Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Price:$27.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 30, 2011
I am very happy with this item.

I can totally understand some of the reviews that talked about this item being cheap. I think its a situation where the first impression makes the biggest impact. The star came in a little tiny, plain white box which hardly seemed able to contain the item. It came with some books i ordered from Amazon, and, at first, I thought it was just packaging material. Then, when I opened the box, the contents appeared to be a bunch of cheap plastic parts. I was starting to feel like the item was way overpriced and actually thought about returning it.

I decided to, at least, put the star together before making a decision about keeping it. The star was very easy to put together and was actually kinda fun to assemble like a plastic model. As I was assembling it, my opinion gradually changed. The star is actually a pretty nice piece of engineering. From a bunch of cheap plastic parts emerged a beautiful and solid tree topper. Because each of the star points attaches to all the neighboring parts, the strength of the design does not become apparent until it is completely assembled.

Once I put the star on the top of my tree and lit it, all of my concerns evaporated, and now I cannot imagine any other topper on my tree. I would definitely recomend the item to others without reservation. However, when you receive the item, try not to judge it on the packaging and individual parts. Wait until it is assembled and lit before making your judgement and I think you will be pleased.
33 comments| 144 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2011
This year I found myself putting up an extra Christmas tree and found that I needed a new topper. We've purchased rotating bases for our trees so that they slowly spin while the tree is lit. The effect is great and seems to bring new life to the holiday tree. Additionally, if you have pets, a spinning tree will help to prevent the kitties or the puppies from getting too curious. Anyway, with the extra spinning tree it was important that I find a 3-D topper that would look good from all sides. This was EXACTLY what I was looking for.

The topper comes disassembled. When I first opened the box, I was a bit disappointed and expected that I wouldn't be happy with the result. All of the pieces are plastic and it really looks fairly cheap. However, once the pieces are assembled (which takes only minutes) the end result is amazing. With the provided bulb it produces a nice, warm glow that's even throughout the star. You don't see any cords, light bulbs or sockets, and the product actually looks pretty stylish. The size is perfect for my full-sized 7-foot tree, too.

Three dimensional lighted tree toppers are hard to find... if you're looking for one, this is the best I could find and I have no regrets and would definitely order it again. Happy Holidays!
33 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2009
I have been using this from 3 years now. So no doubt this is quite sturdy. Set up was easy and straight forward. With the light on, I must say this tree topper is a beauty. All my friends admired it. Only difficulty (if I can say so) is, they sell a similar star of 21 inches diameter with the same picture and that was a little confusing. Overall if you are looking for a tree topper, I would say this product is the best value for your bucks... period.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2013
I cannot believe I paid $24 for this plastic piece of crap. After assembling the cheap plastic we hooked it up and the star is translucent plastic so you can see the bulb and bulb holder and everything. Not worth the money....
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2010
This star looks ok, and works ok, but certainly not the best quality; you know, made in China plastic fare. People commented that it looked nice on the tree, and I liked the look ok. Would have preferred something nicer (glass), but for the price this one worked fine. Sort of a pain to put together - it comes in a lot of pieces, not hard to do, but the points are designed to "click" and lock into place, some of them locked better than others. Some of them wanted to pop right out as soon as you touched it slightly while inserting the adjacent point. The clear holder piece that you use to attach the star to the top branch is poorly designed. I had to repeatedly insert the star into the holder, and every time one of the bottom points would pop off, requiring me to remove the star, re-insert the point, and try again. Once I got it up there and branches adjusted so that it stood up straight, it was fine. All the points come off again when we were done with it for easy storage.
11 comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2011
I had read all the reviews so I expected to not be impressed initially. Good thing, because I wasn't. As others mentioned, the initial impression is rather chinzy. However, as I began to put it together I discovered it was well engineered, the holes lined up where they were supposed to, and it came together pretty easily. Once together and on the tree, the beauty of this little gem becomes more apparent. If it were heavier (e.g. made out of glass) it could bend the tree tip. The material used actually seems to "glow" when lit. This is the classic, 3 dimensional Christmas star, and the perfect top to a Christmas tree. Our trees are typically on the bigger side -- this years is at least 8 feet tall -- and it looks perfect, but I think it would look equally as nice on a smaller one. I love it.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2013
I like twinkly lights. LOTS of twinkly lights! Therefore, this was a just the tree topper for us. The Star goes together in just a few minutes (assemble it with your kids, it is pretty sturdy and kind of a fun project) and emits a bright soft glow once together. We usually have between 700-900 lights on our tree (Clark Griswold, eat your heart out!) minimum and it has always been kind of tough finding just the right topper that would not get outdone by the rest of the lights. This Star holds its own and fits the bill perfectly.

I posted a pic of our tree from last year and you can see that this Star balances nicely with any tree with a multitude of miniature lights or the larger old fashioned lights that tend to be a bit brighter as well. One of the features of the Star that I like is the attachment wire that comes with it. It works great for artificial trees and I imagine it would be helpful with live trees, too. It is a green extension rod about 8-9" long and a little thinner than a pencil with a couple of zip ties that lets you anchor the topper to the main tree trunk to keep it from falling over.

Only downside is that I wish the cord were a bit longer. It is about 6' long and you will have to hide it in the branches of the tree and connect it with an extension cord. I don't believe they recommend connecting it to the end of a light string. Other than that, this was a good purchase and I look forward to enjoying our Moravian Star topper for years to come.
review image
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2010
Granted, I don't have much experience with Christmas tree toppers in the shape of moravian stars, but I was very surprised when I got this thing, it was completely disassembled into dozens of little plastic pyramids that look very cheap. they're not very sturdy and don't hold on in the structure very well.

I really can't understand how somebody would give this thing 5 stars and call it "durable".

The only reason I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 was because it did look kinda nice when I finally plugged it in and the light turned on.
review image review image review image
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
The photo is of a different star - this is a cheap knockoff, notice the lack of seams in star in the photos shown (In the photos, the star has no seams or signs of pieces or attachments). In reality, this item comes in many little pieces which would be ok, if the final product looked like the picture, but it doesn't. It was photoshopped out. In reality, it looks like something out of the horror movie Hellraiser with all the bumps in between the spikes, and After 20 minutes of assembly and subsequent cursing at the star, when I finished with it and put it on the tree I realized that it's not the same star shown in the seller's photos.

Also shown in the seller's photo is a transparent and quite large contraption to hold slot the star into the top of the tree. Surprise! This is absent as well. What they actually give you to put this on the top of your tree with is a green stick and some zip ties. At this point I wanted to stab my eyes out with the star so I went back on Amazon to return the plastic star.

When trying to return the item the seller flagged the item as "requires special handling" so you cannot return the item so easily, as if it was made of dangerous explosives or something. This truly is the star from hell.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2015
My tree looked fantastic this last year with this special star. On a 9 foot tree it was the perfect size and cast a nice glow. My family loved it. I didn't find it hard to put together at all, just follow the directions.
review image review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 23 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.