Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Speedo Contoured Swim Training Paddles, Grey, Small
Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Thank you Scientist Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 23, 2007
I use these swim paddles every time I go swimming. I'm not a professional, but I think it helps improving your stroke technique and strengthening the muscles involved in the movement (in addition to make you swim faster :).

On the other hand, the materials are sturdy: the rubbers are thick and the paddle has the right stiffness/elasticity also combined with reinforcements on the outer side. I have had the paddles for six years now and the materials have not deteriorated. This is a great quality product.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2008
Positive:
* Works flawlessly.
* Curve to your hand.
* Give you a great workout.

Negative:
* Straps come loose very easily when you try to put it on your hand.
* It is huge for it size - I thought my hands were big but I have to choose a medium when I normally get "Large" gloves.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2008
After many years of swim gloves that deteriorated from general use and pool chlorine, I decided to give these a try to see if they would last longer. So far, they are holding up nicely. They do take a bit of getting used to, coming from the gloves, but I find that paying attention to this difference really improved my stroke. The contour fits my hand nicely.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2011
It is a good product but very over priced and your buying a brand. The challenge is they don't stand behind the brand. The straps will break (chlorine on rubber). They, unlike Tyr and other paddle companies don't support or sell replacement straps so you are stuck buying another set of paddles. Advise against.
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2009
I've used the paddles for about 3-4 months now.

Medium size is about 8" long and fits average hands well. My finger tips are slightly short of the upper edge. You don't want the paddles to extend further than an inch from your fingers.

Depending on your stroke you may need a larger or smaller paddle. More complex hand movements require smaller paddles

Freestyle/Breast stroke: larger to medium
Butterfly/back stroke: small to medium

The paddles come with extra straps and are sturdy enough. they fit very snugly -which is necessary- and I can see how some one could break them, but I have not had to replace them with regular use.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2011
I have never used paddles before so I can't speak to other brands. These seem to be pretty good paddles, they are pretty easy to get on and off. They feel very natural with the contour of my hand, versus the flat paddles I used briefly at Masters Swim club. I ordered a medium and my hand measured 7". I may have been able to use a small but I will keep these for now as I only swim freestyle. One word of caution... this week in my master swim club we used the paddles quite a bit and I noticed a burning sensation in my shoulders and upper arms for several days afterwards. This pain is different from muscle pain. I don't have any shoulder issues and I hope that the paddles don't start any. Just a word of caution for anyone who may have shoulder issues to use them sparingly. I can't speak to the reliability so that is the 4 stars rating. I always rinse them with cold water after every use to try to keep the bands from deteriorating.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2010
I like the paddles but when a T strap snapped, I found that I had to buy a whole new set of paddles. Neither [...] or Speedo could help me. This seems ridiculous. Does anyone have any ideas for purchasing the T straps independantly?

Thanks!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2010
The strap on my pair of this broke within 6 months of regular swimming. I called speedo, they do not sell the strap separately, so I have to get a whole new pair. It wore out quickly as well. I liked using them but I'm going to get another kind because I really don't feel like having to go through the hassle and expense of buying new hand fins frequently. It's also needlessly wasteful. They make replacement goggle straps, why not replacement hand straps?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2010
I love these paddles for several reasons. 1. the contour makes them easier to use and more comfortable. 2. the size options. I am a small woman and other paddles were too difficult to use because they came in one size and seemed to be sized for men. 3. they help build strength in addition to guiding your stroke. If I use these for a couple of hundred yards, the rest of my swim is so much better in terms of proper technique.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2008
I would definitely recommend this swim paddles to anyone who is learning swimming or trying to improve their stroke. The material is sturdy and the contour design makes it very comfortable to wear. It's a great training aid to improve freestyle stroke. As others have mentioned, it is huge for it size.Speedo Contoured Swim Paddles
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.