Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Brooks Men's Trance 10 Runnning Shoe,Bright Navy/Metallic Pavement/White/Black,10 B US
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lori Mckenna Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
33
Size: 10 B(N) US|Color: Bright Navy/Metallic Pavement/White/Black|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 31, 2011
Please see my review of the Asics gel Kayano 17. The reason is I have about 10 pairs of running shoes from different companies and thus I can make an intelligent comparison. It's hard to review a shoe if you have nothing to compare it to. The extensive list of the running shoes I own is listed in that review. Got the Brooks Trance 10's on pre-order and as soon as they started shipping in early Jan. 2011 I got my shoes. This is the best running shoe Brooks has ever put out. I also have the new Beast as well. This shoe flip flops as my best all time shoe with the ASICS gel Kayano 17. It is a high technology shoe with the new DNA gel like absorb shock system. And it works great. I need a good cushioned support shoe. I have normal arch and usually buy the 2E width in 12.5 size. I took out the stock insoles as I do in all of my shoes (running and basketball). I have the heat molded insert by Sole (Dean Karnanze). Amazon does carry this item and its expensive-- about 50 bucks. It adds a considerable amount to the price of the shoe. Well worth the investment. Plantar Fasciitis is no joke and difficult to get rid of. The Brooks Trance 10 looks good is well cushioned without being mushy and the motion from heel strike to toe off is excellent with good energy return. The combination of the materials, the design the lacing with extra tongue loop and the overall performance of this shoe make it a winner and an excellent choice. I weigh in at 240 lbs and these shoes hold up well. I may give the Kayano a slight edge but very slight. I usually like a neutral shoe + but have found more cushion and stability with the shoes designed for mild to moderate over pronators even though I don't over pronate. The Brooks Glycerin 8 is also a great shoe but lacks some of the technical features of this shoe. The Brooks design team obviously did their homework and it shows with this shoe. Truly a crowning achievement they can be proud of and its made in the USA. Do not buy the Beast unless you have severe over pronation issues. I got them just because I wanted them and have relegated them to my cross training and walking shoe. The Trance 10 or the Kayano 17. Too close to call. Get them both and you'll see what I mean.
66 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2011
Most people buy this shoe for running, but I need a good pair of athletic shoes for work. On average I walk around 2 miles a day. These shoes are awesome for cushioning, comfort, and feel. They are well built, and stand up to the Brooks brand.
This is my 4th pair of Brooks, and they keep getting better.
I also really like the style of the shoes, and is a major reason why I purchased them. They defiantly have a flare to them.

There are 2 minor things that should be pointed about them, I see out of the box:
First, the padding around the ankle and heel of the shoe is made loose. They're designed with more room around the ankle, and I've seen this in my past Brooks shoes. The best way to describe this is when you do calf raises you can feel the shoe slide just a bit. In the long run this might wear the padding, or cause irritation down the road.
Although, I can see the looseness being a positive when in the shoes for a long period of time. When I wear my shoes more tight my feet feel sore after hours on my feet.

Secondly, I have an issue with the material they use on the toe of the shoe. On the toe of the shoe, in between the breathable mesh and thick black rubber in front, there's a strip made of a cheaper plastic material. I wish the would use rubber or better synthetic material there.
It always gets scuffed and torn when you hit something with the front of you foot. If you own any Brooks shoes, you know about how the front of the shoe shows the most wear because of the weak plastic that's out front.
I especially see this at work when I kick stuff, or have to climb something.

These are just minor problems, and do not bring down what a great shoe this is.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2011
I'm not a big guy by any means, 155lbs- however I have bad knees. The extra cushion and gel and this shoe that has been directed at larger guys also works for me. This shoe reduces impact and my knees feel much better after my long runs. I have a hard time complaining about the extra ounce or so of weight compared to a comprable running shoe due to all the cushioning. They don't feel too heavy, and I think they might even help my performance when i switch to a lighter shoe on race day. I feel like these shoes are great for training and long runs though you may want to have a pair of gts's for race day. I know they say switching shoes isn't great- there isn't that big a difference in the feel between the two though. Think gts plus an once and a half of gel under your arch.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
I used these to train long distance (13+ miles a day) while deployed in Afghanistan. These shoes did really good, they cushion the shock and I never got shin splints. The only reason I am giving these shoes 4 stars instead of 5 is because they have almost a bit too much, making them very heavy for long distance. I'm slowly starting to transition to lighter more minimalist shoes, however these are still a great comfortable shoe to wear around or if going hiking and or going for extreme distances where your shins or feet need the cushioning.

Overall I'm pleased I tried these shoes out and I am now a big fan of Brooks running shoes.

Hope this helps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2012
Tried it as a switch from the Adrenaline. Certainly more cushioned which is nice, but it rubs a bit on my left small toe, I think because the upper is so flexible with the mesh it deforms more than most shoes. If they could just make the upper so it would hold its shape better, it'd be perfect for me. 10D on both, so maybe size variability as well - don't know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2013
This shoe supports my narrow foot and has held up very well in the gym - I don't use it for outdoor wear. I bought another pair for outside wear in black, but it didn't come in narrow. The black ones have been disappointing; they've gotten sloppy and the heel separated early. Why can't companies give customers better choices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2012
I haven't really had a chance to get a good run in these but in my previous experience withbrookthey've all been good and I've gotten a different kind each time. So far so good. Coushin is wonderful and very soft as if tdhey mold your foot. They also look very sharp. I'm very confident in them once I start really running in them. With all my brooks in the past I average about 25+ miles a week on the treadmill and they have all held up nicely, the only reason why I got a new pair is because its good to get a new pair each year. The only time I wear my brooks are in the gym or working out.. I wear a women's size 11 men's 9.5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2012
There is a little more room in the toe box than the GTS12 (two different pairs) that I have been using for about a year. The support feels very close to the GTS12 and has many similar features. The price has dropped for these shoes now that they are an older model, but still just as good.

I like the extra room and use it as an alternate training shoe to allow my foot to have different wear patterns with the same basic look, feel, and support. (I always add a pair of SofSole Airr insoles to round out the package).

I average about 20 miles a week and run about a 8:15 min/mile pace. Not a racer, but fast enough to feel the quality of the shoe. Another great product from Brooks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2012
I started out my running career in brooks. I got caught up in the hype and switched to "barefoot" shoes. Don't get me wrong, these are great for normal use and light training, but it's very easy to do too much too soon in these. My orthopod says they help keep him in business... Anyway, back to the point. My bare footing led to metatarsal stress fracture and degeneration of tarsometatarsal joint which knocked me out of the game for a few years.

My ortho suggested I try a shoe with more support and/or a carbon fiber insert. Tried the insert first with my lighter shoes and my gait was terrible. Then I invested in a pair of trance 10s. I tried them first without the insert and the results were wonderful. It was the first run in years where I didn't have to think about my feet and they didn't hurt afterwards.

Sorry I ever put my brooks down now, and very happy to be pounding the pavement again. These shoes have the stiffness I need with just enough give to allow me a normal gait. I have a narrow (13a) foot, and the medium feels like a perfect fit. The high arch support and full length DNA help minimize the movement of that painful joint and relieve the strain on that old fracture.

These arent going to be perfect for everyone, but brooks makes a whole line of excellent shoes (used to love the adrenalines). If you aren't happy with your shoes, give them a try!

8/23/12 UPDATE: Did a 13 mile run last week. Didn't think I'd ever make it up to that mileage again. Thanks Brooks!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2014
Just found these at my local Ross for a great price. Decided to pick them up after seeing the price and reviews on Amazon. They are definitely living up to the hype. Wish I would have picked up more than one pair. I have been doing the mass schedule of p90x3 and running about 30 miles a week. The pain I would get in my knees and hips when doing the same activities in Pumas has almost completely subsided. These are some of the best and most comfortable shoes I have ever owned. Cheers to Brooks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.