Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 19, 2011
Now, given the fact that I paid less than 40 dollars on here for these boots, I'm currently in the process of buying the other color for 70. Have you seen the price of boots today?? these shoes are no more than 70 bucks, gossets are meant to bridge the shoe tight because they were styled after "amsterdam" waders, and "smell like paint thinner" ?? who's sticking there nose on your shoe other than you? lol .. They do have a potent smell at first but it wears off when you do actual walking and work in them. It's a petroleum based waterproofing/crease proof coating to help them last longer. They also take a couple miles too completely break in and suggest wearing mid to high length socks to keep from rubbing your shin. Smile people, and enjoy these extremelyyy reasonable priced BASS boots. Or go be as unhappy with 180 dollar kenneth cole reactions, florsheims, or steve maddens :P
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
Very disappointed with this purchase!!! So appalled that I received a USED pair of shoes when we obviously ordered a new pair! Upon unboxing, I found that the bottoms of the shoes had so much dirt. I took a closer look and even the rubber on the heels were shaved down from heel drag. There are creases on the leather upper portion as well. I've uploaded pictures of the shoes so you can see what I'm talking about. Another thing, these are NOT true to size at all!
review image review image review image review image review image review image
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2012
The first thing that I noticed is that these boots make my neck hurt because I keep staring at My feet while I'm walking. They are very good-looking. They are very Comfortable. I recommend stripping the protective coating and polishing them To a high luster before you Put them on. I like these boots so much I'm ordering three more pairs tonight.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2011
Got these for $40 on amazon goldbox. I would not pay more than $50 for these. They do not compare to my Blundstone or RM Williams boots, both of which are the pioneers of this style boot. The leather is cheaper and the they do not fit my feet nearly as well. As usual you get what you pay for.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2014
I got these specifically for 501st acceptance for my sandtrooper because TKboots had a 6month backlog. I wore these for about 2 months to work. I really like them for everyday wear. As many have said, they run about a half size big but that was fine. The tops are kind of stiff - not a complaint, but I didn't know what to expect and had nothing to compare with (until I got my TKBoots referenced below).

Eventually I did take acetone to these and stripped them down and painted them white for my sandtrooper. That also worked great. They were totally fine trooping all day at Phoenix ComicCon (although I did put a super cushioned insole as a precaution for standing 8hrs) and I got accepted into the 501st with these. Eventually my TKBoots arrived; the leather on those was much more flexible than these. My only complaint (which is ONLY related to stormtrooper wear) is that I believe the Amsterdam's stiffness and lower ankle height from my TKBoots contributed to my shins always riding up over the top of these; I've never had my shin guards creep up with the more flexible and higher-ankle'd TKBoots.

I definitely recommend these boots for everyday wear. They're comfy and they look sharp.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
I wore these shoes one day and got about five compliments on them. Not that that matters much, because I'm in love with them regardless of other people's opinions. These are a great looking pair of Chelsea boots. I've seen these bad boys run up to $400 depending on the brand, but these were only around $60. A reviewer complained about a smell, but you literally have to put your nose like one inch away from the shoes to smell it, so it's really a non-factor. Another reviewer mentioned that the smell is due to some kind of waterproof coating. The shoes do have a bit of a plastic/ rubbery look kind of like rain boots. They are real leather, though, which is good. The upper front portion does hit you in the shin, particularly when going up and down stairs. That can get kind of annoying, but doesn't seem to be much of a problem unless you're walking on stairs. Overall, the shoes are quite comfy and very stylish. The finish is a little weird, but not a problem for me. It's been suggested that you can even remove the finish. I don't know if that's true or how difficult it is to remove if it is true. Overall, these are great boots and I definitely recommend them.

Rating:
Look/ Style: 5 stars
Value/ Price: 5 stars
Comfort: 4 stars
Quality: 4 stars
Overall rating: 4.25 stars....4 stars on Amazon

*****Update 11/7*****
After wearing these boots another whole day, I didn't even notice the upper portion rubbing against my shin at all. The shoes are actually really comfortable. Oh, and I got several more compliments on them. I increased the Comfort rating from 3 to 4 which puts my Overall rating at 4.5 which means I'm gonna round it up to 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2014
These boots look good and fit good, but I've worn them now for 3 weeks and the sewing is coming apart between the leather and the elastic. I don't expect them to last more than another month or two. This is my third incarnation of this style of half-boot in a decade. I got about 8 years on the first pair (not this brand), 2 years on the second pair (not this brand either), and I expect to get less than a couple of months on this one. I will not buy these again nor recommend anyone do so. Move along and try a different brand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2015
It is a good shoe for the money ($70). The leather's texture does not quite match from the left shoe to the right, but most people would not notice it. Thinking about getting another pair, but the price keeps changing. I have always loved this kind of paddock/jodphur boot and it is nice to see them coming back in style for men.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
I usually opt up to a size 11. W/ these boots, turned out a 10 works for me and my feet are on the wide side at that. The leather is real, but looks (at least initially) more like vinyl. Bass brand shoes usually have leather that looks great, with minimal chemical smell right out of the box, but I'm guardidly optimistic that after a few days wearing these that the leather will look fine uniformly on both the left and right shoe. Amazon and Bass Footwear are two companies I still have a modicum of respect for regarding standing behind their products.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
These are nice boots. I gave them as a gift. If the wearer is used to lace up boots, it a sloppier feeling fit. He may have to get used to. His heel was lifting and rubbing a bit- so I put gel heel inserts inside. They are perfect now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.