Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 6, 2011
when i first thought about purchasing a phone from amazon i was, to say the least, skeptical. with all the amazon phone buying horror stories going around i felt as if this could easily happen to me as well. Looking for an older model bb new was the easy part but finding the best seller was the hard part. let me tell you Ebargain100 is 100% legit. i purchased this curve on Dec 1st and within 3 days with regular shipping i got it which was surprising bc it wasn't scheduled to arrive until the 8th. right off the bat the packaging was great. The package included a custom Blackberry box and a car charger adaptor! i had no idea it came with it so that was a nice surprise. When i opened the bb box i found the brand new 8530 with the cd, manual, usb charger/wall charger, the official bb leather case and the bb headphones. Everything was brand new no wear on any items. i was kinda wondering why the box wasn't the official bb box so out of curiosity i called the Ebargain100 number. she answered instantly and insured me all contents were new but they buy the bb in bulk so they have to buy all accessories separately and make their own boxes to fit the contents. i am extremely happy to get a brand new bb with extras for such a low price. i recommend Ebargains100 to any skeptical buyer such as myself. oh one more thing, not a big deal but i know for buying a sprint 8530 curve you would usually get a 2 gig mini sd card which did not come with this package. other then that this is by far worth the money and is a great buy for Christmas!!
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2012
I've had this phone for about 1.5 years. I've full-on dropped it on the concrete running through the train station I don't know how many times, it never even notices. Today it left it on the roof of my car and drove away...I'm embarrassed to admit -- but it's for a good cause! It flew off in the street and GOT RUN OVER. The backplate and battery were nearby. I put the battery back in (backplate won't quite fit properly) and it turned right on. I am still in communication with the outside world.

Yes, the screen is small. The camera, not so great. The GoogleSync can be intrusive. When you navigate you have to manually refresh from your current location. But it'll crack the screen of any iPhone with its keyboard tied behind its back, and then swagger away.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2012
I am very skeptical about purchasing cell phones over the internet, especially Sprint since they are still using ESN's. However, I had no choice as my daughter breaks every phone she gets within months. The phone is working great and is pretty durable. I will keep this seller in mind for future purchases.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2010
I have been with Sprint for quite some time now and have found their service to be fairly solid. Prior to the 8530, I had the Blackberry Curve 8330. This phone is a major step forward (see below); however, there are certain features from the old Curve that do not appear on this one. For instance, I was dismayed to find that the phone does not have a flash for the camera anymore. It's not clear why they removed it, as the old Curve had a flash. In addition, could the battery have gotten worse?? I realize this phone has many more features, some of which drain the batter life (i.e. WiFi), but they have to continue to make improvements to the battery to keep up with these improvements.

PROS

*Clearer Screen - I'm not sure if the screen was replaced or upgraded, but it looks much clearer to me than my old Curve. The colors are much more vibrant and the resolution seems better.
*Much faster processor - Sifting through emails or menus is much quicker on this phone than on the old Curve
*Media processing - I'm able to sort through music, pictures, and videos much quicker and easier than with the old Curve. If you're like me and store a lot of media on the phone, you know how bogged down it can become. I have an 8gb memory chip in this phone and it has not noticeably slowed the phone down. Loading new music on here is much quicker than it was before.
*WiFi - I use the WiFi almost exclusively now to browse the internet. I get download speeds of upwards of 150 kb/sec on my phone!

CONS

*No Flash for the camera
*Construction - This phone feels even cheaper made than the old Curve, which is saying a lot. Each time I drop the phone, I think it will be the last time it will work. Should you get this phone, but INSURANCE just in case. The battery cover is a case in point. The old Curve battery cover clasped into the phone and there was a button to release it. The battery cover on this phone snaps in and pops out fairly easily. I've only had the phone for a month, so I can't say whether this will become a problem in the future.
*Battery life - If you turn off WiFi, battery life improves; however, then you lose one of the best features of this phone.
*No GSM capability - This is NOT a world phone. I guess with Blackberry, you have to pick and choose which features you really want. It's sort of like buying a house, you can't get everything you wanted. With Blackberry, if you want both a world phone and WiFi capability, to my knowledge, it does not exist (at least on Sprint).
*Keyboard - The keyboard is slightly smaller than the old Curve. So if you are upgrading, this phone may take some getting used to. Otherwise, even if you have bigger fingers, this phone is easy to type on.

OVERALL

If you're looking to switch to the Blackberry family, or upgrade, I'd recommend upgrading to one of the other Blackberries. The Curve is the entry-level Blackberry. The Tour and Bold have faster processors and are much more sturdy in construction. In addition, they have a flash in the back for the camera.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2010
Just upgraded to the 8530 last week and wow I love this unit! Nice design, very fast processor, crisp graphics and resolution, and the touch pad is a welcome upgrade from the trackball. The not so perfect - battery life is anemic. It seems to eat a lot of juice. The unit is power intensive with it's graphic interface and media features so it's safe to say it's underpowered. You can buy a more powerful battery but it seems if that exists it should have been pre-installed on the 8530 to begin with. A minor peeve is the keyboard size. Although it has a Qwerty style keyboard the buttons are too small. Easy to hit the wrong ones when typing. But that's a minor thing and I found the more I use it the more I get used to it. The camera feature is so far the best I have had although there is no flash. Other complaints I've read about a cheap design and flimsy battery cover may be based on experiences with previous BB models but I don't see it. I see nothing cheap about this unit. I do think it's stylish, reliable, quick, compact, and a lot of fun. I recommend it.
33 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
The cellphone is badly treated and lined with broken lid. Why you had sold an old product that not using chip? For 49.95. After that I have to add the additional $ 17.00 for a product to remove unusable. that is so old it does not use separate chip and can only be used in the United States. this without unlocking. Just wanted a phone that I could serve to save x the phone I really want and I have had this loss unreliable seller. Please do not rely on the seller or their products. Idid not recommed this product to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2010
This is such a nice change after having had the Blackberry 8830 (World edition) for 2 years. At first I was a bit worried about complaints I've read online - cheap, plasticky feel, like a toy, poor battery life, battery door hard to open, which is why I made sure to see the phone in person before buying it. It did not disappoint at all. The design is stylish, sleek and not cheap looking at all. It's very lightweight, trackpad is an awesome change from constantly having to clean a dirty trackball, OS is faster and gives the interface a much more sophisticated look to it. Battery life is obviously relative to the amount of time you spend on the phone and amount of stuff you have going on, so if you're a heavy user you'd probably need to have an extra battery or have the charger with you all the time. As for the battery door, I did not have trouble with opening it for the first time.

Great great phone! They say it's entry-level but I definitely consider it as an upgrade!
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2011
I bought this phone from Andrew and the phone arrived looking brand new, I had the phone for about a month and don't know what I did to lock myself out and froze the key pad, I called Andrew and he tried to walk me through the process to get the phone unlock, I was not able to accomplish this, and so he called metro pcs customer service, which if you know is a complete nightmare. he called four different times before finally we got a rep on the phone, who still was not able to assist me, Andrew told me to just either mail him the phone back for couple dollars more and I would get a boost mobile blackberry, or take it into metro. I chose to take it to metro and was ordered a refurbished blackberry. I would like to thank Andrew for his excellent customer service and outstanding product and knowledge base of the product. I will do business again with him and recommend him to all my friends. he's definitely the go to guy for used phones at a decent price and top notch customer service. I would also add being that I'm on my 3rd blackberry since the purchase from this vendor, to make sure you get insurance from metro, in case the phone turns out to be a dud. you get another one. also I did not get a brand new blackberry from metro as stated but a refurbished phone.
77 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2011
Before you a turned off by people saying this Blackberry is cheap and poorly made, brimming with plastics, understand that this construction allows this Blackberry to be light as hell - and that has been a rewarding feature of this Curve, the first Blackberry I've owned. It is also compact and the lack of any flip/sliding screen makes it fit in my pocket without any obnoxious bulge on the side. I've never had high expectations for cell phones, starting with a basic, free Sprint flip-phone and then moving onto the Razr 2 years later when the Razr was 2 or more years out of fashion, so naturally when I got this Curve right when it came out (and was the first customer to purchase the red color at the Old Town Pasadena Sprint store) I was in awe of the phone and loved everything about it. The reason I am writing this review is actually because my battery is finally showing signs of being finished and I needed to buy a new one. So however long ago this Curve came out in the color red - I believe it was 2 years ago, give or take a few months, is how long the factory battery lasted, and by lasted I mean, with having Wifi on constantly (didn't even think about turning it off until recently) and talking and texting in moderation, I would only need to charge the phone every other day, which was for the most part better than the two phones I had previously. I love the track pad and only every once in a while does it lag for a minute or two, at which point I just leave the phone alone to let it catch up with itself. The internet browser obviously isn't going to be as flashy as that of a touch-screen smartphone like the iPhone or more advanced Blackberries, but I did load a youtube video, plug my phone into my car's auxilary port, and blast music with it. Not too shabby. Overall the simplicity is part of the Curve's appeal. It is capable of everything you should need in a phone, including an assortment of basic games and applications, some of which you can download from the Sprint Store. And face it, if you buy a phone for Applications you need to think of better things to do with your life, that's what iPods, Gameboys, and Laptops are for. The Curve is the perfect smartphone for those who have never had a smartphone and don't need anything too fancy, flashy, or complicated (like my mom, who thinks these technological breakthroughs with phones are out to get her and confuse her to death haha). And maybe some people got dud batteries out of the shop (I did with my Razr back in the day) but mine was sufficient and didn't disappoint. 4 out of 5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2012
i bought this phone about 3 months ago, because i was tired of using a touch screen to text. i felt that having physical keys to push would be better...and for a while it was, but this phone has been horrible since day one. i shopped for a week, looking for a well-priced phone, and found this online for a great price, and decent reviews. after activating my wireless account, and charging up the phone, that's when the trouble started. the tiny touch pad is unresponsive, texting is a nightmare; there's a very noticeable lag when switching between texts, and while i text, a small, black square smiley face pops up, and my phone freezes for a couple seconds. the first time, i ignored it, but it happens several times when i'm in conversation with a friend. one positive, the call quality is pretty good. i've never had a dropped call, and that's why i rated it 2, instead of 1 star.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.