Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Price:$5.95+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 19, 2015
Fast setting, solid hold and it arrived prior to the expected date. Was able to attach rubber soles (not included) to the leather soles of my favorite pair of cowboy boots that were starting to wear. Rubber soles is the way to go here in Oregon!
Never could wear expensive boots year around. Even just going from the truck to the house leather sucks up water like a sponge. Now, I can wear my boots throughout the winter without a worry of the leather breaking down due to the wet/drying cycle causing cracking. I'll still wear more appropriate footwear when outside for lengthy periods in the winter, but when just running around town or what not, I can wear my favorite boots again!
Probably will re-purchase and do the same to other boots, too. Word of caution: Applying to new shoes should be a breeze, however when dealing with an old pair of boots whose soles are already, "Curled" it's gonna be some work. Clamps help, but constant vigilance is still required for about an hour or two. The clamps can't take care of every square inch, so I ended up un-clamping after the glue started setting good (but was still tacky) and manually would go over every part to insure proper adhesion.
review image review image
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2010
I have been using this stuff since the 1970's. I've extenisvely used contact cements, silicone, epoxies, etc...Goo is best for gluing a lose section of sole back to boot or shoe. One of my friends used it for 'recaping' very expensive silk tubular bike tires even. I've been capping my steel toe boots with a heavy layer of blk Goo for decades--wait till some good scuffing and cuts in toe leather then put only one coat on as heavy as possible. There are a few techniques to using it well...it doesn't stick to itself well for a second aplication, but it will stick to most other pliable things if cleaned well, rubbing alcohol good for contact surface prep and wet-Goo cleanup; When capping boot toes, keep rotating the boot every several min. to 15 min. intervals for about an hour or three until Goo no longer prone to flow easy, then prop boots upside down careful to keep goo area out of contact with anything and favor toe-tip for heavies layer. (Upside down with toe low keeps the Goo thick where you need it most) Then check ocassionally for another hour or three and reposition if needed to maintain uniform-ish thickness and smooth surface. After a couple of days to cure it is good to go for years of abusive boot service. ((Only requires a movie worth of nervous energy to accomplish and your wife will get giddy on fumes)) Put 'project' outside as soon as possible to minimize fume exposure.

Many other possible uses. After ductape, nails, tools and guns--Shoe Goo is a must have for any shop or home for any real man. ;)
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2015
I'm writing this review more to give people a head's up about the color choices - clear vs black - in case you're on the fence.

Do not choose clear for darker shoes. Clear actually dries more white than clear, and on black shoes this stands out. Also, over time this white turns yellow, which also stands out and looks even worse. So if you're gluing darker shoes, do not think that the clear is actually clear and will not be visible. It will be and it will not look good.

Hope this helps someone.

Other than that, this is the best stuff I know for repairing shoes and making them last longer. I put heels on my dress shoes to make them last and this stuff does the trick. Note, however, that ShoeGoo works best on softer rubber/plastic. Harder "step" type heel taps are harder to glue down with ShoeGoo. It will still work, it will just not work as well. Soft rubber heels will stick until they're literally worn away. Hard plastic heels will eventually come off, after a couple of months. Make sure to score/rough up either type of heel, though, on the gluing side before gluing them to your shoes, especially the hard plastic type - makes the bond stronger.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2009
I play tennis and I am flat footed. My shoes tend to wear out on the outside heal prematurely. Well, thanks to this shoo goo I can put more heal on my shoes and wear them until the wear out for real. This product is for repairing shoes. But if I'm going to stick some flappy sole back, I would use super glue. If you want to fabricate the sole of your shoe...this product is the shizzle.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Shoe Goo is great for extending the life of shoes (any many other things too). It holds well to many things other glues will not bond with. It is STRONG, and it dries fairly quickly. Best of all I have not found anything that seems to degrade the bond once thoroughly dried.

I got mine at the local dollar store. I use both the clear and the black Shoe Goo. I like that it's available in both.

I recently used Shoe Goo to repair a favorite pair of New Balance WW811 shoes where the soles were separating. I got a new pair (WW812) but I don't want to wear the new shoes out in the snow and salt of this record breaking New England winter. Plus my old ones are broken in and so comfortable. But I digress - the point is Shoe Goo saved these shoes with a durable repair.

Shoe Goo can also be used as a filler. I've used it to seal or fill a gap. I've done this on boots where the leather top was pulling from the sole and letting in the wet. Shoe Goo let those last the season and I could not have asked more.

If I have the time I like to let Shoe Goo dry 12 to 24 hours if I want the strongest bond. If I can work it out I'll clamp the two parts together firmly. If I do this I think the result is often stronger than the original bond.

We all have favorite solutions for certain kinds of problems. Shoe Goo is where I go to extend the life of old favorite shoes and many more gluing needs.

Because it does more than it claims, it bonds to surfaces that many glues/fillers don't seem to, and just works really well I'm giving Shoe Goo 5 Stars.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
Shoe Goo works best if sufficient time is given for curing before use. I allow 3 days. After proper curing time, it is as good as the glue used in original manufacture, but it will fail if the shoes are used immediately after gluing.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2008
There used to be a product called Eternal Sole, but no longer. Now, these guys have the market. Not a bad product, but doesn't last that long on running shoes. Use the Black (rather than Neutral) for casual shoes or boots and you should be fine. Line the heel area with tape, apply and let dry, then sand down a bit. Works fine.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2012
Easy to use and really works. Also comes in clear. Great stuff! Just use big rubber bands to hold the sole in place while the glue sets. Tip: save those big rubber bands that come on broccoli or asparagus.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
I have used this product for over 15 years. One tip. After the application allow the product about two days to harden. If you walk on it too soon it squishes down and does not last at all. If you wait and it hardens it lasts a long time. I have always used the clear, and purchased it locally. This is my first time using the black. I put this stuff on new shoes and it greatly extends the life of the sole. Make sure you use some kind of solvent to clean the sole thoroughly before you apply it. If you do, it is really, really hard to remove it, thus it does not separate and come off. When it gets too thin I replace it and that is when I notice how hard it sticks to the sole.
UPDATE. If the heel is worn, you can put the goo on thicker, you just might have to wait for several days for it to get hard. Do not wear the shoe if the goo is soft at all. It will get rock hard. If you walk on it when it is sill soft the goo will flatten out. I have also used it for the first time as a glue. I have a pair of hiking off trail shoes that the sole started to separate. I cleaned the surfaces then put the goo between the two layers and used C clamps to hold the sides together. I gooed the heels and in a few days will be ready to wear the shoes for another year or so.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2014
Excellent product, used it in the olden days on tennis shoes. I have been able to restore a pair of $150 Sperry Topsiders that had really worn down and I hadn't noticed it. I'm gradually building up the heals by almost a half inch on one side, putting on a layer at a time and wearing them for a day or so. Also did major repair of my outside work boots.

One hint- for major buildup of shoe soles, use tape around the edge to form a dam because the product flows. Also, clean and sandpaper between layers.
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 15 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.