Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 8, 2009
I love this ring, and my boyfriend loves it just as much. I had one con but now I thought of two. Tungsten as a metal doesn't scratch which is great... but my boyfriend (who is a PE teacher and is constantly using his hands) has noticed little scratches on the carbon inlay part where there is no tungsten. That would be one con... they're barely noticeable because of the dark carbon fiber but he has a crazy knack for details since he used to do graphic design. My other con which is actually more of a warning... make sure you have your man's exact ring size bc I ended up getting one that's too big and took it to the jeweler to get resized.... the jeweler told me that sadly you cannot resize the ring because of the type of metal it is so I had to exchange it (not a big deal bc the company was super accomodating and helpful).

Overall... I'm super satisfied with this ring for the price and style and fit and everything else! too bad they don't make them for women haha! I think tungsten is the man equivalent to platinum for women!
22 comments41 of 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2010
For those of us who buy Tungsten for the lasting quality, know that carbon fiber also has the same traits of being close to indestructible. With this ring, I thought I would have them both but, whatever material they use to cover the carbon fiber is not. It is a soft epoxy type of sealer. Still a nice ring, but you should know what your buying. Yes the sealer does scratch with normal wear...
11 comment46 of 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2011
This ring looks and feels awesome! The comfort fit does what it says and makes wearing it comfortable. Ordered on a Sat and received it on Wed -- super fast considering I live in GA. This ring looks GREAT!

A word on the size - since many reviewers say that these run big. They actually do NOT run big but they may FEEL like it. The company explained it this way and they were dead on it. Reason is...the 'comfort fit' means that the inside of the ring is curved or convex. This makes the ring very comfortable but does give the sensation that it could slide off. Couple that with Tungsten being rather heavy and I can see where people get the idea that they run big. If possible, go to a jewelry store or the jewelry department and try on a few different sizes of rings that have the comfort fit and you will know what size you want. They really do run TRUE to size, not big.

Now, go ahead and order one - you'll be glad you did.
0Comment21 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2013
After my old wedding ring was damaged beyond repair, I began a quest to find a new ring. I did a lot of research and settled on a tungsten carbide ring with a mesh carbon fiber inlay. But there's only so much you can see from a website. So I started visiting my local jewelry shops so I could see the ring in person, and try it on to see how it looked on my hand, feel the weight of it, etc.

At these jewelry shos, I was quoted prices ranging from $300 to $1200 for this exact ring. The only difference between this ring and the one offered at my local shops, was the shops didn't offer the ring with the epoxy coating over the carbon fiber mesh. I decided I liked the epoxy coating better, as it would keep "gunk" from accumulating in the mesh. So here I was, contemplating paying several hundred dollars for this ring. As luck would have it, it suddenly struck me to check Amazon. So right there, at the jewelry counter, I whipped out my phone and searched for the ring on Amazon. I couldn't believe my eyes. This very same ring that been quoted to me as $300-$1200 was available on Amazon for less than $50. Unbelievable! So I raced home and spent the day reading the comments people had left about this ring. And in the end, it was clear that this was a good purchase. So I placed my order.

My new ring arrived quickly, and it was nothing short of flawless. If you're interested in buying this ring, but you're worried that the price is too good to be true, don't worry. I (and many many people before me) have already taken that chance. This truly is a quality ring; every bit as good and identical to the ones sold in the fancy jewelry shops.

So, here's the things you need to know about this ring:

First off, it's heavy. A lot heavier than you'd think. In time you'll get used the weight, but for the first few weeks, you'll only be able to walk in large left-hand circles. This is mostly because the ring is not hollow, but solid tungsten carbide (one of the hardest materials known to science). But it's also smooth and rounded on the inside, making it very comfortable and easier to take on and off.

The ring has a fair amount of girth to it. Meaning it's rather thick. If you have smaller hands, you may find that this ring prevents you from holding your fingers snuggly together (when straight). Basically, even with your fingers bent, and your hands cupped together, you probably wouldn't be able to make water-tight seal between all your fingers. Again, this is something that you'll get used to in time.

However the ring arrives, is how it will stay. Because of how hard tungsten carbide is, the ring cannot ever be resized or engraved. So pick your size carefully. This is another reason that I visited the local jewelry shops first. It allowed me to get my precise ring size first. And if you want anything engraved on the inside of the ring, you need to communicate that to the manufacturer when you place your order, so they can laser etch it into the ring as it's being cast. But once the ring is in your hands, there's nothing else that can be done to alter it.

Being that tungsten carbide is one of the hardest substances known to science, it will not scratch, ever. I've been wearing mine for years, and it's been through some pretty rough scrapes, and there is not a single scratch anywhere on the metal. The downside to this is that the metal will scratch/break pretty much anything it comes into contact with. Walls, glass, porcelain, other metals, the paint on your car, etc. So be careful what you bang your ring on.

The flip side to this is the epoxy resin covering the carbon fiber mesh. While the epoxy is crystal clear and actually acts as a magnifier for the mesh (due to it's shape), it will scratch, and does so pretty easily. The metal doesn't have a single sign of wear on it, but the epoxy is fairly beat up. But you only notice that if you really look close at the ring. But at arm's length, you don't really notice the scratchse. And hey, for this price, you can afford to replace the ring whenever you decide the epoxy has gotten too scarred up.

I got a science project for you! According to everything I've read about this tungsten carbide: while it is extremely hard, it is also somewhat brittle. And it will shatter like glass if it impacts something too hard. In theory you could drop it off a tall balcony and it would shatter when it hits the concrete. I haven't tried this, and I'm certainly not condoning it (for legal purposes and the like). But it's still an interesting piece of triva.

Anyhow, this is a quality product, and I whole heartedly recommend it.

UPDATE: I just came back to check on these comments, and I noticed that the price has been dropped to $6!!! Can you believe that?!!!! A ring that the jewelry shops have been charging up to $1200, is available on Amazon for $6. Incredible. Well, for that price, you can afford to buy extras. Maybe even different colors, so you've got a ring for every ocassion.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2011
I asked my husband to pick out a ring and send to me, i was out of state visiting family when he sent me the pic of this ring from a jewelers web site and the price there was $249.00. so i looked around and found it on here hoping it would be the same and have the same quality. the pics online do not do it justice at all, more beautiful in person. he loves it except for the fact i ordered the wrong size, the people who fitted my husband gave him the wrong size so im in the process of returning it but its been after my 30 days and they are still letting me exchange it for the right size so we are very pleased with that. found the same ring at other stores and they start at 250.00 and up, the one on base here was 249.99 so i am very happy with the ring price i paid and he is very happy with the ring. it is a good buy and would buy again.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2011
My husband's job is very labor intensive, and he uses a metal hook with his left hand to move crates all day long. So this ring is knocking and banging against metal 5 days a week, and we have yet to find a scratch on it. Tungsten Carbide is not only very rich-looking, but is also extremely durable. Even if we had a budget of $1000 to spend on a wedding band, we still would opt for the Tungsten Carbide.
0Comment11 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
I bought this for my husband since he lost his in a lake and this looks almost the same and was a fraction of the price! It does not leave a ring around his finger like I thought it would and his size was a perfect fit!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2013
I bought this ring to replace my older wedding band that became too small, was nicely made. Would recommend to this ring to anyone.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
I was looking for a replacement wedding ring for my husband, because his no longer fit. I needed something manly, attractive and durable. This ring is VERY adorable. He gets complimented on it ALL THE TIME. He loves it! And it looks great on his finger. I had a couple of questions about the ring and the customer service I received was AWESOME! Very helpful. I couldn't be more pleased! Thank you!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2012
I originally saw this type of ring in a jewelry store while overseas and told my wife that I wanted one. When we saw the how cheap they were I figured there had to be a catch. It took about 6 months to see why the price was so low.

At first the ring was very cool. I received a large number of compliments on it and everyone was impressed and liked the ring. As time went on I started to notice what I thought was an oxide layer building up on the tungsten. After attempting to clean this off I found out that the ring must be tungsten coated and have some cheap metal underneath.

For the carbon fiber inlay, as others have posted it did scratch but that wasn't the worst part. I could clearly see the seam where the inlay had been put together but it wasn't that noticeable at first. As the months went on the line seemed to get more defined to the point where it actually looked discolored and there appeared to be a bubble under the epoxy coating. About a month later the inlay literally popped off of the ring.

For the price it was a nice ring for a couple of months but as the months wore on the novelty wore off and so did the apparent quality.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.