Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: New Balance Men's MW410 Health Walking Shoe,Black,7 D US
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 23, 2010
I bought these for my son, for school. We know very well already how comfortable and durable New Balance Shoes are. Instead of trying some other brand (we just tried another one, and it was a mistake!), we purchased these nice and sturdy shoes. Another member of the family has a pair of shoes exactly like these, except for the size, and they are good enough after more than a year of rough wear! True to size.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2011
I am very impressed with my purchase. These shoes are ULTRA comfortable, and I am very pleased. And I can't believe how light they are! Matter of fact, when the delivery arrived, I was wondering if they forgot to put the shoes in! I've had numerous pairs of New Balance shoes because of them being one of the very few that provide different widths, and these rank up there with the best I've had. All in all, a very happy customer.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2010
I've had this last pair two months and i'm happy with them. Very comfortable. Some days i spend most of the time standing and these seem to be "easy to wear". I've been buying something similar to these from New Balance for years, and they seem to be the best value around: that is, a comfortable shoe that holds-up to wear, that is very affordable.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2011
Having trouble deciding how many stars to give because if it weren't for a couple quirks with the orders I received, this would be a good shoe for the price.

I normally wear 9D and when I received these from Amazon they run extremely narrow and I had to return them (at my cost per Amazon policy on sizing) and order the 9 4E (aka 9eeee aka 9 "Wide").

When I received the 9 EEEE pair, they fit much better, but the laces on one of the shoes is too short to lace all the way to the top hole.

Also, the sole pads easily pop out of the shoe when simply removing the shoes sometimes.

After the hassle and expense of two returns / exchanges already I'm just going to bit the bullet and buy my own laces and deal with the sole issue.

It would seem that (as others has implied) that Amazon is shipping New Balance's "rejects" from the production line.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2012
EXCELLENT! If I could give this model a 10 star, I would! I don't get the neg reviews; guess it shows how we all are different. As far as fit, one of the best ever for me anyways! As far as material, my pair has good and really thick leather, they seem durable to me but of course time will tell but I don't foresee any issues. I almost didn't buy this pair due to the neg ratings here but boy, am I glad I did and another reason I wanted to voice and support this model and very highly at that, the fit it is one of the best ever in regards to New Balance. I also agree with the person that stated great for feet problems. I've been having some issues as of late and this particular model is a god send for sure! It is stable, supportive and the fit again is outrageous and relieves the issues I have been encountering, yet again, we all are different. If you're looking for say a mushy shoe, soft sole etc., this is not the model, it's slightly firm and very supportive for a "neutral" formatted shoe, however not nearly as stiff as say the 577 model series, but to be honest, even though this model is a lower priced model, for me, it's much better in comparison, more comfortable and a much better fit, but then again, we're all different. However considering the ratings here on this model, I felt it my duty to give my voice on the positive side, in my opinion, this is one of the best fitting New Balance models ever and again, it's more of a neutral supportive shoe and not a Mushy sole typed shoe like the 547 and that area and also remember it's a leather shoe and thus not going to breathe like a light netted running shoe etc., but however would make a great winter shoe in that reflection. It breathes well enough but still it's a leather shoe. Overall: this one gets a 5 star + from me!! Great Job, Love it!

UPDATE: I'm still amazed with this particular model and also think I may have figured out why the mixed reviews on this model as well. Compared to the SL-2 Last of its close cousins, the 576, 577 and the 927 in which I also have, but don't have the SL-2 - 811 model, or the 607 postal shoe model but have that one coming Monday, however compared to the models I have, the 410's main difference here, as far as overall fit anyways, is the lower instep, lower mid-foot and also lower height toe box, in comparison to its close SL-2 cousins. I also have other SL-2 models, but these walking shoe models are more closely related to the 410's, thus why I use them for comparison. They don't rank as close to say the 574, 501, 525 etc., they are a different group, at least in my opinion. However compared to the 576, 577 and 927, the toe box, mid-foot and instep are lower! The mid-foot on the 410 model seems a tad narrower as well, thus I can really feel the arch support, thus where say the 576, I can't feel as well as same as the 927 model but the 927 has more than the 576, 577 it seems, the ole 927 actually gets to me after a while, I think it's the material they use in that particular model on the insole, but that's beside the point, I think, Hehe

The 410, if you get along with the lower profile, has a bit less support than the other three models, but the support is almost a bit to much for me in the other models anyway and I am lightweight and find the 410 about perfect for me, but if you're on the heavier side and need more sole support, the other models might be worth checking in comparison and also if you have a higher instep, higher toe height and also mid-foot height.

The 410 is also lighter in weight than it's close cousins and also more flexible in its sole design. It is however still an SL-2 last creation, BUT again, appears to have a lower profile all the way around than it's distant close model relatives. I think this is WHY this model gets such mixed reviews. This model fits my foot profile perfectly, yet if one has high mid-foot and toe height, this model will seem a bit off to them, at least compared to the other closely knitted SL-2 Last models. I hope this info helps.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2011
I have wide feet, so I buy 4E shoes. And they fit correctly. But these New Balances have blowouts (seams that have fallen apart) on both feet, near the ball of my foot. Definitely not the durable construction they used to be. I've worn them half-time for three months. You'd think a shoe would last a little longer than that.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2011
I know I tend to be hard on athletic shoes, but this was a joke. There were cheap, by today's standards. I guess you get what you pay for. I really expected more from New Balance. I have owned others that lasted for years. These shoes lasted a only a few months before the rubber around the heal area was degraded to the point that the shoes hurt to wear them. I don't think I ever had that happen on a pair of shoes before, never within two months use at least.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
And these shoes worked well for me for a fair amount of time, but like all shoes these days just plain wear out on me in the end. Its always the inside padding that goes on me. So, buy these expecting to get 6 months to a year out of them and then needing to replace them again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2012
I am normally a white NB cross-trainer customer, but I saw these black walking shoes and decided to give them a shot. They are like all the good New Balance products, which when sized properly and worn correctly, are like wearing no shoes at all - they just feel like they are an extension of your foot. These black walking shoes are no exception - they are comfortable as all git out!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2011
I have to agree with a lot of the other feedbacks submitted concerning the size changes. I have a pair, actually 2, of New Balance shoes that I have been wearing for years. I ordered this pair new and they aren't sized the same. I wore them enough so that I couldn't return them, thinking that with some use they would lighten up. They have but not totally enough. I have to use orthotics in my shoes and they can't work with these shoes, too tight.
On the plus side, I can wear them comfortably for a few hours so will use these for occasions when I need to be a little dressed-up. (They are black)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.