Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 3, 2011
The days when a guy could go out the door with a few things in his pockets are probably gone forever. Besides the usual stuff - wallet, keys, etc. - now there's also the cell phone, glasses, mp3s... the list goes on and on. I was looking for a way to carry the essentials without having to wear cargo pants all the time.

The "Bag Home Again" bag is terrific. The grey canvas looks great and is sturdy yet very soft and pliable. Personally I could do without the graphics on the inside of the bag, but they are not visible except when the flap is open and are not too garish. The outer sides of the shoulder strap, strap attaching points and buckles have a black textured leather look. The same material is used on the bottom panel of the bag for durability. The inner side of the 2 inch wide shoulder strap has a cotton web backing that should help keep it from sliding around. The zipper pulls and strap buckles are stout and have a brushed nickel look. One of the things I wanted was a grab strap on the top of the bag. This has got it and it looks very sturdy.

Pockets are well thought out and functional. The outside of the flap has a zippered pocket that extends down to about where the "buckles" (more on them later) are stitched on. Each side panel has a pocket as well. The right side has an open top, tube shaped pocket. It is about 7.5 inches deep and can handle a small collapsible umbrella. The left panel has a smaller zippered pocket that is about the size of an iPhone (as long as your case isn't too big), with a grommet large enough that the plug for your ear buds can go through it. That pocket is about 6 inches long with the zipper running vertically nearly full length. The back panel of the bag has an open top pocket that runs the full length and width of the bag, secured by a 2.5 inch hook and loop closure.

Lift the flap and there is another zippered pocket on the outside of the front panel. Again it runs almost full width, and is about 5 inches deep. On the inside of the front panel there is an organizer with an open top pocket, three credit card slots and two pen sleeves. The inside of the back panel has another zippered pocket about 8 inches wide and 5 inches deep.

Ignore Amazon's dimensions for this bag. Actually it is 15 inches top to bottom, 11 inches wide and 4 inches deep. It can swallow my 13 inch HP laptop and its neoprene sleeve with lots of room to spare. You can put more in this bag than you'll want to carry.

My only complaint is with the flap's closure "buckles". They're really not buckles, just decoration. Beneath them are two magnetic buttons that hold the flap closed. When engaged, they seem to be strong enough. But they are somewhat of a pain to get properly positioned.

OK, all in all it's a great bag. Well-built and versatile, it is refined yet tough enough for a construction worker. This isn't your typical "Man Bag". It will handle everything you need to carry plus your laptop and lunch, and it'll look good doing it. But this one's going back. It's simply too big for my needs. Instead I'm getting its little brother, the "Day Bag" (10x8x4). Can't wait.
55 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2011
I loved this item as soon as it arrived. There were no reviews for it
on Amazon or anywhere, and I was somewhat reluctant to get something without reviews.
The bag is great nevertheless. I have had it for over three months now and is still in great shape.
It was larger than I thought, and is very spacy inside.
The zippers are sturdy, and the leatherette straps are tough.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2011
The design of this bag is ideal. It has lots of compartments, cleverly placed, which have brought order out of my chaos. Only had it a week, so can't weigh in on durability of the construction, but it seems sturdy enough, with heavy-duty cotton reinforced by leather and big, no-nonsense zippers. So far, so good with the brand-new bag.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2012
I bought this bag for my boyfriend for his birthday, who wanted to upgrade from a backpack into something adult, but not uptight. He was also looking for something classic and casual at the same time. I shopped for weeks comparing on bags before deciding on this one. My boyfriend absolutely loves it. Here's why:

- The canvas is strong but soft.
- It has leather details and strap.
- The buckles aren't feminine, and aren't even functional, so they always look good.
- The zipper pulls are brushed and say "Kenneth Cole"
- The bag is small on the outside, and deceptively huge on the inside
- It has plenty of pockets
- It has a handle at the top, which he found he uses alot.

He cut off one zipper pull, from the front of the bag, because it made alot of noise when he'd walk. (I agreed with the decision to cut that pull!) He tells me on a regular basis how happy he is with the bag. It doesn't look girly at all. It's perfect.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
I just received this today, so these are first impressions, I'll update this review in a few weeks.

I just moved and I'm walking about a mile from my house to the train every morning and another mile back every evening, so I was looking for a bag that (1) was smaller and lighter than my backpack, (2) had a single shoulder strap instead of a backpack (I'm assuming it won't wrinkle a dress shirt as much), and (3) was still big enough to accommodate my 14" work laptop. Also, for an "unstructured" (meaning not rigid) bag like this I'm a fan of the taller, narrower design because it's less susceptible to collapsing in on itself when you fill it with random stuff.

1. It's much smaller than my backpack, but it's definitely NOT small: it's more than big enough for my personal 15.6" laptop and my 14" work laptop simultaneously, with more stuff.
2. It's lighter than my backpack, but not that much: at a guess, maybe the bag weighs 1.5lbs.
3. The single shoulder strap doesn't have a pad, but it's a good 2inches wide: I don't think it will stress my shoulder unless I really load up the bag.
4. There are several small to very small compartments around the bag, as well as a little organizer on the inside wall of the main compartment for cards and pens/pencils (no hook for a key ring). There is a pocket on one side of the bag, reminiscent of what you see on backpacks for water bottles, but this pocket is far too small for a water bottle; the only place you could put one is in the main compartment under the flap, which is simply one open compartment with no dividers (this is the compartment that's big enough for both of my laptops).
5. There is absolutely zero padding anywhere, I'm buying sleeves for my laptops.

All in all, I got about what I expected. I really tried to find something slightly smaller, but it seems impossible (at least for a reasonable price): everything I looked at was this size or bigger, or enough smaller that squeezing the 14" laptop in was really questionable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2015
Great looking vertical messenger bag that fits my style and my MacBook Pro Retina 15". Ordered with the $5 add-on neoprene case "BUILT Neoprene Slim Sleeve for 15-inch MacBook Pro, Black ". Plenty of room for a couple extra notepads and charger and external hard drive. Photos show the neoprene case (not included with the bag). In the photos the Mac is wearing a Mossio Rubberized case "Mosiso - Rubberized See Through Hard Shell Snap On Hard Case Cover for Apple MacBook Pro 15.4" with Retina Display Model: A1398 (NEWEST VERSION with NO CD-COM Drive) 15-Inch (Black)"
review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
The picture does this bag no justice... I wasnt sure how good it would be but the leather is soft the strap is sturdy the inside print is fab. it has so many pockets and compartments it will make a wonderful gift to anyone with a laptop and more stuff to carry.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2015
I have had this bag for the last 6 months and have used it on a few occasions for travel. It has a good number of convenient pockets and a few not so useful ones as well. There is an umbrella/bottle holder on one side that upon use distorts the inside pockets of the bag and on the other side you have a tiny zipper pocket that may hold headphones or something.

The main pocket is spacious and the outside flap has a useful and sturdy pocket as well. The back has a rather large flap that closes with Velcro. In all, it easily carries all that I need and has a great design.

Issue I have with it is the stitching on the inside of the bag. While the outside is a tough denim material, the inside is a flimsy fabric with seams that tear off. On the second use the inside zipper ripped completely off the bag. I am not referring to the metal tab, but the entire zipper itself.

Given the many options for bags I went this route in hopes that a named brand would hold up over time. Sadly, this was not the case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2012
Got this messenger bag for my boyfriend and he really likes it. He uses the bag for his 14 inch laptop which fits perfectly. The bag still had space to fit a little lunch box. I almost returned the bag because the bag had a disclaimer about California's Proposition 65 but I decided not to. Hopefully, the bag doesn't cause any toxic effects. Great bag though.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2014
At the GOTO Amsterdam conference in 2013 I got a freebie vertical duffel pretty much identically sized to this one. I've been using it as a murse to walk around the town and especially to fly with. It works great. But, the freebie lacked pockets for things like wallet, phone, charger, passport, etc., which I wanted for the travel bit.

So I got this one because it looked like it was exactly what I needed (the only additional criterion being the extra pockets to put smaller stuff in for easy access as well as security). Not to mention, the freebie will no doubt give out soon.

This bag is *almost* perfect for what I wanted it for.

* Has a front zipper which I put my phone and wallet in (X-rays, around town, and the plane, in the car, etc).
* The back pocket is great for papers and a couple magazines.
* A couple internal and side pockets for misc. like business cards, receipts, chapstick, etc. Definitely minimal ones - that way it stays flattish.
* Has a reasonable-sized inside main cavity - I can put my over-the-ear headphones in their case; airplane pillow; Macbook Air charger; a point-and-shoot camera; a couple wadded up tote bags; a jacket, etc., maybe a glass that I just had to have from that one bar I was at; AND my Macbook Air. All at once. Really.
* I like the fact it doesn't have that extra padded thingy on the shoulder strap which you have to constantly adjust to make it be exactly where your shoulder is. Instead, the whole strap is sturdy and non-damaging-to-ones-shoulder.

Only Problem Is:

It doesn't have a dedicated laptop compartment. If it had either an internal padded laptop compartment for my Air (which would also do for iPads etc) or an external one with a zip (so that you could put the laptop in and out without disturbing the internal cavity at all) it would be The Perfect. Alas, it doesn't. So I put my laptop in the main compartment in a neoprene case and all is well. Not a big problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.