Back to Business Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Bose SoundTouch 130 Amazon Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 12, 2007
Keeps my unit more secure and out of the critical lines of sight. I no longer have to worry about the suction cup coming loose (it was especially bad in cold weather. It comes with two different types of pads to secure it to the dash, temporary and permanent. I used the temporary one and after a month it is still solid.
0Comment21 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2012
I like this mount a lot. Its been installed in my car for over 4 years and the glue is still holding up despite the temperature swings from freezing winters to hot summer days parked in the sun. I bought it because I wasn't satisfied with the suction mount that would fail occasionally causing the garmin to fall off the dash. This seemed dangerous for both the driver and the garmin.

The mount will fit all standard garmins (street pilot, nuvi, etc) and I've used it with a few different models over the years. They all mount securly to the ball mount although some of them did tend to sag over time (this was due to the female mount on the garmin loosening not a failure of this product).

Two things I've found is that you should really follow instructions to get the most out of this product. If you are having mounting issues it could be because of a coating on your dash (any plastic cleaning/conditioning product) so you'll need to clean the dash before mounting. I would recommend washing with a drop of dawn soap, rinsing with water, and then rinsing again with rubbing alcohol. The soap will cut oils, the water picks up anything thats water soluble, and the alcohol will pick up alcohol soluble solvents and dry more quickly and fully. When you apply the mount I would put the glue pad down and stick on the mount base and then leave it for a day or two. Giving the glue pad a chance to cure a bit seems to provide a more secure mount. Then go ahead and put on your garmin.

Once installed, be sure to unlock the use the button when you rotate the mount. If you force it the plastic can crack. I forgot to mention this to a passenger who was going to enter an address for me. The plastic rim that holds the mounting pole in cracked and the garmin was no longer secure. It was easy enough to fix with a bit of super glue, but its part of the reason I gave 4 stars and not 5. Yes it was my fault, but I think the locking mechanism should have been designed a little more robustly or should be slightly more obvious so your passengers are more likely to use it correctly.

Overall:
Sturdy mount (more sturdy if you install it properly)
Potentially safer than the suction mount for both the driver and the garmin
Install it correctly and use it correctly and it will last you a long time
22 comments13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2006
Works great, holds the c550 in place and has a removeable stick on putty for the dash
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2007
Used this item to mount my Garmin 550 on the dashboard (I had the one that came with the GPS in my other car). Works very well... the fit between the mount and the GPS unit is very reassuringly snug. Be careul using the PERMANENT disk to mount it, though... it really, really is permanent. Use the temporary disk if you're not sure. Excellent product!
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2009
I purchased this watch at another retailer, but I thought I would mention a few things. The watch has Indiglo backlight in which the whole face lights up in a blue-green color so that you see silhouettes of the hands and numbers. The digital display inversely lights up (the numbers light up rather than the whole display). I've found the watch to decently comfortable to wear, though because the straps are simply held in and swivel on the pins, it tends to rotate around my wrist rather than stay in one spot. Also, the acrylic window just barely sticks out above the bezel, so it's relatively easy to scratch and scuff by accident. Lastly, the watch that I have ticks much louder than I expected - at arm's length I can hear the tick of the second hand.
0Comment18 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2008
Two days ago, it came off my dashboard... eventhough I installed it using the "permanent" tape that it comes with, the heat of the summer was enough and the glue wiped off clean. From the begining, I would have to be re-adjusting the angle of the Street Pilot because with the bumps it would go down; this never happened with the original suction cup that I had to re-cycle. So in general... not such a good idea.
88 comments8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2007
I had the base mounted already from my previous GPS, so really bought this for the arm portion. I had the mount base from my StreetPilot 2620 and it's been permanent on the dash for two years and no issues. This is much better than the windshield mount for the NUVI660. The product DOES NOT come with the cradle, so you have to use the existing one from your NUVI. Excellent.
11 comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2008
I had the Garmin Street Pilot 2610 which was stolen and now replaced by Garmin Nuvi 760. The old GPS had the permanent dash mount which is still on my dash. The base is exactly the same as this item except without the "arm". The "arm" fits perfectly in the old base and my new GPS fits on it perfectly without having to fear the unit may fall off of the suction device since I had the permanent mount for >2 years now.

I had the beanbag for the old GPS before, one day I stepped on the gas hard and the gps landed on the shifter and broke the screen. That's why I decided to mount it permanently.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2011
My first Expedition is well over 10 years old and still works perfectly. Bought this watch because it is more stylish, has more features, and looks like a more expensive watch. It runs great, very functional, and not as loud as other reviews have indicated. Good buy for the money. Luminous hands and Indiglo nightlight are key reasons as well, and they both work as expected.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2009
This device works extremely well as an alternative to a suction cup mount. It gets your gps on the dash instead of hanging off the windshield. Very high quality. Also, lets you use your Nuvi with your old Garmin bean bag mount.

Excellent product from excellent company.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.