Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
22
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 13, 2013
Buy these. The build quality, the style, the First World manufacturing all make this an easy decision.

If you spend time in real winter weather, you need real snow pack boots.
1. Real winter means months-long stretches of below freezing weather with accumulating snow on the ground.
2. Real snow pack boots means:
a. durable, water-proof bottoms so you can get real work done in them from fall to spring
b. at least calf-height, also water resistant uppers, again, so you can get real work done, without snow getting into the boot, and
c. sized to accommodate thick, wicking liners and thick socks, so your feet stay warm but sweat-free.

For decades the go-to recommendation was the Sorel Caribou. Unfortunately they went bankrupt in 2000 and Columbia bought them. Manufacturing was moved to China and quality was devalued. This pair of Kamik Pearson replaced a circa-2001 pair of Caribou of which the soles finally gave out and allowed snow to work its way in, which would invariably melt and make my foot cold and wet. Knowing that the legacy of Sorel is not what it once was I decided I would break brand loyalty and shop around.

I took a chance on these Kamik-brand boots based on the good reviews here and the convincing story of their history and ethics on their website. It didn't hurt that these were on sale at a significant end-of-season discount.

Let me bring the hype: this is the new go-to snow pack boot.

The build quality is ridiculous. I have worn them almost every day for three months: simply to the car and back for my daily commute (I leave a pair of nice dress shoes at the office); shoveling and snowblowing (I am lucky enough to have a very nice snowblower and so often end up doing most of my city block for my less-fortunate neighbors); ice-fishing; hunting & hiking; around my parent's farm and ranch on the weekends. I am sure that if I wiped the boots down I could almost sell them as new.

They are extremely warm and comfortable. Except for the weight they feel like wearing overstuffed house slippers. Real shearling on the liners! They smell amazing, reminding me of raising sheep growing up on the ranch. I have stopped wearing thick outdoor wool socks and generally wear a thin, merino wool crew-height liner-type sock with them. I wore these out once while moving snow when it was around -20F with too-thick socks and my feet were sweating when I came in.

The leather is incredibly thick and looks and feels amazing. The lace rings are very securely attached. I have never received compliments or questions about my snow boots before, but I have multiple times--about once a week--with these. It's a minor consideration for me, but if you can possibly look fashionable (or at least not like a chump) wearing snow boots you will in these.

I don't know if I can recommend these if you are working in the oil fields of western Dakota in winter. As tough as these are i don't know that they are tough enough for that madness. They are probably overkill for those places that get occasional snow and cold weather but that passes over night. Arctic expeditions or winter camping? Maybe. Walking in these for a whole day would probably be exhausting do to their weight and might actually be too hot. If you live in the north-central tier of North America, you are crazy if you aren't seriously considering buying a pair of these.

I am very, very impressed with these boots. My highest recommendations.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2011
I really have to recommend this winter boot. The minimum temperature I have had to "survive" was around -25°C. My feet have been kept really warm by this boot.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
I bought these after reading a number of negative reviews on Amazon about the most popular brand (which is made in China). These are made in Canada. My only complaint is that based on an Amazon comment I ordered a larger size 10. They turned out to be too large and I returned them for a smaller size 9 which fits perfectly. Another feature of these boots is that removing them is a breeze compared to the popular brand boots. The construction looks good, however, I have not worn them yet.I intend to use them as both after ski boots, and while snow blowing my long driveway. I may comment again if these boots don't perform as expected.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2013
I've owned these boots for less than two seasons...I bought them in the late fall of 2012.

They are very warm, which is great. They're also pretty roomy, which wasn't unexpected--I added an extra footbed to help take up the extra room.

However, their durability is awful. These replaced a pair of Sorels that I had had for 20 years...and in less than 18 months, they are in worse shape. The liners are wearing out in patches and the soles are wearing through. I can't recommend these boots--for the price, I'd be ok if they'd last five seasons. But less than two? I'm not ok with that.

Honestly, if you're spending this much on boots, I'd say get something with a lifetime warranty...so that if they give out in just a few seasons, you can get them replaced. but don't buy these...they really don't last. :(
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
The boots arrived on time and were well packaged. An excellent price with very good service from the supplier " The Sportsmans guide".
The boots fitted as expected and were very comfortable. I had been looking for a while to replace my original kaufmann Sorels as the current Sorel replacements are not up the original made in Nth America standard now they are owned by someone else.
These look like providing me with many years of service like my original Sorels. They even have the Maple leaf sewn on the heel. A nice touch. The sole has a very good grip and the leather uppers are of good quality as is the stitching. I will be posting again regarding their durability.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
There seemed to be a lot of sizing issues in several reviews that I read about these boots and the imported versions. After receiving the boots I would advise to order what you normally would in a boot. They run large, I wear size 12 and ordered a 13, but found that the 13 was way too big. I sent them back and ordered the size 12 which was perfect ~ you could still wear thick socks and it would be fine. The red maple leaf on the back is a nice touch, they are very warm, and appear to be well built. I felt that for the price, getting a boot made in Canada, they are an exceptional value.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
These boots came very quickly - dispatched from US, arrived at my door in Europe 48 hours later!

They have only just arrived so I can't say anything about wear etc yet. They appear very well made and the leather is good quality, all the stitching looks sturdy and no loose threads etc. Kamik makes some claims about their "Rubber He" compound (on their website) for the lower part, which I will be interested to put to the test - it is certainly lightweight.

I ordered a size 10, always a bit of a guess when converting from European sizes (I normally use a 43-44 in Europe). The size 10 is generous enough to allow a good thick boot sock.

I am pleased with the delivery speed and the first impressions of this boot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2013
These Canadian made Kamiks replaced an amazing pair of 30+-year-old Canadian made "Kaufman" Sorel Caribous that had finally given up the ghost after literally 100s of miles of gas piplelining and abuse on various drilling/service rigs in Saskatchewan with temperatures dipping up to -40 degrees celsius. I tried on the "new" Chinese made Columbia Sorels and found them extremely heavy and poorly constructed for the price. These Kamiks, while new to me, were very well built, light-weight, compared to the Sorels, and comfortable right out of the box. I look forward to wearing them with confidence when winter finally rears its ugly head up here in the pacific northwest. One thing, is they seem to fit at least a size larger than labeled. I usually wear a size 10 and ordered a size 9 based on other reviews and they have adequate room for heavy woolen socks or a couple of pairs of lighter pac socks. These are terrific North-American made boots designed for the weather we endure by people who live there at an excellent price if you take your time and shop around.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2010
Based on feedback on other sites, I ordered these boots a size large. They fit correctly. Haven't had a chance to wear them in cold weather yet. The workmanship looks very very good.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2013
Boot is very warm in deep snow for an extended period of time. My only issue is that I have narrow feet. I ordered smaller than I normally wear and the boot is fine in length but way wide...even with heavy smart wool socks. Still, I would rather have my foot slide around a little and be warm! Get the Canadian built version. Worth the extra coin.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.