Customer Reviews

1,638
4.3 out of 5 stars
Bodum Brazil 8-Cup French Press Coffee Maker, 34-Ounce, Black
Color Name: BlackProduct Packaging: Standard PackagingChange
Price:$21.99 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

354 of 363 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2008
Color Name: BlackProduct Packaging: Standard Packaging
This was my first French press. I have always enjoyed this type of coffee, particular after dinner. However, I was attracted to the plastic framework surrounding the carafe, as I can be clumsy at times.

This press has worked just as well as the more expensive, more traditional looking French press pots. I set the coarsest setting on my Braun grinder, and no grounds get through the screen. It is just perfect. I haven't ever run my press through the dishwasher, it isn't necessary with the easy cleaning with this one. I just put hot soapy water in the carafe, up-and-down a few times with the plunger and it's all ready to use again. I have heeded the warning not to stir with a metal implement; I use a wooden spoon.

I would heartily recommend this model of Bodum for someone who would like to experience French press coffee at home, inexpensively.
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1,035 of 1,090 people found the following review helpful
on June 8, 2009
Color Name: BlackProduct Packaging: Standard Packaging
Let's face it, dumping coffee grounds into a bucket of hot water is nothing new. The Bodum Press is a refinement of the cowboy coffee brewing method, minus the campfire & straining it thru a sock. In My world, there is no such thing as "too Strong" for coffee. There IS, however, too bitter & too acidy. The press does what perking, dripping and steaming ground coffee cannot do: produce a stout, yet smooth cup of coffee - just like the stuff made around decades of my campfires.

Model Brazil, made in Denmark by a Swiss Company & called a French Press. No wonder the confusion over exactly how many cups this actually makes. The Euro-instructions for the press say 4 oz. per cup, but even my fine Bavarian China cups (from when I lived in Munich) are 6 ounces.

Just look at it this way: It holds 32 ounces of water.

The instructions on your roast coffee container usually say to use 1 TBSP per 6 ounces of water (NOT 4 ounces & NOT 8 ounces). Again, in MY world, 32 ozs. makes about 2 cups of coffee.

I toss in 6 or more scoops of ground coffee, pour in hot water & wait the obligatory 4 minutes. The result is a smooth coffee that you can drink by the quart without that nasty heartburn/reflux side effect.

It's ideal for work, where the office sissies are afraid of offending anyone with REAL coffee, so they make it weak. I simply step up to the hot water spigot & take the Press to my desk.

Now, you, too, can have coffee the way you like it at work without having to cover up someone's botched brew with that foo-foo Vanilla, Hazelnut, Irish Cream or other phoney-flavored faux creamers.

Cleanup? Swirl around some soapy water, & dump the grounds down the sink - just be sure to have the water blasting & the garbage disposal running, so as to not plug up the sink trap.

Even if you already have the coffee-brewing apparatus of your dreams, buy the Bodum 32 oz. model. You won't be disappointed.
3636 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
151 of 159 people found the following review helpful
Color Name: BlackProduct Packaging: Standard PackagingVerified Purchase
When my old, tired, beat up Bodum finally fell apart, I didn't run out and replace it. Like a young widow whose beloved but aged spouse bit the dust, I giddily went looking for the coffeepot equivalent of a youthful Brazilian polo player. And I got what I deserved. Keurig's little pod thingies, which traded instant gratification for passion, Melitta's endless glacierlike efforts to get on with it, and a haze of automatic coffee maker one night stands. Or one morning stands, to be accurate.

So I'm back to Bodum. Okay, there is no clock and there are no attachments, no gizmos, no bells and whistles, no fancy dials or lights. And no automatic programmer so the coffee isn't ready when I reach the kitchen. So what. Some things are worth waiting for, and I can handle the six minutes delay (two waiting for water to boil, four for boiling water and ground coffee to blend together in perfect union). Then I am just one little squeze of the plunger away from bliss...that irresistably wonderful first cup of coffee.

Somehow the Bodum even turns second rate supermarket coffee into elixir. And really good freshly ground beans make a drink that is sheer joy. There is magic in the Bodum. Coffee gives up all of its flavor, but none of its acidity. It's so gentle, you can fall asleep while drinking a cup. Bodum brewed coffee won't jangle your nerves or your stomach. It just soothes and comforts.

Plus if you repeat the name with the right cadence (Bodum. Bodum. BodumBodumBodumBodum) it sounds just like the theme from Jaws. Could you ask for better than that?
1212 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
258 of 277 people found the following review helpful
on January 2, 2009
Color Name: BlackProduct Packaging: Standard Packaging
I have two Chambord models, and this one. I prefer the features of the Brazil's keyed lid, and secured plastic frame to the Chambord models. I've had this for about 3 years now, use it every day, and it's held up perfectly. Great press.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
150 of 163 people found the following review helpful
on August 8, 2009
Color Name: BlackProduct Packaging: Standard Packaging
This is a very simple, easy-to-use and easy-to-clean French press. I couldn't be happier with it. Brewing with a French press generally results in much more flavorful, rich coffee than using a conventional drip coffeemaker.

Though it makes very good hot coffee, I especially like using it to cold-brew homemade iced coffee. Ever notice how when you try to make iced coffee at home by brewing some with a regular coffeepot and then sticking it in the fridge till it cools, it never tastes right? That's cause most good coffeeshops cold-brew their iced coffee, which results in a smoother flavor. When you cold-brew, you use time rather than heat to brew the coffee.

In case you've never cold-brewed coffee, here's how I do it: I take a grinder-ful of fresh-ground premium beans, toss them in the press's pitcher, fill it up the rest of the way with cool, filtered water, let it brew 12-15 hours at room temperature, then press the beans down, stick in the fridge for a while, and serve in a glass with some ice cubes. Delicious! Add sweetness and cream to taste. I'll save a fortune by brewing my own iced coffee from now on. (By the way, the directions for brewing hot coffee are the same, only you use hot water rather than cool, and the heat makes it brew in about 5 min rather than 12 hours.)

If you're a coffee nut like myself, whether you prefer it hot or cold (or either, depending on the weather), you owe it to yourself to try a French press, and this Bodum can't be beat for the money!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
150 of 170 people found the following review helpful
on September 24, 2011
Color Name: BlackProduct Packaging: Standard Packaging
You can listen to the all the great reviews (which I did at first) but read this. Yes this works but I have bought a couple of these over the years on amazon because they tend to fall apart after daily use within a year and I would have get a new one. It seems that daily heat applied would finally cause it to become brittle and break easily. So I finally said goodbye to plastic ones and bought the more expensive stainless steel french press you can find on amazon. Yes, it's more money but it was the best investment I made. It's heavy and solid throughout and can easily withstand daily use and be put through the dishwasher and look great afterwards. Plus, no more worrying about plastic parts breaking (plus who wants to brew coffee in some sort of plastic thing). If you plan to use a press for your daily coffee, do yourself a favor and get the stainless one. After this one breaks you'll be wishing you did.

Update: A few people asked...I bought the Frieling Polished Stainless French Press. You can find it on here. It's rock solid and built very well. should last a looong time!
1414 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
113 of 133 people found the following review helpful
on August 27, 2010
Color Name: BlackProduct Packaging: Standard PackagingVerified Purchase
Video review of bodum original brazilian french press. Almost perfect design and function. Great value.

**2/1/15 update: Following up on my previous review. I used this item for 1 year until it broke and then purchased another one which lasted about 6 months.

First break: the plastic "cap" on the plunger assembly due to drying rack placement (not a factory defect)
Second/third break: The glass shattered along the spout. I want to say this is due to misuse but given that my third broke in the same way, I am tempted to say its a flaw in the design.

While we were using it, the product worked great. We did get the occasional grinds that found their way into our cup of coffee but it wasn't too bad. Our new french press is double-walled stainless steel with a double mesh filter. Steel = bombproof, double mesh = no grinds in my coffee.
SterlingPro Double Wall Stainless Steel French Coffee Press, 1 Liter: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MMQOZ1U/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
106 of 125 people found the following review helpful
on September 3, 2008
I purchased a Bodum Brazil French Press (1548-01 US, 32 oz) in July 2007. I use it about 5 times a week, and have always hand-washed it.

It makes great coffee, and I've had no problems with the filter. However, two months ago, the plastic cylinder on the bottom of the lid broke so that the lid now wobbles.

I called Bodum's customer service line and was told the lid can not be purchased as a replacement part and the press has no warranty.

While it was just a $20 press, I expected it to last more than a year. I'll be buying a Frieling next time.
3232 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
on December 4, 2011
Color Name: BlackProduct Packaging: Standard PackagingVerified Purchase
This unit worked well for about a year but then the plastic nut that holds the press screen and its backing plate to the end of the plunger rod stripped. It no longer holds the two circular strainers in place. Lesson: don't rely on plastic parts immersed in hot water. Disappointing.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
67 of 78 people found the following review helpful
on February 21, 2010
Color Name: BlackProduct Packaging: Standard Packaging
Had this item about a month now (8-cup size). I use six level scoops for a full 'pot'of strong coffee. Makes about 3-4 "American cups" (8oz +). More than I can drink in a day, so I share with office-mates.

PROS:
1)Coffee tastes better from this than from my drip coffee maker, IMHO. This is of, course, the number one reason for getting any coffee maker -- otherwise we'd all drink instant and save the trouble of brewing and cleanup. Reading some reviews here and foodie-type sites, the great taste is because the 'natural oils' from the beans are not filtered out by a paper filter. I don't notice 'oily' coffee or any other change in texture but I do notice the upgrade in taste and that earns four stars right there.
2)(YMMV on this)My office has a hot-water spigot at the water cooler so I get hot coffee slightly faster than the generic drip coffee maker where I have to wait until all dripping's done to get my one cup cleanly. If you don't have a ready source of hot-water, more time will be added waiting for water to heat up.

CONS:
1)You'll still get some 'silt' (micro grounds), even when you coarse grind your coffee. This is mostly due to my grinder, I guess, but a work-around is that I've started to use a small strainer as my scoop. Using this, most of the silt is discarded -- but some still gets through.

2)Keep in mind that the round-ball press handle prevents the mesh part from reaching all the way to the bottom of the container. Because of this, if you put 4 or less scoops (i.e. making a only a cup or so), there's still some space leftover and you don't get that extra squeezing out of flavor from the grounds. Also, I think I got a little more 'silt' when trying to get the last drops out than I got from a full load. Perhaps a packed set of grounds traps more silt than a loosely packed mound.

3)Cleanup is pretty messy, and is my biggest CON for me. As AZshooter recommended, I also use a stream of water to get out the grounds. Works WAY better than trying to scrape them out dry into the trash bin. This, of course, requires a drain and water source. Also, a few grounds always get stuck in the metal frame that holds the mesh in place. I have to use a toothpick to get them out.

Lastly, be sure to drink all the coffee quickly OR separate it from the gounds by pouring the coffee into another container (e.g. thermos). The acidity of the coffee grounds begins to taint the flavor of the liquid above if you leave them together for an hour or longer. This and CON #2 should weigh into consideration as to which size French press to buy.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 44 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.