Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Price:$144.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 26, 2013
There are many, many reviews of the Lamy 2000 pen available; numerous on Amazon and a plethora of them on the web proper. The pen itself has been in continuous production for almost 50 years, so you won't find a lack of information on it. My perspective on it is from a 'semi-pro' fountain pen collector standpoint; I have a myriad of Mont Blancs, Parker Duofolds, Watermans, Pelikans and other Lamys plus a few Sailors and Pilots thrown in for good measure, so while I'm certainly no expert, I do know my way around a fountain pen.

And saying that, I'll emphasize: There isn't a better sub $200 fountain pen available. It is just a darn near 'perfect' pen.

There are, of course, lots of pens available under $100; LAMY's own Safari's are typically found under $50. But with the 2000 you get three things in a perfect storm of quality that others only offer 'pieces' of:

1. Polycarbonate construction. Lexan/Makralon, call it by it's tradename but it's a form of plastic and it's extremely durable and, for me at least, extremely LIGHT to write with. This pen weighs NOTHING in the hand. If you love heavier writers, you will NOT like the 2000. If you like lighter weight pens, this one is the champion on that aspect alone.

2. Gold nib. Platinum plated gold nib, no less. Other reviews compare it to the Safari and I don't feel that fair; the Safari is a steel nib and open hood; the 2000 is gold and semi-hooded. The 2000's nib is very much 'springier' than the Safari's nib. That's a matter of personal preference, period. I LOVE the Safari in F, or EF for its ability to do fine, intricate detail work. Superlative value there, but it's still like writing with a nail. You do get used to it, but the 2000 is just better in all aspects for cursive writing and expressive writing. Lastly, the semi-hooded design allows the pen to maintain ink flow longer with the cap off.

3. Piston filler, NOT a converter pen. Nothing beats a piston filler for ink capacity. Converters give the least capacity in the LAMY line, then cartridges. But if you're tied to LAMY's PROPRIETARY cartridges, you'd better love their ink colors (unless you go to the trouble to refill them and some actually do!). A piston filler gives you easily a week to two week's worth of writing and is absolutely trouble free.

Combine these features into a pen that is less than $200 and you have a winner. The closest competitor to a LAMY 2000 is a Pelikan but you will have to look long and hard to find one near this price. And even then it won't have a semi-hooded nib or be as light as the LAMY.

All around, a classic pen that is an outstanding value.

***January 18, 2014 Update***--still stand by my review but wanted to add one thing that might help someone out. I accidentally dropped the cap of this pen (and just the cap) and it landed on a vinyl floor. Not concrete, not asphalt, not tile, a vinyl floor. Still took a divot out of the cap's lower ring. My fault, of course, but was surprised the materials used on this pen are that delicate. New cap? $40.00 from Lamy! I bought it because I was mad at myself but wanted to warn those that read these reviews...fantastic pen but don't drop it!
66 comments| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2007
The Lamy 2000 fountain pen is perfect for people who want a good, solid workhorse fountain pen. The differential piston mechanism can easily gulp down a large supply of ink. The breather hole is positioned as close to the nib as possible, so you only have to dip the very tip of the pen to fill it up. Since the body is mostly made of Makrolon with stainless steel accents it is very light, yet feels warm and substantial in your hand.

This classic of 1960s design is equally at home sitting next to Apple's latest aluminum keyboard or your favorite Eames chair.

Note that Lamy 2000 nibs run seem to run a size larger than marked. My XF nib writes like a German F nib, or a Japanese M nib.
33 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2011
The new pen and box arrived as described. The newer version - the metal under the nib being the most obvious difference.

The Lamy 2000 pen extra fine nib had been previously inked or tested at the factory prior to shipping. The nib was a little toothy on my first few sheets of test. The nibs on the new pens seem to have become a bit finer, too, more in line with `normal' sizes. I am using Private Reserve Ebony Noir ink in my first test. The Extra Fine is much closer to what most people would describe as a fine, and even what some would probably call medium.
The pen does not leak and applies a broader line than the Namiki fine nib. You can write within a narrow ruled paper without any problem. For a man with a medium size hand the Lamy seems to write better and is balanced with the cap posted to the end of the barrel. The barrel is made of a lovely plastic like material called Makrolon which is easy to grasp and hold for precision work. The Lamy fits perfectly into a shirt pocket while the cap fits/clicks on tight to the barrel. The shirt clip springs backwards to adjust to the shirt pocket.

The barrel is wider towards the middle of the pen which I've found requires less grip strength to use. I often find my hands and fingers further away from the nib than on the Namiki VP. A petite lady friend with delicate hands, feels that the Lamy fountain pen is perfect for her use uncapped (cap not posted to barrel).

Overall the first impression and use is very satisfying.

Lamy 2000 Physical Description:
Length Capped: 138.5mm
Length Uncapped: 123.3mm
Length Posted: 152.5mm
Max Barrel Diameter: 13.0mm
Max Section Diameter: 10.5mm
Max Cap Diameter: 14.2mm
Body Weight: 12.3g
Cap Weight: 8.9g
Total Weight: 21.2g
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2012
I am not very experienced with fountain pens. I have only been using one (Lamy Safari) for about 9 months. After using the Safari I knew that fountain pens were the way to go for me. I had read so many reviews about how great the 2000 was and so far so good. I have been using the 2000 extra fine nib for almost one month and love it. It is very beautifully designed, writes very smooth, and was very easy to fill with ink. As far as the size of the nib goes it does seem to run a size bigger than advertised as pointed out by other reviewers but was not an issue for me. The price on Amazon, $118 or so, was far below normal retail and the experience buying from them was fantastic. I have the new model which was supposed to fix the leaking problem. I have had the pen for one month, store it either flat or upright, and it has yet to leak. If you are debating it and don't have much experience with fountain pens, buy it. The price is right and the product is amazing.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2012
I purchased this Lamy 2000 with an extra fine nib after having purchased and used four other Lamy Safari pens. I am a big fan of Lamy Safari pens - they are the smoothest writing pens and I only use extra-fine nibs which are typically scratchy to write with. But my Safari pens always work - are durable - smooth as butter on most papers - ease to write with and are fairly inexpensive. So given that track record I figured a gold nib on the Lamy 2000 could only be better - WRONG. The Lamy 2000 is really easy to ink with the piston filler - looks great and is comfortable in the hand. But its not as smooth as any of the Lamy pens I have. For anyone that will do long stints of writing the Safari is superior.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2014
As an owner of 6 Lamy Safari pens, the best of which, IMHO, is the low cost, Lamy Safari Charcoal, I decided for my birthday to buy a higher-end fountain pen. After reading several blogs and seeing the top fountain pens viewed by fountain pen aficionados, I decided on the Lamy 2000 EF. It was always mentioned as the best or in the top 3 of the fountain pens reviewed.

I also have two Waterman fountain pens (both over $150), which are very smooth writing instruments (just as a reference). But as I also use all 6 Lamy Safari pens, I decided to try the Lamy 2000. It's what I see Apple designing if they did fountain pens, very voguish & functional! Easy to fill, holds lots of ink, and if you hold it up to the light, you can see thru the ink level window how much ink is left in the barrel.

Highly recommended! Writes very smooth. The EF nib is what I expected after reading the other comparison reviews on Amazon to Japanese-style nibs on width. It doesn't skip while writing and just feels good in the hands. I'm left handed and filled it with Take-Sumi Charcoal Black ink which doesn't smear as my left hand moves to the right while writing. Excellent addition for writers!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
** UPDATE: July 8, 2014
This should illustrate the value and precision of the LAMY 2000 fountain pen. It is a mature (Legacy) product with a classic style and the best value for an instrument under $300.00. Once you are hooked, there is no turning back! You will not regret making this investment (I did it twice).

My LAMY 2000 rolled off my desk as I was getting my inkbottle out to refill it. I broke the NIB with my negligence at the Achilles! I cannot describe the internal emotional feeling when your chosen "go to" pen warrants repair. Unfortunately, I could not find a replacement NIB for the pen but LAMY stands behind their product and you must send it in for repairs. There is an approximately 3 week's turnaround time and approximately $60 + shipping & handling charge (fair price). I reverted to a LAMY Studio Stainless Steel fountain pen that I own. It was fine but it was not my LAMY 2000. In approximately 1 hour after using the Studio, I signed in on Amazon and ordered another LAMY 2000 XF Fountain Pen (delivery tomorrow).

As for my damaged LAMY, it is a wonderful calligraphy pen now - LOL.

*****************************************

I own several LAMY fountain pens the Safari, Studio, and the Dialog 3 respectively, but seemed to avoid the 2000 for some unknown reason. I am a graduate student pursuing a dual Master's and needed a motivation tool (symbol). I decided to part with $130 and invest in the LAMY 2000. It arrived...(S***) - I could have bought three of these for the price I paid for the LAMY Dialog 3!
The LAMY 2000 is a fantastic utilitarian instrument (daily use). It is made of a combination of fiberglass and brushed stainless steel known as Makrolon (Lamy, 2014). It is not metal like the Studio or Dialog 3 but sturdy and not plastic feeling like the Safari (plastic). The 2000 is functional where the Dialog 3 is pretty and only good for signatures and the Studio is great as well and similarly priced in price. The real value is how the 2000 holds ink and why everyone says it lasts a week or longer.

"Polycarbonates (PC), known by the trademarked names Lexan, Makrolon, Makroclear, arcoPlus® and others, are a particular group of thermoplastic polymers. They are easily worked, molded, and thermoformed. Because of these properties, polycarbonates find many applications. Polycarbonates do not have a unique resin identification code and are identified as Other, 7. Items made from polycarbonate can contain the precursor monomer bisphenol A (BPA)."
Source: Polycarbonate - [...]

I had bought 2 extra LAMY converters with this purchase (would need to replace them in my other pens anyway). I opened the 2000 and looked to see where to place the converter. What? It did not come with an ink converter. Okay, that is why I ordered 2 converters. Wait, converter does not fit. Where is the manual (for a pen no less)? To my amazement, the whole body of the pen is the ink reservoir and does not require a converter! You twist the butt end of the pen to activate the piston to draw ink into the body, explaining how it lasts a week or more! I could not see the line where the twist mechanism is (quality/craftsmanship) that required me to read the manual. A classic design and legacy product - I clearly understand the reason it is still around.

References

Lamy, U. S. A. (2014, July 8, 2014). Lamy 2000 black model L01, Fountain Pen available in fine, extra-fine, medium and broad nib sizes - Buy at Lamyusa.com. Retrieved July 8, 2014, from [...]
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2015
This pen writes beautifully, feels wonderful, looks great, and holds a lot of ink.

People do tend to say this pen has a small "sweet spot" and I would agree but not make a big deal of it. This means that you may need to practice a little bit holding the nib at the correct angle of rotation in order to prevent the pen from skipping or having problems starting on your first stroke. However, this issue will reduce over time both with practice and as you physically wear the nib down a bit and it adjusts to your writing style.

This is also generally a "wet" pen meaning that a good amount of ink will flow, so you will want to use quality paper (such as Clairefontaine paper) to get the best experience.

This nib is slightly flexible - do not try to treat it like a flex nib, but it will respond subtly to heavy versus light pressure better than average fountain pens, which means you can get rather elegant script with it if you develop the muscle coordination to modulate pressure correctly.

Overall, the fit and finish of this pen is what really sets it apart. The barrel has two seams which are virtually invisible, the engineering tolerances on this pen are excellent, the clip is sturdy and spring loaded (the metal of the clip itself does not bend, there is a spring inside the joint where the clip attaches to the cap), and there are convenient windows into the ink reservoir so you know when it's running low.

This is one my favorite pens and one that I am sure I will continue to love and use regularly for years to come.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2013
First: I bought it locally for about 60 mode bucks. I don't live in the US and the import taxes are too high :( (I paid 30$ of taxes for my 50$ Sheaffer 100, I do not want to imagine how much would I have paid for this)

I won't dwelve into the goods because you can read it everywhere, but I will do mention the important things that made it not reach the 5/5

- The weather at home gets cold and at the office the AC is always turned on. The inside top part of the cap is made of metal and it happens the same thing that happens when you pick a cold glass and leave it outside. since it's cold, it "sweats". When I open the pen, I can see small (very small, less than the head of a needle) drops of water inside. It rarelly has an effect on the pen, but yeah, it's there.

- The piston's knob. It is not as tight as *I* would like. It is NOT loose, but it can be opened easily. Does this mean the pen has a chance to leak ink? NO. The mechanism has a safe zone where EVEN if the knob moves accidentally, it will not make a mess with the ink.

- In *my* case, I had to manually fix the nib. Yeah, yeah "How dare you, you have guts, you are crazy, you are dumb" blah blah blah. I saw the nib was misaligned by less than a millimeter but it can be seen with a magnifier. I saw on youtube how to take apart the pen so I did it. Nothing wrong with the pen so I assembled it again and noticed the nib was aligned... witchery I suppose.

In any case, the first two points have no consequence on the writting and the third is not that bad because it can be either prevented (By asking the seller to check the pen before sending) or fixed (by sending it to LAMY or taking it to a fountain pen conoisseur)

I've read the people at gouletpens check them personally. It is more expensive but you pay for the extra care and I know (because that's where I bought my first FP) that they have a top notch service.
Still, if you find the difference in price too wide, you can buy it here. Also, NOT EVERY LAMY 2000 IS MISALIGNED! Remember that! It's a small, very small chance.

Mine was, thousands of people's Lamy200 are not and this happens even with the more expensive ones (believe it or not).

4.5/5
Very, very, very, very satisfied and happy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2015
I love many aspects of this pen. The weight, the way it fits in my hand, the smoothness, the general look. This is a very elegant writing instrument. In addition, I've never had a fountain pen that didn't use cartridges/converters, and this one fills exceedingly well without trouble.
Now the negative. I ordered the extra-fine nib because I tend to write small. The nib I got was maybe 'fine' when it first arrived, but within a day of very light use, it started writing thick enough to be a 'medium.' This is my third Lamy, and I've gotten extra fine nibs with all of them, and only the very first one actually wrote with an extra-fine line. I'm not sure what exactly to think, and I plan to continue to use this pen, but I don't think I'll be using it as much for my general day-to-day notes and whatnot as I thought I would.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.