Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 10, 2012
I really like the look of this bag, the leather is nice and the studding is noticable, but not overpowering like some other bags I have seen.
The bag is really big, holds everything I could possibly need (even my lunch when I carry it into work). The top opens very wide making it easy to root around for small things that always wind up on the bottom.
There are 2 things I dont love about this purse:
The first is that it's very big, but only has one inside pocket, more inside pockets would make it easier to organize the smaller things that are harder to find (as mentioned above).
The second thing is that its really heavy. Even with a small amount of stuff in there (wallet, cell, keys and a few stray items) it's heavy. I can't imagine how heavy it would be if i loaded it up with everything it could hold with its size.
Overall its a very nice purse, good quality, just wanted people to be aware of the weight since it was surprisingly heavy to me when I first started to use it.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
June 2013: This is an absolutely lovely bag, and it broke my heart to return it. There were two reason I didn't keep it, one, it has no outside pockets, and only 1 small inside pocket. I'm an organizer, and need pockets in my bags so this didn't work for me. I tried a pocket organizer inside, but it just didn't work. The bag is also very big, I'm only 5' tall and it somewhat overwhelmed me. I like big bags, and had this bag been only $100 instead of $300, I probably would have kept it and found a way to make it work. However I'm afraid it would have ended up in closet and not used. It's also heavy empty compared to my other bags, and once I loaded it up, it was just too heavy for every day use. The smell of the leather was intoxicating and made me want to keep it all the more. The leather is soft and supple, if you can do without pockets and you are a taller woman, you will love this bag.

November 2013: The memory of this beautiful bag has haunted me since I returned it. I took a chance and re-purchased the bag in the Tan color. I have added a Purseket organizer inside, with the purseket pockets facing OUT rather than IN. I have a bulky wallet, ipad and fairly large cosmetic case in the center, and the organizer pockets holding cell phone, ipod nano/headphones, notepad, pens, wine opener and some other small things. Do I miss outside pockets? Yes, but the way the bag is designed doesn't lend itself to outside pockets. Is it optimal? Probably not, but it does work and the bag is so beautiful it's just worth it. Plus, I got it with a 25% discount from Amazon. All I can say is, give it a try with an organizer inside, it might work for you too! I also think the weight of the tan leather might be a smidgen less than the Maple color, but I could just be imagining it.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
Love love love this bag - I'm six feet and two hundred pounds and this bag hangs on me perfectly, as does it hang perfectly on my 5'4" hundred pound BFF, thought it might be a bit heavy for her. It fits everything, the top opens nice and wide so you can see everything all mixed around together. The straps are the perfect length and very sturdy, which is why the Cameron bag got returned and this one was kept.

I bought it for traveling, as I travel extensively for my job, but it's instantly become my everyday purse and I get complimented on it everywhere I go. Plus it smells like a saddle when it gets warm, so there's that. Also, it does scratch some, most leather purses do, but not nearly as badly as many of my former leather bags.

If your a glamazon, like me, you will adore this purse, and if not, you will probably still like it a whole lot.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I like this leather purse/tote quite a bit for travel and places where I need to carry a lot more than my normal sized purse. I'm a larger woman (5'10") and this purse is the perfect size for my frame. It doesn't look big or bulky and the loops are comfortable when wearing on my shoulder. I agree with the other reviewers that it could use more interior pockets, but my solution for that was to carry a smaller crossbody purse inside for all my smaller items and to act as a wallet. I can fit my small crossbody, a sweater, my camera, phone, snacks and lots of other odds and ends comfortably inside. It's great for travel to stow under the airline seatback in front of you - and all the more convenient with the full top zipper (which a lot of larger purses do not have). The leather is extremely high quality and I did not find the weight of the purse to be an issue, even when fully loaded. Another great feature is that this can double as a laptop/tablet/ultrabook carrier - I just slip it right in and go - the width is sufficient for several laptop models I own.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
This bag is very well made and constructed, worth every penny. I love that its big and only has the one pocket, which is plenty sufficient for me. I'm a taller woman (5'8") -- I'm not sure this bag would work on someone more petite. Otherwise, though, its as perfect as a bag can be. My only problem is I never want to use any of my other bags. I anticipate this bag will last for many years to come. I've been buying Frye products for 40 years and have never been disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
I received this handbag in the grey colour today. Was able to take advantage of the Black Friday sale and I am very glad I did. I have been looking at Frye handbags for a long time but didn't want to spend the money. I had heard that Frye handbags were constructed with the best leather and made to last (and I'm sure get better with usage and time). The grey colour is not like the picture depicts---it is a dark grey. If that is what you are looking for, you will not be disappointed. It is a very beautiful dark grey and for those of us who tend to carry wayyyyy too many black purses, it is just that little bit different without being too bright. It is not heavy (at least to me) as other reviews have said. As for pockets, I do like lots of pockets myself but this is not a problem if you use an organizer insert. Really doesn't matter at all! The shoulder strap on this purse is long enough that i would be comfortable with a coat and with the handles being what they are, it is very comfortable over the shoulder. The leather smells (and feels) so nice that you really know you're carrying a quality handbag. If you are on the fence about this bag, in grey or any other colour, dont hesitate, you won't be disappointed. It is big enough to carry a lot if you need to but if you choose not to fill it, it hangs just beautifully and you will have the extra space if you need it from time to time. GO FOR IT, PICK THIS PURSE UP! YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
I love it. I have lots of Frye boots and am spoiled by the quality. I was hesitant because of the price, but the bag is top notch and gorgeous. The canvas lining is thick and tough. The leather is soft and beautiful--it even smells wonderful. Highly recommend.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2010
Very nice slouchy bag (I mean if folds over when set down). Hangs fabulously on the shoulder. It also holds all my stuff!
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2016
Reviewers noted that this bag is heavy, and it is. But that's the beauty of it -- you're holding real, saddle-quality, old-style leather. The kind serious leather specialist like Frye use. I absolutely love it. And although the leather is substantial, it's wonderfully soft and pliable. It sort of puddles when you set it down. (Nothing stiff or "saddle-like" about it.) The color is really what I would call a taupe -- gray with hints of tan. To me, it's the ultimate neutral. One reviewer noted that the magnetic snaps didn't hold, and that's true. Frye should work on that. But these snaps are not essential -- they simply hold the sides of the purse in a tidy position. (A nice "extra" if they worked.) Like most premium purses, this one comes with a soft flannel bag for storage. What a treat when you open the bag and are greeted with unmistakable aroma a great-quality leather. I hope that scent lasts forever!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2013
I purchased this for my wife when it was on sale. At first she was doubtful it was real leather, but now after using the bag for several weeks, she is absolutely in love with this bag. She loves the large opening and how the leather is softening as she uses it more and more. It is actually more charcoal in color than black. She would now definitely highly recommend this Frye Stud Shoulder bag. In fact she just purchased the chocolate one this morning, as it was on sale for $173.00 on a Black Friday special. Hard to beat Amazon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.