Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 3, 2008
Altought the Magnum Men's Viper II 6" WP Boot is very confortablea and is very good looking. They do seem, or maybe it's just my pair, have a very low durability problem. Having the boot for only 6 months and the nylon areas or breaking apart and the top boot coating is off most of my left boot. I do use it for work and riding but not to the point that the boots should be falling apart so fast. This boot is just not working out and now I'm forced to starting looking for a new pair.
33 comments11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2012
Hi-Tech stopped making the Midnight boot so I had to find another boot for work. I change them out at least every 6 months. This Viper II lasts 6 months of daily walking. It is a good boot. I only wish they would make the rear a tad bit higher. It is easy to put on, but would be easier if the back was higher. Overall a good boot for daily use. Even in the rain my feet stay dry. Unless it rains all day. Then water will get in eventually as it runs down your leg.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2011
The standard inner sole is inadequate. Bought Dr. Scholl's inserts for more comfort. Where foot bends across the front at the sides of the shoe, there is a crease which looks like it may separate the leather from the mesh material, although it hasn't yet. I have worn these shoes for about four weeks. With the built-in air cushion and supposed more arch support, this shoe feels more comfortable than my previous pair of Addidas and the pain in my feet seems to be reduced.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2012
The sizing info was not accurate. I bought the size that should fit me but when they arrived they were far too small. I tried to send boots back but it was going to cost me $75 AUD so I bought another pair with the next size up. If you buy these shoes I suggest you either try them on in a shop first or get 1 size bigger than you would usually wear.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2015
It took awhile for me to write this review because I wanted to be fair and due to the fact that I currently have and alternate between several duty boots made by various manufactures (Rocky seems to be the most comfortable and best made) This boot was fairly comfortable after the brake-in period but I noticed the width seemed way too wide to be a Med. I tried on another pair from a different retailer to be certain that my pair was not inadvertently labeled medium when it wore like a wide width. Ok so I wore my pair with thick and heavy socks for a better fit. After 8-10 months, of occasional use I noticed the sole started separating around the side of the boot to the point where I just stopped wearing them, this happened with very light usage. I would not recommend this boot for the reasons mentioned, they are poorly made and the width was too wide and not a true medium. If they got their Quality Control act together I would recommend this boot
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2014
These are by far the most comfortable work boots I have ever owned. The air cushioning in the sole is what stands out on these for someone who is on their feet all day and especially if you are on a concrete surface like in a warehouse. I put the Spenco heavy duty insoles in and the boots are like walking on air. This is my fourth pair of these boots over the years and I'm still very happy with them.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2013
I bought these boots at a local grocery marketplace to use for a motorcycle riding class I took in May of 2012. The weather here in Seattle is wet and chilly, and sure enough we had plenty of rain during my riding course, and these held up very well for that. My feet stayed warm and dry, and they were really comfortable to walk in compared to other boots I've tried. The only con for that riding course was the toe is pretty round and it can be a pain to get it under the shifter pedal.

I ended up wearing them to work on occasion once last fall kicked in and rain and cold came back. They were wonderful for working in and they became my primary work shoe by the end of the year. After about 6 active months of use, including a rough summer with lots of walking (I do maintenance for a 110 unit apt. community with five separate buildings), painting, cleaning, etc... they finally started to crack on the sides of the toes, right about where your pinky and big toes' "knuckle" bones are. If you look at the picture of the boot, you can see a line running from the outside of the boot to the inside, like a rainbow over the toes. It looks like a part of the boot's frame. The outside material bends over this part of the boot when you walk and your toes extend, and after a while it cracks and lets moisture in.

While these lasted, they did a very good job and are comfortable still, but the waterproof feature didn't last long enough. Maybe if Magnum adds a support inside the frame so the toe doesn't bend against that ridge line. I will keep them around for messy inside work like painting.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
Unfortunatly I cannot find a shoe that feels as good as these as I have Neuroma's and Hammer Toe and these shoes keep the pain at bay becuase they are INSANELY comfortable and you can get them in wider sizes.

These boots are just like sneakers you can run and do anything in them that would do in a pair of high top sneakers and they really don't need any break in time.

I work for UPS so I do alot of walking and they USED to give me about 4-6 months before they started to come apart now it seems to happen in less then a month the bottom part from back to front starts to separate from the shoe therefore they only get 2 STARS but I would give them 10 STARS for comfort.

In defense of the shoe I can say that they really aren't intended for the kind of pavement killing a UPS man does but the fact that they used to last me longer shows that the Quality has gone way way down.

My feet are the most important thing and I must take care of them or I cannot work so ONLY because of the INSANE COMFORT do I ignore the poor quality that seems to be hitting these once great boots so untill I find somehting better I don't mind spending the money to keep my feet happy.

I wonder if it's possible that sometimes I get knockoffs cause the ones that come apart after a few weeks seem to have shorter tongues which is very strange so if thats the real problem then thi would give it 5 STARS.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2012
i was looking for a lightweight, confortable, waterproof boot.

wanted it just for wearing around the house, running errands, or taking a walk. did not want it for heavy duty work (different kind of boot needed for that).

i can't even begin to tell you how many boots i looked at and tried on locally that just weren't right for me.
then i found these and took a chance at ordering them without having the benefit of trying them on first.

first impressions:

very comfortable boot. perhaps the most comfortable boot I have ever worn.

light weight. perhaps the lightest boot I have ever worn

great quality. i could not find a single defect or cosmetic blemish anywhere on the boots.

solid sturdy boot for walking or standing.

fits true to size. i needed a wide and they 'were' wide. some boots are 'listed' as wide, but really aren't wide enough for me.

they say they are waterpoof, though I have not had a chance to test that yet.

fair price for a quality boot.

will update this review after I have worn them for several weeks.

update after 10 weeks of wear:
very comfortable, look new, loving them, just ordered a 2nd pair to have on hand
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2010
These are excellent boots if you are in a security/law enforcement position.

I have had them over 5 months now working at an airport and they are as light as shoes. The initial arch support is excellent, so make sure you get your correct size! They are true to fit, and you shouldn't order a size bigger than you actually are like I thought I should. The arch support compresses like much of the rest of the boot, but that is correctable with triads or some other type of insole that fits very well inside. They polish nicely, and let the foot breath.

They only negative I have is how the laces shred and the "state of the art" plastic lace holes sand away. This again is correctable with magnum custom fit boot laces sold right here on Amazon.

But keep in mind this IS NOT A TRUE WORK BOOT. It is mainly for standing/patrolling positions and isn't intended for construction, hiking, etc. It is made to be light.... NOT DURABLE. Since I do work at the airport, wear on sole is almost nonexistent.

Again, for law enforcement/security I give it five stars (which is the companies intended demographic for this boot)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.