Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Women's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Gifts Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on January 21, 2011
I wear New Balance shoes exclusively due to my wide feet and New Balance has a large selection of shoes with 4E width. These boots look great, are very light, and are also warm. These also run true to size so whatever size New Balance shoe you wear, order the same in these boots. You DO NOT have to order one size larger like you do with so many manufacturers of insulated boots.

The tread on these is very aggressive like turf shoes, and gets great traction and prevents slipping in mud or wet grass. They have a non-marking sole. We have had ice and snow this week with temperatures in the 20's, and I have felt confident walking in the ice and my feet have stayed dry and warm. Unlike alot of hiking boots, these slip on as easily as my New Balance sneakers, and also lace up very quickly and the laces stay tied all day without having to double knot them. I typically wear these 15 hours per day and these feel as comfortable as my athletic shoes. They did not require a break-in period and fit great right out of the box. I am very satisfied and would not hesitate to buy these again. Still holding up well after a full year of wear.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2011
The New Balance MO1000 Multi-Sport Boot is an all-round great walking/hiking boot for winter. It is insulated, waterproof, has a gusseted tongue, quick-lace top loop, mid-cut ankle support, and excellent grip. It has a durable construction, made with premium technologies, such as, Primaloft insulation (one of the best synthetic insulating materials) and Vibram rubber sole (world-reknowned shoe rubber manufacturer). The boot is comfortable, and has a flowing walking path. It looks great, with a high-tech pattern and style.

The only issue with this shoe, was the width -- the 4E in this model felt tighter compared to other 4E shoes in the New Balance family. Also, due to the waterproof construction, the MO1000 does not breathe well.

Overall, this boot has been great in rain, slush, and snow in all temperatures, even dipping below -30^C (-22^F). I have tried many winter walking boots from various vendors, including, Wolverine, Kodiak, Auclair, Adidas, and Dunham (premium New Balance), and the MO1000 is by far my favourite. I walk about 16km (10 miles) each day as a letter carrier in Canada, and these boots have succeeded where other boots have failed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on August 28, 2011
For standing, these may be the most comfortable shoes I've ever had. Walking comfort is very good as well.

Mine have some visible defects in the rubber material of the uppers. Also, one of the eyelets tore after only a couple of weeks of use. It's probably repairable, so I'll be visiting the cobbler soon. I shouldn't have to visit the shoe repair man for shoes that are so new.

Also, I try to buy domestically produced goods when I can, and many New Balance shoes are made in the US. I've been loyal to New Balance for many many years because of domestic production and quality shoes. These shoes are not made in the US, and they are not quality shoes. These are the first New Balance shoes I can't recommend.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on March 31, 2012
I have always been a New Balance fan but always got the running shoes. So for working in the yard, I thought I'd try some hi-tops.
I reviewed all brands for days and ended with these. I even went to the local hiking store and tried on dozens of boots, and they all seemed so heavy and flat footed. Even the $200 ones. So I reviewed the weights of each shoe. And discovered that even 4 or 5 oz, on your feet actually is noticeable. I wear a size 14R in their regular shoe, so ordered a 14R in this boot. I put them on, they fit like a glove. I had expected that it would take a few days or a week to break them in, but by the end of the day I forget I had them on. Plus the hi-top portion gave such extra support that at the end of the day, my feet actually felt better than when wearing low tops. My other 3 pair of New Balance now gather dust. I wear these working, jogging, and even to the store. They are are a very unassuming, ( as in they are not purple, or have pink stripes), so you dont stand out at the grocery store, or even the mall, with your blue jeans over the tops, no one knows the difference, but you do. The End.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on February 11, 2012
I bought these shoes because my current city is slow in its response in cleaning up after any snowfall. I do a lot of walking and I needed ankle high boots; however, I did not want a pair of heavy boots. I looked at New Balance because they appeared to make quality walking shoes. Having heard a lot of commotion about Vibram outsoles, I decided to give the MO1000 a try (despite costing more than what I usually spend).

From the moment I opened the box, I realized these were a set of well-made shoes. The things I like so far are:
1) It is very lightweight for a shoe of this size (under 1 lb)
2) It keeps your feet warm and dry, without making them sweaty or stinky.
3) Decent amount of comfort.
4) When it snows, these things truly become amazing. The outsole grips onto any snow covered surface and I feel like I am walking on grass or concrete; not a couple of inches of snow. In fact, the outsole is so grippy on snow, I feel like I can run on it! All of this traction on top of being lightweight, so they don't tire your leg muscles.
5) The outsole seems to be pretty durable; however, I don't feel there is a lot of rubber in the midsole. So, I don't know how long these will last. Have to check and see.
6) They look good.

The things I do not like:
1) These not the most comfortable pair of shoes. For me, I don't want to spend an entire workday on my feet in these. The comfort is fine for walking, but not for standing.
2) The Primaloft upper can form small white striations around the toe area.
3) The Primaloft upper will form wrinkles as you walk around in the MO1000.
4) The transparent plastic cover for the external heel counter can get scratched very easily.

I will update as I use these more and gain more insight. So far, in bad weather conditions these are superb. In less adverse conditions, they are okay as everyday shoes in terms of comfort.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on October 2, 2011
They are light weight for boots, and comfortable like running shoes. The fit seems to hold the heel in place well, while allowing the toes plenty of free space. As for sizing, I had some trouble between the 9 1/2 and 10. Size 9 1/2, which I usually wear, was slightly too small, so I exchanged for the 10. I haven't been able to test the warmth and water-proofing yet, but I'll certainly get a chance to this winter. The vibram soles look to be of good quality and should grip well in wet and snowy weather.

My use will be during the winter for going back and forth to work and for short walks, only and hour or two, through the forest. The boots appear to be designed only for light day hiking, and not more intense hikes.

UPDATE: I've worn the boots through the winter and they work as advertised - kept my feet warm and dry, all with a fitness/running shoe comfort.

I do want to comment that inside the shoe on the heel part of the sole there is a solid yellow "NB" stylized symbol that rubs off on the bottom of my white socks that is proving very resistant to washing, even with bleach, and now many of my white socks have yellow smudges on the bottoms of the heels. New Balance, I've bought you since you've started. Please fix this! C'mon, it's inside the shoe. No one can see it. Stop putting it on the sole and save a little in manufacturing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on February 6, 2012
I have insanely wide and flat feet and wear 11 4E in New Balance. I have no arch or metatarsal! I bought these to have something with ankle support to hunt and hike in, after I strained my ankle slipping on some rocks recently. They fit perfectly after adjusting the lace tightness. I walked on them for about one hour to do some shopping and then wore them for a 4 - 5 hour quail hunt the next day on uneven terrain kicking bushes, sticks, briars, etc. They were comfy and supportive the whole time. I haven't worn a boot in a long while, but I forgot I even had them on. Very happy with my purchase and look forward to wearing them to hike in the Rockies this summer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on February 22, 2012
I was excited to find these boots online and immediately ordered the same size I get all of my New Balance footwear in. When they arrived, I was slightly saddened to find that they were much too small (lengthwise, for once), with my toes being jammed in the end. I had to return and order up a size and a half to get a good fit. The boots are great snow boots, not so sure about normal walking around; the cuffs are pretty rigid just above your ankle. But they are great and warm in the snow - which is why you buy them in the first place.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2011
My husband takes a 14 4e shoe and we always buy him New Balance sneakers. This winter he really needed a pair of boots and most of the ones I could find in his size looked like something Frankenstein would wear. I was so happy to find these New Balance boots! They fit just like the sneakers are stylish, warm and waterproof. He's very happy with them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on February 23, 2012
size 15, 4E doesn't mean what it used to. Too small for me. I live in a small town, this is my only chance to get shoes that fit. you wanna sell to freaks, make sure they fit.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.