Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 1, 2012
I purchased this product and had the same experience as the other post: the CD that comes with it to upload the drivers does not work, and neither does the USB cable attachment. When you try to install the CD, it says it will search for updates, then comes back and says it can't install anything. Then it tells you to plug in the USB cable, and it is already plugged in. I speculate that these are a bad batch the manufacturer got rid of. I tried this on 3 different computers and got the same message. It's interesting how the price has also gone up on these since I purchased. It would be a great camera if it did everything it claimed. :-/
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2012
The packaging calls this item "Camera Ball" and not Microeyes. The "Ball" takes very good video pictures and has excellent sound quality. However, there are several cons for this product. First, its round shape is annoying. Because it is the size of a ping pong ball, it rolls around like one making setup difficult. Second, the instructions are confusing and a third grader could have done a better job writing them. The Ball is very difficult to operate because you cannot tell if it is on or off. When you try and select the record button, likewise, you cannot tell if you've turned it on or off. Several rounds of turning the thing off and on and selecting the recording mode will teach which lights are blinking for on and off, and for the mode you are looking for. To playback video, you will probably need the viewing software that comes with the Ball.
In conclusion, if you are going to buy this product, just be aware that it rolls anytime you put it down and it is difficult to operate. If I had a do over, I would be a pen camera instead. The "Ball" is difficult to hide.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2012
As much as I wanted this camera to work, it gave me 2 days of frustration. Too many dysfunctional items, and complicated steps & buttons. It would be nice to simplify this toy and actually make it work.
The disc does not update the new version for the camera. Then I tried to follow the poor instructions ( perhaps just bad translation) and set up the camera on stand by mode for the night after charging it 2.5 h. In the morning there was no recording. The only thing that this camera did: took nice manual picture shots and based on the clarity of the pictures I had high hopes. Then I tried to recharge it to see if I did something wrong for the night setup, but every time I tried to insert the USB cable it froze the computer. On another computer there was a message that said that the USB exceds the power, so back it goes. I am so disappointed! It looks like a nice toy with multiple acessories problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2013
But that was then, this is now. The first CamBall I purchased would not start at all. I was able to contact the retailer who sold it to me and he gave great service replacing the bad unit immediately.

The second cam I received worked well, recorded well, had great resolution, but after a few months the on/off button stopped working correctly; the spring under the soft button just broke. Even so, I was able to continue using the camera for a year or so after getting it into on mode.

After only a few months of use, the recorder would not stay on unless it was plugged into a 12V source. Another disappointment, but it was still recording when plugged into the car.

I was not happy with the limited recording of the 2GB memory card so I purchased a 16GB memory card to extend recording time, but the Camball would not recognize the 16 GB card and continued to record only on the first 2GB. After a bit of reading I learned that the firmware would have to be upgraded to work with 16 gigs. However, no matter what site or software I tried to use, I could not get the camera to download or install any firmware upgrades.

Cut to today when I plugged the recorder into my home computer to look at the latest video. Nothing has been recorded and as far as I can tell, nothing had been recording on the Camball for an unknown amount of time.

If this was just a $50 unit, I would have been happy to just chalk this on up as a "failed effort" but this was not an inexpensive camera. At $200 I expected more and believe I should have had a better experience than this. Another poor quality Chinese product sold to a gullible American.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2013
I would give the BallCam 5 stars if the microphone picked up sound better. Otherwise it's excellent quality video camera that's not hard to configure and get to use as soon as it's charged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2011
The product is very innovative. Small and relatively easy to use. Has a large memory, and the funtcion of the move detector can save a lot of battery.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2012
I have purchased several of these units for various applications. I have used them in the car and in my office. It automatically adjusts to darkness which has been a great help in both of these situations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2011
I had a hard time trying to set the camera up and figure out how to operate it. I ended up never using it and gave it away as a gift.
22 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2011
I've seen this item price go up and down. Why is that?
I actually bought it for 95.00 and now that i come back to get another is 194.00

WTF?
55 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2014
Peace of crap, bad, doesn't work...

Horrible lens, horrible night capture...

Do not buy, stay away...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.