Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pearl iZUMi Men's Attack Cycling Short,Black,Medium
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 24, 2011
I just got these shorts and am very disappointed. I had a pair of attack shorts I got a few years ago and love them. They got threadbare in the back, so, I figured I'd like the new one. Note: I also have the Pearl Izumi pro shorts and like them. One problem with the new attack shorts is they don't stretch as well as the earlier version. I checked the tag and noticed they reduced the spandex % and increased the nylon %. Also, the leg grippers don't work very well, not nearly as well as the earlier model. The fabric also feels thin and cheap. I just rode 30 miles in them hoping I would like they way they actually work on the bike, but, nope. The padding (they changed that too, to some cheap foam stuff) doesn't work very well and after 20 miles i was getting sore. My old model of attack shorts had padding very similar to my pro shorts. Due to the leg grippers not gripping very well and the fabric not stretching very well the legs rode up about 3 inches exposing a big un tanned band. I kept pulling the shorts down but they kept riding up.

So, they made the material cheaper, the grippers cheaper, the padding cheaper and they definitely are a sub par pair of shorts. I need to send them back. Buyers beware.

Pearl Izumi, you must be more concerned about your profits than customer satisfaction. Definitely the last pair of these I'll buy.
33 comments| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2010
The Pearl iZUMi Men's Attack Cycling Shorts are fabulously comfortable. I bicycle 3 to 5 days a week to work on a mountain bike outfitted with slick road tires. The commute is about 8 miles each way, so not a major trip. However, in the sweltering hot weather here in New Jersey, it's very painful without them.

THIGHS
------------
I was worried about the small-looking legs when they first showed up. Even with my thick thighs, though, they fit like a glove. On the inside of each leg is a silicone leg gripper. I am pretty hirsute, so I expected to feel my hair being pulled about, but I didn't notice a thing. Amazing engineering.

WAIST
------------
I am 5'7", 155 pounds, with a 31"-32" waist. I bought medium-sized shorts, and they fit just right. Although I considered getting a bib, because I was concerned about sizing, I am glad I did not. Even if you have a bit of extra flesh around your mid-section (and who doesn't?), it has a drawstring, so it should not be uncomfortable.

FRONT
------------
The shorts have a very low profile front. I swim in the mornings with Speedos, and I would say these shorts fit a lot better and show much less. I am quite comfortable walking around in them.

INSIDE
------------
The padding is incredible. I don't feel a thing. I am sure if I rode for another hour or two I would notice something. No shorts are perfect. These are probably about as comfortable as you can get, though. Somehow, the pad always seems to be in the right place.

MOISTURE
------------
The shorts wick the moisture away pretty well while I am riding. I put some regular shorts over them after I got to work the first day I wore them, instead of changing into underwear, and that was a mistake. I basically sat around marinating in my sweat for a few hours. There certainly was some chafing on the way home! I guess these really are made for riding, and as long as they are allowed to breathe, you should be fine.

SUMMARY
------------
The shorts are not cheap, but they feel like a second skin, and perform wonderfully while you are riding. In my opinion, they are worth every penny. The cost was somewhat mitigated when I purchased them by the free shipping (with Amazon Prime) and free returns (roll over your size to see what is available). You could pay a little less for other models or other brands. Why would you, though? I cherish my chances to ride, and I figure it is worth it to protect my bum.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2010
I was looking for well-padded shorts, and these definitely fit the bill. They have lots of padding in the right places, but not so much that the bulk gets in the way. I would have given these 5 stars if the sizing were correct, but as other reviewers have noted, they very definitely run small. Medium was supposed to fit waist size 32-34. All my 32" pants are a very loose fit, but these Medium shorts just barely fit. I would definitely advise going up a size from whatever you normally wear.
22 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2011
I prefer the 6.5" inseam of the Pearl Tri Short than the 9" inseam of the Attack. But, I prefer the thicker padding of the Attack, especially on the sit bone area. I wear a medium and find the waist lower on the Attack, just above the hip socket, where the Tri sits an inch higher. No biggie issues just points for you to consider. All-in-all, the Attack's are pretty good for the $50 buck Amazon price, retail is $75.
============================
10/30/2011 Update

The chamois on these were great for the first dozen or so washes then it has started to break down. I find sit bone harshness within 7 miles until numbness sets in which tells me the padding is deteriorating. I can no longer ride continuous for more than 15 miles then I must pullover and dismount so my butt gets it feeling back. Also, they now have a tendency to ride a tad bit lower at the waist after a few miles. They will reside in the garage to be used with my trainer not on the road. I have down rated these shorts to 3*'s. Bike clothing is such a rip off.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2011
For the price point, these shorts can't be beat! I preferred these over the Elites because of the material and also the seams. These just felt more natural on me. Although the Elites have a thinner and more stretchable material, the material on these shorts felt more comfortable. The Elites also has seams that just felt uncomfortable to me like they run along the wrong areas that annoy me. This could very well be personal preference.

I am 5'11", 190lbs, 32 waist, with rather large thighs. The large fits me perfectly. The mediums were too snug where it made me a little uncomfortable.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2012
These shorts are a wonderful value. Comfortable, non-restrictive, everything I was looking for in a bike short. I was concerned that the little rubber nubbins on the legs wouldn't do their job, they were so small and non-intrusive, but I have been proven wrong. These shorts are super comfortable!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2011
These shorts cost from $70 to as much as $100 at the local shops; at 49.99, I was very pleased. Great padding, excellent fit and comfort. I would definitely buy another pair.

For those who don't know, or who are new to wearing padded bike shorts: these are meant to be worn without underwear... I rode off and on for several years with jockey shorts underneath bike shorts, and the chafing I suffered after long rides ceased to be an issue after I followed the advice from other riders to "lose the drawers".
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2011
I am 5'9" tall, weigh 185lbs with a 36-37 inch waist so I had to purchase an extra large size(the large was much too tight). As a result the pant legs are a little bit too long but they do not ride up. The padding is a little thinner than I am used to but adequate. The only real problem I have with the pants is that they don't slide as easily on my saddle as my old Reebok gel pants slid. These pants can not be put in a dryer!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2015
Very comfortable for long rides. True to size. Quality construction. Recommended these to friends. Padding could be less (my personal preference), but most will find it just right. You get what you pay for with cycling shorts. If you want quality,you will buy Pearl Izumi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
Very comfortable, easy to maintain, and durable shorts. Not much else to say... they fit (go to a bike shop or sporting store to see what fits you the best). They have a great seat, other shorts didn't seem to have a sturdy cushion (i guess, i don't know how to describe that...), but these are just right, they are springy and feel substantive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.