Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Columbia Men's BM1211 Bugabootoo Boot, Black/Asphalt, 17 M
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 31, 2010
As with others I have had the same problem with the bottom plastic/rubber coming undone from the upper fake leather. Also the plastic/rubber gets stiff in the cold and then cracks in multiple places. Worthless boot made in China for a few dollars and then marked up by Columbia to 75 dollars. Avoid at all costs. Columbia will not fix or replace.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2009
The seams between the rubber and the leather started failing the first year. I sewed them up and patched them with ShoeGoo, but then the rubber started cracking in several other places. In total I have three major separations at the seams, and 6 other large cracks in the rubber.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2007
Its been about 2 months since purchasing this boot. The 3rd party vendor had a great price and delivered on time, so 5 stars there.

The shoe however get mixed reviews. Being a long time Columbia customer, I wasn't surprised by the out of the box quality except that I remember thinking how flimsy the plastic speed lace clips looked... sure enough one has already broke and I no longer use the speed clip feature, always keeping them laced with fingers crossed on the remaining three. (As an aside, Columbia customer service also gets a mixed review on this. While the clip would be covered under warranty I still will need to cover the freight one way. While this is the industry standard as pointed out to me by the on line customer rep, I don't feel I should pay one more cent for an under-engineered fault of Columbia's. And really, do you want to buy something from a just average company?)

Otherwise the boots do what I had expected, relatively light weight, waterproof, and comfortable, with just enough flex in the uppers to not chafe yet provide support. Grip is good too on varying surfaces except glare ice. I agree with other reviewers that this is an active wear boot, and would not recommend it for sub zero Fahrenheit temps and long periods of inactivity. And, if you overnight with them, plan on sleeping with them to prevent freezing since the liners are not removable. For my 45 minutes a day walking commute to work and day hikes in the upper Midwest the boot works well.

Would I buy them again? Not without a lot more research for an alternative (preferably with a metal speed lace clip!).
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2009
Purchased in late 2006 to replace a pair of Sorels that I had worn for 8 years for snowplowing, showshoeing and winter hiking. Did not start wearing the Bugabootoos until winter 2007 and was surprised that the seam between leather uppers and rubber boot separated within a few weeks. In 2008, the seam pulled apart entirely, allowing moisture through. Although I like the boot styling, I expected better from Columbia. This year, I will go back to Sorel for the long term.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2006
Comfortable, warm, and dry. You really don't want to take these off. Tread freely through anything with confidence, and great traction. Awesome value.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2008
After wearing only a couple dozen times the rubber started to come apart on these where they are stiched together at the seam between the upper and lower sections. I expect that from a 19 dollar mart-mart boot, not something from Columbia. Disappointing.

Columbia also won't respond to inquiries about their product. Buy something else made by someone else.
33 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2014
To my SHOCK,
My quality Columbia Winter boots Failed
The Seam completely separated between the Rubber bottom and the upper Leather
I have not had these more then a year,
who knows if I can find the bill

Boot
Columbia Bugabootoo BM1211-901

These boots have been keep well and only used lightly, for typical winter walking and such
not used daily but frequently in winter.
.
Left boot is starting to separate
Right is completely opened.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2010
Worked OK for a few outings, but seams fell apart at the seams after approximately 10 wearings. (See other reviews for confirmation that this is not an abberation.) Ridiculous. Will *never* buy a Columbia product again. Period.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
Boots fell apart at the seams and rubber cracked after light usage just as other reviewers have described. I informed Columbia via their website earlier this year and received no reply. So yesterday I sent a letter to Tim Boyle, the CEO, to inform him about the product defect and the weakness in Columbia's customer service process.

I had a similar problem with a pair of Timberland boat shoes. The leather separated from the rubber bottom. The shoes were about 8 years old; however very lightly used. I contacted Timberland and asked what type of adhesive they would recommend to repair the shoes and instead they offered to (and did) replace them with new ones. Guess who will be getting my business and my families, friends and associates as I spread the word...

Mr. Boyle, if you are listening, seize this opportunity!

Tom McLoughlin
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
Plain and simple. Don't buy this boot. They are not well made and fell apart after very light use. The leather separated from the rest of the boot and the rubber cracked. Save your money and time buy buying a different boot. Very disappointed with Columbia. They should stick to jackets!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.