Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
42
Price:$1,049.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 6, 2012
[...]
What an awesome sewing machine! So far, I've only used the #2 and #1 settings for sewing my quilt. The #2 setting automatically gives me a 1/4 inch seam quilt block setting. No more guessing if I have this measurement right for my blocks. The foot pedal is awesome. So easy to push down and I can cut my thread too with it after the last back tack.
The machine comes with ample feet and the extension table is big enough. It is not a loud sewing machine when you sew with it. It is so easy to hear over the machine when you sew and it's smooth as butter with it's stitches. I've not used the knee attachment because of the type of table I have it on. But it is large enough and long enough for my short knee to use. I've attached it to see if it was long enough for me. I'm using cotton quilting thread and did not have to touch my tension, top or bottom. That is another worry off my shoulders. The DVD included it the best starting point. The manual is easy to follow as well. The case has a built - in knee and foot pedal storage area. Good to have this and I know exactly where my spare parts are when I need them. The bobbins are 15J, I have lots of those being a Brother machine owner.
When the thread cutter cuts the thread it leaves about a quarter inch or less thread on the fabric. No more clipping the extra thread left over from my other machines. I just pick up sewing a new area and keep going and this saves me time. I've watched videos of this machine on You Tube and the quietness that is demonstrated with this machine does not do it justice. I'm having a hard time getting adjusted to this one aspect. The stitching is straight with no stitches crooked like my other machines. They are neatly straight and snug. You have to see the difference.
For a sewer this machine is love in a box. There is so much difference in performance when compared with my Singer and Brother machines. I've also read when it comes to the higher priced machines this beats them hands down. And about the box feed dogs. I read those took some getting used to. Well, I see how much better this type of feeding is for the fabric. All in all, this is an incredible sewing machine.
33 comments| 102 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
For well over a year I have searched for a sewing machine that would suit my needs as a fairly new quilter. I've had a Necchi, New Home and still felt that I wanted a sewing machine that had a better assortment of sewing stitches, easy to use, etc. Having had numerous bobbin problems, I ended up frustrated most of the time when I was sewing.

For most of November and December of 2012 I researched and watched numerous videos on various sewing machines, I had my mind made up on one, hubby then checked it out and didn't like the warranty, etc. on the machine....so I showed him links to a Juki HZL-400, well he called the business that was selling them and got the information on the warranty, etc. and liked what the saleslady said, then she said I could have the Juki HZL-600 for the same price (Christmas Special)...so I called her and ordered the machine...I must admit that I was flabbergasted and really excited.

The shipping took 3 days, I waited patiently for it, when it arrived I did everything in slow motion because I was so excited, I thought the machine might be hard to learn and it actually is pretty easy to use..........I LOVE this machine, it is everything I could have dreamed for in a sewing machine. It has different speeds, cuts the threads, threads the needle, automatic back stitch when I want it, leg foot leaver, plus I can unplug the foot pedal and push a button and it will sew automatically. This will save my back and sitting position because I suffer with chronic back pain.

Today I quilted with the walking foot for the first time and it works like a breeze in quilting. I know this machine will last me for years and years and will probably be the last one I ever buy in my lifetime, thanks to my dear hubby for saying "go for it honey".

I highly recommend this sewing machine for anyone who wants a reliable, easy machine to sew with.
22 comments| 108 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
The Juki is a great machine, but not flawless. I used it for a year to make a few quilt tops, some garment sewing, and mending. I'd say I'm an intermediate seamstress. I've sewn extensively on a Kenmore Mini Ultra, a few misc. Singers, Singer Quilter Confidence, vintage Dressmaker, Elna 7200. The machine is alright, but in my opinion the stitch quality not worth the price.

Pros:
foot pedal thread cutter
automatic buttonhole foot - you put the button on the foot and it automatically makes the perfect sized hole
wide variety of stitches
machine runs quiet
throat space

Cons:
a lot of adjustments - this is not a beginner machine. You have thread and bobbin tension as well as the pressure foot
stitch quality - This is ultimately why I sold it. I don't know if it was just my Juki or not, but I had a hard time getting perfect stitches. I understand doing test stitching on the fabric before sewing but it seemed to take SO long to adjust everything just right, and sometimes still was sub par. The machine didn't skip stitches but they weren't always even
horizontal thread holder - this is just a personal preference. I prefer a vertical holder because I can use the bigger spools of thread
durability - I don't know why everyone says it's so heavy duty. It's better than my Singer Quilter Confidence, but sounded bogged down going through two layers of denim (and I was using the right needle and it was new). It did better than the Singer, slightly worse than a Husqvarna Sapphire when going through a few layers material for making a quilt block.

I ended up selling my Juki recently and going with an Elna and couldn't be happier. I miss the foot pedal thread cutter and some of the stitches, but the Elna has a superb stitch quality and no problem going through several layers of quilt fabric or a few layers of denim.
77 comments| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
Lets start out by saying I love to make clothing and quilts. I use to use a Husqvarna that was the equivalent to the Juki, but the husky had problem with the thickness of my husband army uniforms/gear. I use to yell and get so upset at what I was doing. I wanted to reenact office space with the printer (YouTube it if you haven't seen it) Then I got the juki and I love it goes through thick fabric so easy yet works great on thinner fabric. I love how quiet it is!!!!!!! I love how straight it sews , the dog feed is awesome sauce. Sewing is my life and this machine is a work horse I got the Juki hzl-f600 when it first came out and it is 2014 now and still working like it is new. It is a great sewing machine. It handles so will and helps make my work look so much better compered to the Husky. (FYI) I have owned a brother, a singer and a husky before the Juki have to say for just sewing it is so much better. Not saying it is not with out its faults it took me a good day to get the tension right, almost gave up but once I did I never had to worry about it again. I have found that after a lot of sewing on the highest speed the needle comes lose and has to be tightened again. but all and all it has been a great home sewing machine. granted some times I use my other machines but it is not often and most the time because I have a foot for that one or a pattern that the Juki doesn't have. I am a Juki Junkie!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2014
I purchased this machine from another mail order company in January 2014. I am an avid quilter, and have sewn with it almost exclusively since I purchased it. I love it! I've had no bobbin or thread cutter problems as I have had with previous machines. I've had no problems at all! It is fast but quiet; another quilter at a retreat mentioned that my machine was very quiet. It has an excellent array of stitches, and is very intuitive to learn. The owner's manual is clearly written too.

This model has been around for several years now. I get the impression that Juki doesn't bring out new models every year--they do an excellent job of engineering and building their machines, and then only bring out new models when there are new innovations in sewing. The only thing I wish it had was an even bigger throat, though the one it has is a good size, and a bladed quarter inch foot. But I'm finding that I can do a very accurate 1/4 inch seam using the primary presser foot and stitch no. 2 on the menu. I bought this machine because I have a Juki TL98Q which has been excellent and going strong over the ten years I've had it. It is a fast, straight-stitch-only machine with a large throat, so I use the 98 for free-motion quilting, and the F600 for everything else.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2015
I purchased my Juki F600 a little over a year ago from my LQS. I have used this machine for piecing, quilting, FMQ, hemming jeans, making purses and bags with vinyl and leather. This workhorse is AMAZING! It hasn't missed a stitch. I went into the store to look at PFAFF and Janome machines and walked out with my dream machine. I've clocked many, many hours sewing with her, sometimes sewing for 10 hrs a day. To say I'm thrilled with my Juju would be an understatement.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2013
My Juki arrived a day early, but too late to introduce ourselves!;( It's Saturday morning and we are becoming fast friends! This is supposed to be a machine used in class at ASG convention, but everything was tied and sealed as though it had never been used! The instruction manual is clear and so far everything has worked! Automatic bobbin winder...no disengaging the needle necessary! Oh, my last new machine is almost forty years old! Automatic needle threader...what a marvelous idea! A perfect 1/4 inch seam! Tried the crazy quilt stitches and letters. Time to create! Starting with a book for my almost eleven month old grandson!
11/10/13 update: Finished the cloth book! Hazel (my Juki) sewed through 6 pieces of cotton cloth and 3 layers of warm and natural using an embroidery stitch without a blink! Beautiful!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
Great machine. This machine is easy to set up and use with easy to follow instructions. The stitches are even, it is quiet, it has not hung up, does not unthread, etc. I use my machine most days for quilting. There are only a couple of small issues. One is how the bobbin winds. The directions in the book are correct. It is probably just that I am left handed, but I have had to stop the process and unwind because I did not set it up correctly. The needle threader does not always turn loose and I have to manually lift it up. I think this was a much wiser choice for me than spending three times as much for a new model machine.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2015
The Juki F600 is the best home machine you can get, bottom line. It comes with a nice extended table, it has a ton of feet in the box, the build quality is awesome and my wife can make practically anything on it.

We have tens of thousands of dollars worth of sewing equipment in our house, from a Juki industrial machine to an APQS long arm machine. If we could only have one machine, the F600 would be it. Simply worth your money if you are a home sewist looking for a great Swiss army knife of a tool. Don't mess with the other brands, we are definitely Juki fans.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2014
Love, Love Love This Machine. I have sewn for almost 40 years and find these new computerized machines do not have the workload ability of the old workhorse machines. However, this F600 is a gem of a machine, built by Juke -- noted for industrial machines. I believe someone who knows how to sew or was instructed by someone who sews designed this machine. Everything works beautifully and all the shortcuts we sewers need. I have used the F600 to make 3 baby quilts, several mug rugs and table runners, shortened my husband's work pants (blind hem works beautiful) and I made several adult-size special needs bibs for our local county home. I cannot complain about any of the aspects of this machine. The bibs are held together with Velcro -- the F600 made sewing on the Velcro a breeze with the white, silicone (plastic) foot. Just an FYI -- If you have a Brother machine, check out the bobbins and the extra feet to see if they fit the Juki. I have a Brother Innovis Isodore 5000 and ALL of the feet and accessories fit the Juki as do the bobbins. I am able to use the Brother 1/4" sewing foot with metal guide on the Juki which makes piecing so easy. This machine is a little workhorse and you treat it right (clean it and take care of it) it will out live you.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 95 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.