this at first. I was leaving my hair fairly damp, and putting the pomade into that didn't give it much hold at all (though depending the style you want...like a more traditional mad men kind of look without a lot of spike, then that would be fine). I wanted a little more spike and "verticalness" to my hair, so what I had to do was start drying it more. I've started using a blow dryer to "train" my hair in the direction I want, and to get it much drier (not 100% dry, but maybe 75%). Now the pomade has much more hold!

The other product I've been using is the Forming Cream. It's similar to the pomade...but a little less shiny. It has worked well in my longer hair, and like I said before...to get any hold, I need my hair drier.

You will probably have to try a couple different products until you find the one you really like. But before you give up on any one product, vary the dampness of your hair first. Hopefully my experience will point you in the right direction. For short hair, use the high hold products with damp hair. For longer hair, use the low hold products with drier hair.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 6, 2013
Don't get me wrong, American Crew Fiber fits the characteristics of medium-high hold and a natural low-shine for a matte finish. However, I have had a couple a breakouts since I started to used this. As a result, I committed myself to a skin care regiment, increased the frequency of washing my pillows and sheets, and washed my hair more often. Again, it is great for hair, but try to keep it away from skin, by any means necessary. It easily clogs the pores and increases breakouts if preventative measures are taken.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 29, 2014
There's not much to add that hasn't already been said, but I would like to address the cost issue:

Yes, this hair goop is ridiculously expensive.

But... I am a very thrifty person, and I have continued to buy it for years, despite my brain telling me "NO!"

Why? One, because it works so well. Two, because you have to use so little of it, it lasts for months and months.

Just make sure not to leave the lid loose or open, or it will dry out and become a rubbery mess that is pretty much unusable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 2, 2005
i've been using this stuff for about 4 years now and i love it. no, it's not for funky/extreme hairstyles. and yes, it can get clumpy--but only if you don't rub into your palms first before applying to hair. put a little in your palm, rub it between your palms and apply to hair. it's great.

what i love about it is its pliability and hold without looking wet and greasy. you how some doods look like they've just gotten out of the shower 8 hours after they actually did? that won't happen with american crew fiber mold.

the stuff lasts forever. one little jar lasts me months as you only need to basically rub your fingers across the top of it.

if you're a guy like me who's gradually losing a little up top, american crew fiber mold is a good choice for easy manageability and natural looking style.

oh yeah--it smells great, too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
24 of 34 people found the following review helpful
on June 4, 2008
I have been using this product for about 2 years now. I think it's great. It has a sweet-ish lemony smell but more sophisticated. It gets the hold without the shine which I want.

My hair is usually a fuzz ball when short and flat & lame when long. This product lets me give my hair some more character; I can rustle it up or calm it down whenever during the day. The great thing is that people don't realize I'm using a product until they touch my hair.

Another cool thing about this product is that you can use it in our hair with varying wetnesses. If you're hair is damp when you apply, it's easier to apply but the hold will be a looser one throughout the day. I need a strong hold so i usually put it in when my hair is only very slightly damp. (Applying when your hair is completely dry is a little tough because it sticks to your hair and while you apply, its like you're pulling on your hair and it can hurt)

On suggestion is to make sure its completely integrated into the hair. Especially when you use this product with damp hair, it takes some attention to make sure there aren't little chunks of American Crew Fiber siting in your hair.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.