Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars22
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 15, 2011
I'm a trekking tour guide in south of Chile and I been trying a lot of different brands without succes, is not the point to tell you the bad ones, but under extrem cold -2 F and strong Chile Patagonia wind, over 65miles an hour, the only one that I felt warm enough was this one. Extremely light weight, easy to pack, warmer with less layers under it, exelent breathing sistem. Just the best!!! I'm very very happy with it.
0Comment18 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2011
I ordered my first Arc'teryx jacket after much research and study. I could not be happier with my purchase. I live in NC where winters can be mild or harsh. When I opened the box the jacket was extremely light, not what you would expect when you are needing a heavy coat.It felt very soft and I wore it outside with just a t-shirt in 30 degree weather. It kept me very warm and the jacket is sporty and beautiful to look at. Fit is perfect(I weigh 190 5'11") XL works for me.Zippers and cinches all work great. 2 zippered side pockets.I love this brand.Highly recommended!
22 comments10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
I live in Indiana where the temperatures routinely drop into single digits during the winter. I was growing tired of constantly being cold wearing my North Face Aconagua or Denali jackets. I did a ton of research about winter jackets and finally selected the Arc'teryx Atom SV Hoody. I know it's really expensive, but it is well worth the money:

When the jacket first delivered to my home I was surprise by the small size of the shipping box. I thought to myself, maybe this is something else I ordered on Amazon, there is NO way the jacket is in there. It is not an exaggeration to say that the Atom SV is very light and thin. I would liken it's weight to that of a heavy poncho; no joke, it's that light. I started to get nervous as I put in on and walked outside into 15 degree weather... I was convinced that I had been fooled by the other reviews. Boy was I wrong. This jacket will keep you warm, really really warm. If I had closed my eyes with the jacket on you could have convinced me that it was 70 degrees outside. Despite being very lightweight and thin, this jacket works its black magic and keeps you nice and warm, even in windy conditions. In fact, it's so thin that you could easily wear another jacket over the top, maybe a softshell.

The wrist on the sleeves of the jacket are made of a stretchy material that clings to your skin to lock in the warmth (it does not have those tacky adjustable wrist straps like most jackets). There is some more of this material on the back of the neck as well; it eliminates the chance of getting a cold gust of wind down your spine. The underarms (on the inside of the jacket) are covered with a fleece material that helps vent without letting the cold air in. The jacket is gusseted under the arms, meaning you get a full range of motion without any tugging on other parts of the jacket when you start moving your arms around. I find this to be very important; prior to buying the Atom SV I tried on countless North Face jackets, NONE of them had gusseted arms. The North Face jackets offered little range of motion without the jacket moving all over your body and tightening around your chest/back when you moved you arms.

The only thing I don't like about the jacket (and some will like this) is the front collar. The collar extends much higher than a normal jacket, meaning it will cover your chin if you are looking forward while wearing it. It definitely takes some getting used to having that fabric constantly touching your lower face/chin when you have it zipped up all the way. On a final note, I ordered the "Summit Blue" color; it is much darker in person.

My stats: I am 6' foot tall, 210 lbs pounds, 36" waist, athletic build. I bought a large and it fit perfectly, not too tight but not so loose that air gets in around the waist.

If you've got the money to spend, I would highly recommend purchasing the Atom SV Hoody !
11 comment17 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2012
I'm about to go on a trip to Montana (in November) and needed a warm jacket. I read reviews on comparable jackets to this one and wound up purchasing this jacket. I could not be happier with it thus far. I live in the Smoky Mountains and today I went outside with merely a T-shirt on under this jacket, and was incredibly warm. I could not believe how insulated this jacket was. And it's so light! I feel like I'm wearing a long sleeve shirt. It's not bulky at all (as my wife claimed she thought it would be a lot "bigger" when it got here). It looks more "fluffy" in the pictures. It's a great size. I'm 6'3 180 and ordered a Large and it fits me perfectly. I can't wait to try this baby out in the Rockies! This is the best jacket I've ever owned, and the most expensive, but i couldn't be happier. You truly do get what you pay for. This jacket is going to last me a long time, and I feel it really is worth the money to invest in something I'll need for years to come.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
This is a great jacket. I wear it in the Midwest at temperatures near zero. It is not warm enough on its own at that temperature, but can hold up with just a sweatshirt underneath at around 30 degrees F. It's incredibly light and the design is pretty sleek. I like the elastic bands that fit the sleeves openings to your wrists, but you might have trouble fitting bulky gloves underneath it.

Some problems with it, though. There is no way to hide the strap at the back of the hood so it protrudes awkwardly (without you knowing about it) if you tighten it. I've opted not to tighten it, but I'd rather have that option without looking silly. Two cords at your hips have similar problems, but they can be tucked underneath the jacket (though you have to do it every time you put it on). The material is smooth and comfortable, but feels like it might tear within two seasons. That said, it has not for me, so it is a premature judgement. It is part of what makes this jacket so lightweight, I would think. The hood is also large -- probably to accommodate headwear like a helmet -- so the jacket will not turn with your head. It's a little dangerous when crossing the road, I think, but it's not a big problem.

I am happy with the purchase and the black color is excellent for versatility. I wear a small on most things and I ordered a small here. I am able to fit several layers under it: an undershirt, a t-shirt, a sweatshirt and a softshell jacket is what I do on the coldest days. It then fits a little tight, but that's four layers! I think sizing up would look a little baggy, but it's your choice if you're thinking of layering some heavy duty tops. Personally I think you can buy it true to size -- no need to size up.

I'd buy this again at the same discounted price (between $100 and $150). Also, just a final reminder; this will not work as your sole outer layer on cold winter days around 20 degrees F. It is very resistant to wind and blocks out a lot of cold, but it is not a down jacket. It works best with layers.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
I bought Atom SVs for both myself and my wife. This is the first time I've spent this much money on jackets, and it was money well spent. Light as a feather, yet easily the warmest jacket I've ever owned. Works well in my area, UP of Michigan, close to the Canadian border, winters are single digit weather into the negatives with windchill. So far windchill is non-existent in this jacket.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
This jacket is amazing. Just like all the other reviews, you cannot go wrong with this product. It is unbelievably warm for its thickness, looks great, is super lightweight, and has a respectable water resistance. I am hooked on Arc'teryx after this purchase.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2015
outstanding jacket, excellent workmanship. Solid for 20s-30F temps with a sweater inside. Jacket is extremely light but keeps you warm when layered with a warm sweater on the inside. I used it in Vancouver, where it can get quite windy in winter. It kept me warm when layered with a sweater. Very nicely styled and tailored.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2012
I had never owned an Arc'teryx jacket before and decided on this model for the Coreloft insulation, the jacket is extremely light weight, extremely well made and designed, I particularly like the hood. I have tested this jacket in the Cairngorms of Scotland and I think it is worth every penny.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
My son, who lives in China, asked for this jacket for his birthday. I ordered the wrong size so my husband put the jacket on, just to check it out. He loved it too. I ordered a new one for my son and both guys have nothng but praise for the jacket.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.