Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Black Friday Deals Outdoor Deals on HTL

Price:$33.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on October 26, 2009
If you are used to manfrotto / Bogen camera supports, then you know how solid and well machined their equipment is. This little adapter is no exception. I have no worries about any breaking, flexing or "give" when attaching any lighting equipment to this thing. Well worth a few extra bucks.
One little extra feature I really like is that the pivot handle can be adjusted to any rotational position after tightening the position, by pulling out on the spring loaded handle, turning it out of the way and then back in.
(BTW, the photo shows the adapter upside down to the position one would most likely have mounted to a stand.)
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on December 18, 2010
I just received this swivel (and a Manfrotto 5001B Nano stand, a Stroboframe shoe mount and an umbrella), but it's not too soon to make observations. It's a quality piece of equipment that does its job of marrying stand/umbrella/flash perfectly. Everything is held fast in place, and the flash points right to the center of the umbrella as it should. I'm sure there will be other uses too I can press it into once I think of them.

There are 2 things to consider before taking the plunge though:
- This isn't lightweight, weighing almost a pound with both its studs
- A cold shoe is required for flashes - an additional outlay

So if all you want is a lightweight, simple attach-flash-to-stand adapter, you might consider other cheaper options. But if you want an adaptable, solid, last forever (hey, just got it, but I'm optimistic) swivel, this is the one.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2009
Glad I didn't. Solid, perfect. Functions as it should. Worth the slight bit of extra money. I compared it to my Dad's Calumet version. His was also nice, but mine was a little more solid.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on February 12, 2010
Strong, easy to use.

I highly recommend you buy the Stroboframe hot shoe adapter to mount your flash on top of this (if you get the Strobframe with the pin on the bottom to prevent flash rotation, You'll have to drill a hole/notch in this Manfrotto; the Strobframe with flat bottom and separate bolt works fine w/o drilling).

Edit, after using a few years:
This had seemed like it was built much stronger than needed, when I first got this with my 40 inch shoot-through umbrella. But since getting a 60 inch umbrella with removable black back, this swivel no longer seems over-built, rather it is just sufficient. For the much heavier umbrella, I have to use a great deal of strength to tighten the leaver that sets the angle, else the umbrella slips down. I have two of these, and I feel they will last a life time.

If you only use a small umbrella, you could buy a cheaper plastic swivel; but if you use a large umbrella or other heavy light modifiers, you will need something sturdy like this Manfrotto Swivel.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on October 24, 2011
Im a single parent so budgeting is a must for me. I shoot photography for recreation because I love it. Ive started shooting for business now as well. Ive ordered the "cheaper" less expensive umbrella with hotshoe kits and they work fine. Albeit tightening the little knobs on those inexpensive kits does make my fingers numb from the pressure. I bought a boom kit and needed an umbrella adapter for it because it didnt come with one. I bought a cheap 10$ one which Im returning today, the knob that holds the umbrella rod jus keeps spinning and dosent tighten anything. So I decided to try the Manfrotto and well. Its a world of difference, full metal construction. No more sore fingers, quick release.
I hardly write reviews however I had to give credit where credits due. Ill be saving up and replacing all my other umbrella adapters. One more thing on this item; this one has like the name implies a tilt that better positions your flash to the center of the umbrella. Unlike all the other umbrella adapters. A big plus for a better even light distribution.

Another one of the 'inexpensive' umbrella hotshoes I have , the tightning thread and screw gave out after a few shoots. Lucky I was practicing and not actual on location paid shoot. I just placed an order for another one of these bad boys. Excellent item and excellent service from amazon!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on October 15, 2007
Sure you can buy the photoflex unit for half the price and it comes with a cold shoe but don't be swayed. This piece is worth every prenny. It is made 100 times better than the photoflex and has a million little things where intelligent choices were made and as a result it's much more user friendly.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on February 22, 2013
This Manfrotto swivel umbrella adapter connects your light stand to your accessories such as an umbrella, radio remote or directly to your speedlite flash. It is a heavy-duty, long-lasting addition to your bag.

* All heavy-duty, strong and solid material used in construction
* The main adjustment handle is on an external socket that permits you to re-adjust it so the handle always faces a certain direction, e.g., down for deploying or up for storage
* Double-male and double-female brass spigots (aka studs) included (1/4-20 and 3/8-16 threads on both)
* Fits virtually all umbrellas or with the included spigots, can adapt to 1/4-20 and 3/8-16 units
* With the addition of a second male spigot, can function short-term as a tripod camera mount (not meant for this, but it can support a few pounds this way for non-critical work)

* The handle, though configurable, cannot be easily removed for more compact storage
* The top and bottom screws will dig into your brass spigots, marring them, and if you're overzealous about it, they will collapse hollow umbrella tubes (workaround: fit dowels into your umbrella tube ends, or buy solid-stick umbrellas)

Other thoughts
Despite the cons, it's a great way to connect up your lighting components. Some improvements would include a cupped, captive, center-swiveling end to the tightening screws (top and bottom); this would keep the screw from digging into your accessories and marring them (or collapsing hollow umbrella tubes). For a while, until I got used to the directionality of the umbrella socket, I marked the normal "in" side so I wouldn't inadvertently feed in the umbrella backwards. Either way works, but you should be aware of your intended use and direction for aiming your flash, so you choose the best way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on September 23, 2008
I would recommend this to anyone buying their first swivel adapter for their main light. It's a great piece and very easy to use. It's sturdy and offers a great amount of variety of movement. If you can afford it, buy as many of these as you can; otherwise, for your other strobes, any other cheaper model will be fine.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 16, 2008
This Bogen 2905 umbrella bracket is top-of-the-line. Its body is cast aluminum, painted black. Adjustment screw holes are all taped into the aluminum body. All adjustment screws are plenty big enough to handle most torque requirements. The swivel joint is tight and smooth. All knobs are large and durable. This is certainly a well made bracket and is worth the price. You still must purchase a cold shoe bracket to mount your flash unit. If you are a serious photographer and/or want a bracket that can take a lot of abuse and keep on ticking, this is it!

It's nice and I appreciate a company who take pride in their product. They made it to last and provide service for a life time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on March 31, 2007
Very nice. Solid, durable. Nice included hardware. Good control, nice lite-tite locks work very well. Most pleased.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.