Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 2, 2009
So...I have been purchasing these socks for over 3 years and generally find them to be a good product. They are comfortable, do not fall apart and tend to not fade quickly. All very desirable qualities in a black sock.

HOWEVER...the one criticism I have and nagging problem (which surprisingly is not mentioned in other reviews) is that these socks kick off a tremendous amount of lint. Every day when I take my socks off my feet are covered with lint from these socks which inevitably gets everywhere. Repeated washing of the socks does not resolve this problem either. If you are not diligent about vacuuming or washing your feet immediately after taking off your socks the lint gets all over the floor and gets pounded into the carpet (which is a nightmare to get out). After all this time I simply do not have the patience to keep up with the lint all over my carpet and on my feet.

So despite the low price point, good quality and high level of comfort I have to move on from these socks to a product that does not create such a problem.
1010 comments96 of 102 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
These Classic Men's Cushion Crew Socks by Hanes are very well made and they keep your feet warm. I recently started to wear these when it's cold at night and I want to sleep with socks on my feet. These crew socks can be worn for athletic activities but they're probably more suited for everyday routine wear.

These crew length socks have a reinforced heel and toe; this makes them last longer and they still feel very comfortable on my feet. The socks only come in black or grey; and that is a disappointment. However, these are relatively affordable yet good quality socks if you need black socks for work or any other occasion.

I would not dry these socks at high temperatures. High temperature drying would probably result in the socks becoming too loose on your feet. Eventually the fabric could loosen so much that the socks will "bunch up" almost as low as your ankles when you wear them--and that's very uncomfortable. Dry these socks at a lower temperature. Then they will remain just as comfortable as ever. I know mine do!

Overall, you can't go wrong buying these socks. They keep your feet extra warm during colder weather. They are manufactured so well that you definitely get more than your money's worth. Not bad at all!
22 comments21 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2010
I was used to Hanes black crew socks being a bit flimsy in the past but my most recent purchase have holes in them after just three washings. They produce so much fuzz that even though I wash them inside out at the end of the day my feet look like they belong on a hobbit or gorilla. Like their white socks the quality has dropped markedly over the last ten years but while the white socks are still worth purchasing these black socks are awful.
11 comment28 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2011
As others have stated, these socks have downgraded in my book. These used to be 100% cotton, however, now they are a spandex and cotton mix that leaves a horrible amount of lint on your feet...and everywhere else after taking them off. Also, since moving to the spandex mix, the socks get your feet much too hot much too quick.

As over simplified as it is, Hanes classic black socks one ruled and now, they have changed the product and made them vastly inferior.
The new socks have hit the trash, the old 100% cotton socks are still in good shape in the drawer. My quest is now finding 100% cotton casual black crew socks to replace Hanes' bad replacement they offered us.

Good luck in your search!
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2010
Finding good (durable) black socks is difficult - these are no good - lint all over, and holes in the heel area after only a few times. They disintegrate practically before your eyes. Stay away from them.

I just sprung for six pairs of Greenyarn socks which are amazingly well-made - but only available in two-tone unfortunately - so my quest for QUALITY solid black socks continues.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2011
I bought these socks 3 months ago. I noticed that they shed lint balls constantly. I hoped that after a few washes, they would stop shedding. I believe Fruit of the Loom and Hanes may procure and rebrand these socks at the same factory overseas because I had the same problem with both brands.

Very low quality product and not worth picking up lint balls for several months. I'm going back to Gold Toe, I didn't have any issues with that brand.

My guess is that Hanes and Fruit of the Loom are probably aware of the issue and have already switched suppliers but may still want to first deplete their existing stock before rolling out product from their new supplier. or maybe they don't really have a very good quality control system in place and aren't even aware of the issue. Either way, stay away from these socks unless you want to constantly pick up lint balls from your floors and bed.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2012
I've gotten Hanes crew socks before and they lasted quite a while and eventually would get holes in the toes, last ones I bought lasted a year or so.

So I was surprised when, literally, after the first wearing, some of these socks had holes in the toes already. Upon second wearing, pretty much all of them have a small hole in the toe. And not because my toenails aren't cut or anything; this has never happened to me.

I usually love these socks and was impressed with the price and so ordered them. Now almost all of them, just a few short weeks later, have holes in them (and I cannot stand holes).

Ordering Gold Toes now, for a little more, but hopefully they last longer than a few weeks...
11 comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2011
I generally wear black men's dress socks, usually thin, always cotton. These socks are fairly thick and may be too warm in the summer. They do have the unusual characteristic of shedding small black tufts onto my feet. These tufts show up on the bed sheets and on the bathmat. I've never had socks with that "feature" before.
I followed the advice of another reviewer, who suggested turning them inside out and washing them before first wearing. They still shed. They are comfortable and seem to hold their shape so far. I will continue to wear them, since I'm too cheap to throw them away and buy others. But I would not buy them again.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2012
I finally just went through my dresser drawers and converted all of the six pairs of socks into rags. Riddled with holes, these socks just don't wear well over time. They aren't very soft, either. I will never purchase Hanes socks of any kind again. Buyer beware! They get one star only because you have to give a minimum of one star; otherwise, I would give these zero stars. I would like to also add that no size 12 foot could ever fit comfortably in these socks. Notice it says size 6 to 12. Baloney!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2011
I purchased these socks several months ago, and already at least half of them have holes in the heels. I have other brands of socks that have lasted literally years longer than these.

It's not like I'm some great athlete or anything either: These socks just gave out with very little wear.

I would definitely not recommend these socks to anyone, unless they want to polish their darning skills.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.