Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for the Winter Martha Stewart American Made Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Outdoor Deals on HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
on March 24, 2011
I have reviewed this product before. Rushed to submit a review about a week after owning it. But its been about 2 years later. The coating on the handle has chipped away. it even leaves black flakey junk on my hand when I carry it (which is EVERYDAY in the hot Floridian sun)...but I absolutely LOVE this brellie! Its the real deal! Serious sun protection! Its a bit pricey for a brellie but I full recommend this. It has stood up to winds (high as gale force in Florida!) and to rain storms (yup---Florida) and blistering sahara sun (----ugh huh---Florida) so do yourself a favour. Protect your skin. Preserve your beauty! Keep squinty frown lines away and GET ONE!

Update. June 23. 2015.....
See photo attached taken 3 mins ago. This umbrella is STILL GOING STRONG. Am curious as to the sun protective factor at this stage years down the line but I am STILL kept very cool under this umbrella in the sun AND sheltered perfectly in the rain!😎
review image
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on July 10, 2014
I REALLY wanted to be impressed and love this thing.

IF this umbrella is SPF 50 then good, but I can hardly tell. What I *expected* (keep in mind I am writing the review after just receiving the umbrella and without going back to re-read the product info to see what I missed) was a very opaque silver fabric, very reflective (not shiny, but *solid*ly reflective..) and green underneath as described. It came well-ish packaged and complete. Opened it up outside (I work in Saudi Arabia so took one of the girls with me to check it out) and we stood under.

No noticeable temperature difference aside from less direct sun (with a short test use) but what surprised me hugely was that I could SEE the sun through the fabric. Yes, yes I know, it's only "SPF 50", it doesn't say solid or impermeable, but the expectation I had from descriptions (and what I wanted) etc was not only SPF protection, but literally a sun reflecting/deflecting SCREEN from the sun. I wanted it to be dark/strong shade under the canopy. It's not. The canopy fabric is thin, translucent - the sun still shines super bright through the fabric, so even if it's SPF 50, it's really not blocked/shady and therefore less cool than advertised (whether that's literal or psychological, doesn't matter).

Surely it's highly rated on the market, but my expectations weren't met (nobodies fault, maybe I just need to make my own shade) so not happy to have spend such a ridiculous amount of money on this.

I rated 2 (don't like) instead of 3 (it's okay) because it's NOT okay to spend this much money on something and have it be so technically/clinically underwhelming. I could have bought equal SUN-light protection at Walmart, and had more shade from the sun *and been cooler*.

If I use it more the next week or two and realize it performs better than I noticed initially, I'll be sure to come back and revise my review. If not, I'd rather get $30 of my money back, and keep it for rain.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
on February 28, 2012
I have lived in Texas my whole life. 2011 was hot. Really hot.
I needed something so I could continue to enjoy doing things outdoors without having a sun stroke.
I think this umbrella reduced the heat significantly and certainly cut the harmful UV.
It is in my car at all times now and I use it even when it is not scorching hot.
Not heavy, well made and vented.
Everyone should have one!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on June 11, 2012
This is a parasol designed to protect skin and eyes from the sun. It is heavy duty and not a fashion statement.

I jokingly refer to the silver material as "duct tape". In reality it is not ugly, but certainly not pretty either.

The parasol is effective. The vent that allows air to circulate and cool is a feature that may be unique.

I will not be without a parasol. A few times I have used it to discourage a strange dog on the loose. It was just enough to discourage a German shepard from bothering my poodle. I have also used my parasol as a "sneeze guard". If somenone coughs on the street, I use the parasol as a shield. It might even discourage a mugger. Who wants to be bashed with this when it has a pointed end?

It is well worth the price. I was able to bring it on an airplane as it would not fit in my luggage.

I would certainly purchase this product again. Update: Two years of daily use and it is still intact. If I had used a protective sleeve when storing it, this parasol would still be perfect.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on May 27, 2011
The Coolibar umbrella was just as I expected it to be since I had been under one before I ordered it. It feels 10-15 degrees cooler than an ordinary umbrella in the hot sun of Florida. A good value.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on April 12, 2015
First and foremost, the umbrella featured here has an outside that is silver, not white like what's implied in the pictures. They didn't hide this fact, but the sample picture in terms of outside color is deceptive. In saying that, the silver color is more similar to a "silky duct tape" color, which as presented is tolerable and pleasing to look at. Coolibar should consider putting a floral design on the outside to give it a hip look. People will notice the color from a distance, however where I live they'll notice someone carrying an umbrella around during the day regardless. The inside is a dark green color that resembles camping gear. It's actually a very beautiful green. It also has some white netting underneath that acts as ventilation for airflow. I imagine this is to prevent buckling and inverting. Very neat.

My beautiful girlfriend has Lupus, and with the upcoming summer the increase in sunlight is the major factor in triggering her Lupus flare ups. Because she shouldn't have to put on sunscreen every single day, I purchased this sun umbrella as a way to prevent flare ups and the pain associated with it. I often felt helpless as she would tire from the pain, and in knowing there was nothing I could do it really bothered me.

Since our purchase of this umbrella, she is better outside than ever before. People say we look cute together walking around with the umbrella, and she absolutely loves it. In direct sunlight, some people have taken shelter with us because of how well it protects against the sun. It's really like sitting under a tree's shadow.

Although I originally thought the outside of this umbrella was a different color, I am thoroughly pleased with my purchase and every aspect of this product.

Thank you for helping us improve our lives.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on August 15, 2013
This works as expected. You cannot see the sun shining through. People look at you weird when you use the umbrella in sunny weather but I'd rather stay cool and melanoma free!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on July 6, 2013
I had been looking to buy this for a couple of years, but it was always sold out (the small travel size was only available, and I wanted the bigger one). This umbrella has made a big difference in my life. I'm not a big fan of the sun in general, and the sun becomes especially oppressive when I take my daily lunch break walk. I walk about 2.5 miles along the water and there isn't much shade. I was tired of coming back to work completely sweaty and being unevenly colored (dark arms, sun marks on my face around my sunglasses...not attractive).

It holds up well in the wind and is very sturdy. It is a bit big for casual use, though. I just ordered a travel-sized version of a similar brand so that I can have options in terms of size, since sometimes when I go for my walk, I'm unsure whether to take it or not if the sun doesn't look that bright that day, and a smaller size would be good for those days out of convenience. This is the best umbrella ever. I have also used it in the pouring rain and it offers a lot of protection because of its size.

Get this umbrella! You will be singing its praises too!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on November 10, 2013
I wish they made one with flowers so I could look a little more stylish. :) It's great protection. I always carry an umbrella for the sun. I live in Florida and I don't need to look like alligator lady.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on April 26, 2013
From the effectively ergonomic handle to the smooth auto-release to the heft of the material, this umbrella is well worth the cost.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.