Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars12
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 19, 2009
I ordered two of these packs for our sons (ages 8 and 11), for use on weekend to week-long backpacking trips.

SETUP: These are highly adjustable packs, which should allow for many years of use. The shoulder straps can be moved in and out in roughly 1" wide increments (each side -- so moving them inward one notch would move them 2" closer together overall). Similar adjustments move the hip belt up and down. It took me about 10 minutes per pack to get them set up. Despite significant differences in how each boy is built, I was able to dial in the fit almost perfectly.

FEATURES: The main compartment is roomy enough for lots of gear. There are two smaller pockets on the left side and one long one on the right side. The pack hood contains a zippered compartment and there is another large pocket on the back. This provides lots of options for separating your gear. There is also a bungie arrangement for things like rain jackets. The sleeping-bag sling underneath is a cool feature, and removable if needed. While we keep their packs light, an older child or teenager could easily carry as much equipment as they need.

IN USE: Our boys enjoy carrying them and haven't complained about any problems with fit or function. I can say that this pack is significantly better than the one I used 30 years ago.

COMPLAINTS: The only downside (and it's very minor) is that I found the adjustments a little finicky. To make a major adjustment, you remove a split-ring at the end of a rod, move the rod to another hole and then install the split ring. It's not bad, but it's not the most enjoyable thing in the world.

OVERALL: I think this is a well-made product that not only has enough adjustments to grow with the kids, but the construction quality to last as well.
11 comment35 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2012
A great backpack had lots of room for a week long backpacking trip. The pockets are great for organizing your equipment. This backpack is for an older youth or adult. The only thing this backpack lacks is the load stabilizers. Besides that it carred well. Love the side slide through pocket, its a great place to slide your fishing pole in.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2012
I bought this for my son as his first camping pack. I was worried because he is fairly short, about 48", but the pack adjusts well. It also holds a good amount of gear and the attachment netting for the sleeping bag is very convenient and easy for him to use. I recommend this pack for kids.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2010
The ad is misleading. Please note a rain cover is a separate purchase.

I just called Mountainsmith and confirmed a rain cover has never come with this backpack in any model year.
The cover is about $22. They said they will have Amazon correct the ad.

Also, the newest model, 2010, of this backpack, for $109, has hydration setup. That is something to compare to this closeout model.

It's a very nice pack and a great value. I bought it in place of a woman's pack because its the same thing as a woman's pack, but a better value.
11 comment11 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2012
This backpack was just right for my son's first Boy Scout backpacking trip. He is a slight built, not tall, 5th grader and we were able to adjust the pack to fit him well. The cost was not expensive and I believe it will last a long time.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2015
Our son is small for his age, and he does a LOT of back country hiking and camping with his Boy Scout Troop. He needed a pack that could hold the quanity of items needed, and still be fairly adjustable and comfortable.

This pack fit the bill! We bought it in 2010, and he is still using it, and it still fits him. Next year, or the following he may be in a larger size, but as a small guy for his age, this is the best of the options. We have used youth backpacking packs from REI and Kelty, and this one is still the best out of all of them.

The pockets allow for easy access to his essentials, and the straps are great for attaching all of the items he doesn't have to keep dry.

The straps on the pack are adjustable, which took us a bit to figure out, but now we adjust them as we go, and have no issues.

I will be buying another of these, assuming my son doesn't grow out of it before his brother needs it.

The attached photos are last summer, and after 4 years of ownership on an 11 year old.
review image review image
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2013
I got two for my two boyscouts and they have used them every month camping and have stood up extremely well. Love them.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2015
great pack for my sons camping with the boy scouts, bought a cheap rain cover from ebay and its complete....used it on several trips and it has held up fine
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
My son is a Boy Scout. He has only used this pack probably half a dozen times over the last year and a half that we have owned this pack, weekend trips and just used to carry his stuff a short distance to the campsites. The bag fell apart. The shoulder straps are poorly designed and where they secure to the frame, the nylon tore loose. If I would have caught it in time I could have reinforced it with a metal washer, unfortunately one of the straps was lost on his last trip. Don't waste your money. I should have realized it after the first one I received was missing the metal fasteners that secure the bag to the frame.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2014
Purchased two backpacks for my sons, both were damaged. I purchased this Mountainsmith several months ago. Yesterday I was fitting it to my son and discovered that the frame was bent, a shoulder strap pin was bent, the frame scratched and touched up along with a plastic end cap on the frame tubing was cracked off. Another prize of second hand rubbish from Amazon.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.