Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on Tikes

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
on January 17, 2012
Hi, in addition to being a homeowner DIYer, I have several BPI certifications and teach residential and commercial energy conservation, which includes air sealing and insulation. If you are considering using mono-component foam for more than one very small job, be aware of a few related facts. Firstly, mono-component spray foam expands very little, no matter what kind you buy. If you need more expansion, you have to get a bi-component product such as Tiger Foam (to spray wall cavities or rim/band joists). Secondly, the spray bottles you buy at the Home Depot should be used all at once and not stored for a long time before using or they get clogged. This is true even for the ones rated "reusable". Thirdly, these products are typically not fire-rated. Dow Great Stuff Pro needs its own dispenser gun. You can get the least expensive of the 3 which costs around $30 and will last you a long time if used correctly. Hence, this product is more expensive at the beginning but it has the following advantages: the foam is fire-rated; MUCH better dispensing control in terms of bead size and consistency; no overspraying when you release the trigger; the same bottle can officially stay on the gun for 1 month but users report that they are having no problems after 6 months. Two final points: spray foam is the best air sealer and insulation on the market but is expensive. For larger jobs such as open wall cavities, consider laying down no more than 1" of foam first and then adding much less expensive bat insulation on top of it. Do not underestimate how wickedly sticky this stuff is. DO NOT get it on your (good) clothing, skin, hair, glasses, etc or else. I found that Amazon is the right place to get foam and gun in terms of price and availability.

This foam cures with the moisture in the air. In dry weather, moist (not soak) the cavity you want to fill with a light spray of water before applying the foam. You will get twice as much expansion and no voids.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on September 19, 2011
Great Stuff foam really works. I pulled mouse-filled fiberglass insulation out of my basement today and used the Great Stuff foam to seal the entry points. I'm ordering more to complete the job of insulating the upper perimeter of the basement. It hardens very completely--I don't think mice could chew through it. The foam gets into cracks and holes batting insulation won't. It filled some massive gaps very effectively--do those when the can is new and squirting most enthusiastically. The foam is easy to control and apply only where you want it.

These cans go a long way; good bargain for the price, good value for the quantity. The applicator gun you need to buy to use these large cans seems a bit pricey (about $35) but is necessary and works well. None of it was very heavy to use. The applicator gun did not clog though sometimes I had such a gob of orange hardening foam on the end I couldn't see how it could possibly continue to work, but it did.

Downsides--the applicator gun doesn't extend very far so it was hard to reach into narrow spaces. The can itself sticks out awkwardly and has the same disadvantage. The can will spray upright or on its side, but not upside down, so it was hard to get into some areas by the ceiling between the joists.

The whole process is messy and sticky. Wear disposable clothing, if you can, gloves and goggles.

Added 5-11-2012: Just used a can that was partly used and left attached to the applicator gun for about 6 months, worked great. Not clogged at all and the foam worked perfectly.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on October 24, 2009
Don't bother with the plastic straw cans if you need more than a couple. Great Stuff Pro with the Pro Gun 13 (or any Pro Gun) gives much better control over the foam bead. When the trigger is released the foam stops - no more foam oozing out after you want to stop. One can goes a LONG way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on November 21, 2012
Buyer Beware! Be sure you get the "old" formula. Recent cans have a flag on the can that states it's a *New High Yield* formula. It's terrible. I use a Pro-14 dispenser and have plenty of experience with Great Stuff. I've tried many cans from both the US and Canada and the results are the same: Very narrow bead (about the diameter of a pipe cleaner) that's extremely wet and expands slowly. Every can sputters as the bead comes along, if it comes along at all. Expect serious cracks in the foam line. I also tried the new formula with a Pro 13 dispensing gun with even worse result. The second can, once newly screwed on, wouldn't even flow! Total disappointment. These guys should go back to square one - it worked. Caveat emptor!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on February 17, 2014
This stuff is, well, great! I bought a $25 dollar, decent gun and used this product with it. The adjustment works excellent - worth that alone when compared to a $6-10 dollar disposable can. But, more important is the option to use this, put it away for a week and then come back to easily use it again. If you have ever tried to reuse one of the disposables you likely found out that it is not possible. With these cans they are designed to be reused (instructions state within 30-days). If you do get a gun, be sure to get one constructed mostly or entirely of metal. Cleanup is easy if you use the can of cleaner, sold by GreatStuff. But it is not necessary. If you have a $2 bottle of acetone or some goo-gone, etc. then a short soak and small squirt bottle will work fine.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2011
This stuff is great. I've been using the consumer grade of this stuff for a while now, but this plus a dispensing gun I bought brought everything to a new level. Now I don't have to worry about the stuff coming out after I've stopped squeezing the trigger.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on January 10, 2011
Don't mess around with the stuff you get at the big box stores. Spend the extra money on the gun and the pro cans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on March 15, 2013
This style of can only works with Dow Applicator tool ( Foam Gun). It works very well at sealing gaps and cracks. Beware: It can get messy if you're not careful, don't get it on you or it'll own you !
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on November 6, 2013
I think I bought 3 cans of this stuff? I'm only on my second one and I've probably sprayed enough foam to fill Madison Square Garden!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on May 5, 2010
I love spray foam.
This, combined with the pro handle make spray foaming so much neater and more accurate. You can also easily stop mid-can, which is great.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.