Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 13, 2010
This is a great little adapter. It gets pretty good reception throughout my apartment and in hotels that I've been in. I haven't really seen how far it will go but where I've gone it's been perfect. The d-link software is pretty seamless, and very unobtrusive. All you see is the little taskbar icon pop up when you boot, not some huge splash screen like the belkin I had previously.

On the downside, while at Origins game fair there was a public 'g' network that it could not connect to. Once I removed it and used my laptop's native 'g' connection I connected with no troubles. The d-link just wasn't having it. Everywhere else I've been it connecting quickly with no issues though. The other downside is that after using it a while it gets pretty hot to the touch. Doesn't affect it's performance, just something I noticed.

Pros: Tiny, Unobtrusive software, Good range
Cons: It gets hot, Sometimes has trouble with non 'n' networks
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2010
This wireless N adapter is small enough not to get in your way when using your computer.It fits snug in the USB port.Has a blinking Blue light,that may bother some people but I don't mind it.Only problem is it heats up and gets really hot, especially the part the goes in the USB. Gets good speed and fast installation.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2013
This product works as advertised, but can be somewhat annoying when used on a Windows machine. On a linux they work immediately upon being plugged in, but on Windows they need compatible drivers to operate, which can be annoying to download if your given computer has no internet connection in the first place.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2011
Great little device for my spare desktop computer without wireless capabilities. Besides the great price, I do like that I have great reception considering my wireless router was 2 rooms away, it has a small footprint, recognizes my wireless printer and is fast. Now my experience trying to load the drivers and software. Now, majority of you have Windows 7 out there so installation is or will be easy, but for those that have Windows Vista like this Dlink went on, you may experience some major problems. I followed the instructions deligently, but the darn thing won't work. I mean it says "device is working properly", but will not connect to the internet at all, it just flashes steadily. I was fed up with the Dlink support calls all going to foreign countries where most of them I couldn't understand or they couldn't understand English very well. I was ready to ship the little #$*@^# back to Amazon. For some reason Vista limits Administration protocols and doesn't load the necessary drivers properly. However, before returning the Dlink back for a refund, try this. 1)Uninstall the drivers and the software for the Dlink, 2) re-boot your computer to safe mode by clicking the "F8" key repeatedly when the screen turns dark (you'll know when you're in safe mode because it'll say so), 3) Re-install the software driver CD and follow the instructions again (there are no Adminstration protocols/restrictions in "Safe Mode"), 4) Remove your CD and re-boot the computer normally and it should now work normally. What took me hours to figure out will take some of you 5 minutes, try it. Other than that I love the fact that I can print in another room wirelessly, search the internet wirelessly and I don't need to see a cable running throughout the hallway to access the router. It works great!
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2010
I bought this item when my internal wireless card died. I used it for my HP tx1000z laptop and works perfectly fine. The HP tx1000z's motherboard is well known to fry the internal wireless card but HP denies this claim. I love the small size and can leave it on my laptop all the time.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
Well, this does not work for me. It seems the product is not supported on Windows 10, according to the D-Link Technical Support web site (http://support.dlink.com/FAQView.aspx?f=MRBldvYIZ9JH35rXze0xbQ%3D%3D). Windows won't even run the the CD that came with the product for installing the drivers because the security certificate is expired and has been revoked. Downloads of drivers don't work either. I was able to get connected to a wifi network, but could not reach anything once connected. Pings would sporadically work, but perhaps only about 1% of the time. The device I received was DWA-131 H/W Ver E1, F/W Ver 5.00. Sending it back for a refund.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The D-Link DWA-131 Wireless USB adapter has generally worked very well for connecting an older desktop of mine to my wireless network. Installation was generally easy even on my Windows XP system, and it is physically extremely small and unobtrusive. While I truthfully say that setup was straightforward, the DWA-131 does have an annoying recurring issue that may be caused by my older machine or OS, but could also be an issue with the device or its software. On occasion (maybe 20% of the time) when the computer is started up from a cold state the network doesn't recognize the computer. At first I started messing with settings, etc., but found a fix that has worked every time for me: simply unplug the D-Link and reseat it in the USB port. After waiting maybe 15 seconds it has always worked correctly. I am not a computer savant, so I really don't know the root cause of the issue, but I don't consider it a huge deal, though without that recurring fault I would have given it five stars.

The D-Link DWA-131 is a very affordable and generally effective solution to adding wireless computer capability simply and easily. Despite the occasional annoyance at computer startup, I recommend this product for home use.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2015
The wireless on my 2008 macbook quit working unexpectedly, I could not figure out how to get it back so i purchased this D Link wireless adapter. The unit itself is very small, about the size of a thumbnail and does not hinder use of the computer at all. I went online and was able to find the driver information to download pretty easily with a quick google search. The d link is a better known brand and there is more support out there than the no name imitators. Once you have everything installed there is a pop up box that displays every time you turn your computer on and you simply hit the connect button. I feel this network adapter gave me speeds similar to what the built in network had before it stopped working.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2014
I get these for WDLIVE TV use for people to cheap to run hardline ethernet to the WD. Only bad thing is the super bright blue LED on this thing, definitely need to stick these in the back port out of sight, will drive you berserk if it is on the side port.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
I was looking for a USB adapter and by chance someone had written in their review it works with openSuse without having to look for the wireless driver. Its true, it works with openSuse 12.x, Linux Mint 14, Kubuntu and Ubuntu.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 20 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.