Back to Business Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King Bose SoundTouch 130 Amazon Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 17, 2010
This pillow alleviates my neck pain and keeps it in perfect alignment. I use it along with a small roll that I place in the crook of my neck. The problem is that the microbeads come out of the pillow every day. I tried to make it work by using a second pillow case over the pillow case that came with the purchase, but I still find beads on my bed. And because they are teeny tiny and feather light they can be inhaled during the night. Perhaps this is the reason for the warning that comes with the pillow which states you must use the pillow case at all times? It's really too bad because it is the perfect accompaniment to my neck roll, but eventually most of the bead will have spilled out and worse yet possibly inhaled. To be fair, it may be that my pillow is defective.
55 comments57 of 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2010
I'm writing this the morning after receiving my Sobakawa Cloud Pillow from Amazon. One night was all I needed for this review.

Like everyone, I think of my bedroom as a sanctuary from the world's stress and that's why I want it to be as comfortable and soothing as possible. I've suffered from head/neck/back pain for years from sleeping on pillows that lost their shape way too soon and went flat on me. Before last night, I slept on a combination of a regular pillow, a body pillow (which was wrapped around the reg. pillow), and a huge European-style square pillow to top everything off.

In a nutshell, neither that elaborate setup or the many pillows that came before it gave me even one fraction of the PEACE that the Sobakawa gave me in one night of testing. It cradles my head and neck perfectly, and it keeps my spine aligned when I shift during the night. The micro-beads move when you move in order to provide proper cushioning at all times. At the risk of sounding too "New Age," the Sobakawa Cloud Pillow gave a level of comfort that was almost like being back in the womb. My first night's sleep with this pillow was truly the best I've had in years, and when I had to wake up in the middle of the night to *cough cough*, all I could think of was how much I wanted to go back to bed! :O)

I've noticed a lot of complaints elsewhere on Amazon about this pillow's size, firmness, and the noise of the micro-beads. Yes, the pillow is slightly smaller than the standard bed pillow, but in my opinion it more than pulls its weight on the job. I admit that I was surprised and disappointed about the size when I first opened the box (because I was used to big luxury pillows), but I changed my mind very quickly once I used the Sobakawa. Appearances can be deceiving. What looks like a "dinky travel pillow" to some, turns out to be a great sleep investment for others (namely me). Another complaint is that the pillow is too hard/too noisy. I did not experience these problems. The micro-beads crinkle a little when you move, but not enough to seriously disturb the person or wake him/her up. As for the hardness, if you love ultra-soft down pillows and others of that type, then the Sobakawa Cloud Pillow would probably be too experimental for you to try. The way others have described this pillow, you'd think the reviews were written by "The Princess & The Pea." The Sobakawa is NOT a glorified brick, and its micro-beads didn't stab me to death in my sleep. Instead, they gave me the support I needed after years of pain that came from using those royal, ultra-soft pillows. To each his/her own.

One last thing about this product that struck me as funny: The tag that comes with the pillow & case set has a bunch of underlined warnings on it, saying that the pillowcase must ONLY be used with the SOBAKAWA PILLOW! Only the PILLOWCASE can be washed! One must NEVER get the Sobakawa pillow WET! The only things missing on this way too serious tag were the words, "Or else!" I suspect that wetting the pillow would ruin the micro-beads, but would it kill them to actually explain that instead of screaming "Don't do it"? Or does the pillow turn into a gremlin when wet? I call dibs on Gizmo! LOL
88 comments91 of 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 21, 2010
So far the Sobakawa is a very comfortable and practical pillow. I've been sleeping on it for 2 weeks now and my chronic neck and shoulder pain is gone. I've had those type of pains everyday for 15 years. The only odd thing is that it came with a special pillow case and a rather odd warning card that stated this pillow case must ONLY be used with the Sobakawa pillow and NEVER with any other pillow.... not that I would have tried but it was kind of cryptic and strange. Otherwise this pillow was well worth the price of 26.99 since it has helped eliminate morning neck and shoulder pain.
11 comment67 of 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2010
You don't want to get the one advertised unless you are looking for a travel size pillow. Order the queen or king size. I'm guessing the one in the pictures is the queen size - not the one you will get when you place your order without buying the larger more expensive pillow. The "cloud" is anything but a cloud - not cloud soft nor cool. Be ready to wake up with your hair soaking wet from sweat. I bought 3 - one standard size to use on the recliner and two king size for the bed. The few weeks, the pillow was comfortable and kept its shape; however, over time both the outer shell and the cover stretch out of shape causing the pillow to stretch out of shape and lose the neck and head support features. To have any support with the pillow after it stretches is to find something to brace one side of the pillow against.
11 comment71 of 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2010
I wish I hadn't purchased this pillow. When it arrived it had so much off gassing that it made me sick. The instructions stated that the smell would fade after a while, but you can still smell it when you're sleeping on it and you're breathing in the gasses all night. This has to be a health hazard. I threw the Soba Kawa pillow away and started my search for an organic option. I would recommend the Buckwheat pillows. They keep you cool without the the bad smell.
44 comments41 of 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2011
I slept on this pillow for four nights and put it away. It is rock hard and has a very odd smell.I thought perhaps it just needed "breaking in", then I realized it was just plain uncomfortable ! The only good thing is that I only lost twenty bucks on my purchase.
0Comment25 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2011
I watched the commercial on TV and was sold on how "cool" this pillow is and how the air can cool you through the microbeads, etc. I purchased 3 of them. When I opened the boxes there is a warning stating to not be used by anyone under 14. OK, so the 2 I was going to let my 6 and 4 year old use are useless. Secondly the rest of the warning states how flammable the pillow and beads inside are and to dispose of the pillow if it develops a tear or rips. Additionally I was watching TV for 30 minutes and the back of my head was SOAKED, so much for the "cool" pillow. I would NOT recommend buying this product.
0Comment30 of 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2010
WHAT A JOKE !!!
This pillow went back almost as soon as it arrived.
I Couldn't get comfortable with it in anyway.
I have had arthritis pain in the neck for about
50 years and am always looking for something that would
help alleviate some of the misery.
The only thing that this cloudless pillow did do for me was...
take my mind off the pain because I was too busy being
infuriated with it.
1111 comments29 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2011
The Sobakawa Cloud pillow reminded me of a US Army sandbag, and I have plenty of experience with them. It is not as advertised and I am guessing most of the positive reviews are people who work for the company. I am completely baffled by the positive reviews, and i was really hoping the reviews were true, which caused me to but this pillow. I have nothing positive to say about it, but buyer beware and don't waiste your money. Or at least save your packing slip because you will return it.
This pillow is garbage,

James Depalma
0Comment21 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2010
I bought this pillow because I was tired of my pillows "going flat". This pillow is very hard to sleep on. It's filled with styrofoam beads, and is actually hard as a rock when you're trying to sleep. It seems fluffy enough when you're holding it, but not once you lay your head down. Besides being uncomfortable, it's loud. You can hear all of the beads rubbing against each other whenever you move. I'm going to try to return it to get my money back.
11 comment39 of 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.