Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
26
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 2, 2012
I purchased the large version of this bag for a trip to Africa, and am glad I did. After a number of long flights, dusty days bumping around in the back of a Land Rover, and a bit of rain, this bag still looks brand new. I own other Eagle Creek luggage, and as usual, their stuff seems near impervious to harm (and the warranty is excellent, if something should happen).

This is a fairly basic duffel, but it does have a few nice features. The shoulder strap, which was quite comfortable, is easily removable and packable, which is good for a checked bag. The carry handles seem good and strong, and there are a couple of cinch straps that are great for tightening down the contents. There is a small zip pocket on the outside that can carry some incidentals, though nothing too large. The main zipper is good and heavy, and is designed to fit a travel lock.

The bag itself comes packed in a very small stuff sack. It would be fairly easy to pack one of these in another piece of luggage without taking up much space. Speaking of space, I was shocked at just how much stuff I could fit in this bag. Ten days of clothes and supplies still left plenty of room. It's possible I could have gotten the medium and still fit everything.

The only thing I would have liked would have been a small pocket on the inside to stow a few things while the main zipper was locked. It took a while to find some small items in such a large bag. Also, since this is a packable, soft, bag, there is no rigidity in the bottom, which can make it slightly awkward to carry if not entirely full. We got around this problem by putting a sheet of cardboard in the bottom. It's not advertised as a solid bottomed bag though, so this isn't a mark against the product.

In any case, this is an excellent bag, and I'm tempted to get one of the smaller ones to use as a carry on in the future.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2012
I've been living out of the Large duffel bag for the better part of two years. On average I've loaded it with 20 kg / 45 lbs. of personal items and gear. The Medium bag was too small for this load and this Large bag could accommodate more.

I've owned and used both the small and large size versions of this bag. They are made of exactly the same materials. I used to load the small bag with 10 kg / 20 lbs. on average. After living out of it for some years it showed remarkably little wear. The large bag is showing more wear. Several holes have worn through the bottom material and one seam in the upper material has begun to separate.

With the small bag, I always used the shoulder strap when walking. With the large bag, I find it very awkward to use the shoulder strap when walking. As a result I have given up on the shoulder strap and it is now the reserve strap for my small bag. With the large bag I have resorted to putting my arm through the top handles and carrying the bag over my shoulder. Walking with a 20 kg load slung over your shoulder becomes uncomfortable pretty quickly, but it is possible to walk at a normal pace.

With the small bag I never used the cinch straps, but with the large bag they compress the load and make the bag less awkward to carry.

The lockable main zipper makes it more difficult for thieves to access the contents of the bag. If the situation warrants it, one can lock the bag to an immovable object with a choke chain. (Choke chain and lock not included.) The outside pocket is not lockable.

Carrying any big load is going to be difficult. For maximum comfort a backpack is probably the answer. Is some wear and tear after many months of use to be expected? Is it acceptable? You decide. Can you find a better duffel bag on the market? I don't know. Can you find a similar bag at a lower price? I don't know.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2012
I feel like I bought maybe the best possible duffel bags out there with this model and brand. These are a very durable and useful bag. After getting the XL Green came back and got Large Blue. In the XL size, you can fit a sleeping bag, camp pillow, multiple small toiletry bags, shoes, and bunch of clothes in. Its probably all you really need. In the Large you can get either a weeks worth of clothes, or fill it with other gear for car camping. The handles can also be worn as a sideways backpack if you need to free your hands to carry other things. The fabric feels like it will last forever. We all like the green best though, they seem to blend in, hold so much and work so well for men or women and are soft and collapsible. My opinion of Eagle Creek products has become very satisfactory after this purchase.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2012
Every couple weeks, I leave home for the weekend and I need a roomy, durable duffel bag to hold my clothes as well as other odds and ends I am bringing with me. The large size is perfect to fit three pairs of my 36" inseam pants (folded in half), three to four shirts, a jacket, an extra pair of shoes, and of course socks and undies. The bottom of the bag is not reinforced with any type of stiff material, but the way it is constructed, it will sit flat without the need of reinforcement. It will also fold up into a sack (included) that is 14"x7"x4" (approximately).

This bag seems durable enough that I do not worry about throwing it down on the floor or tossing it in my trunk. I really like the padded handle. It makes it much easier to carry a heavy load. I wish the padding on the shoulder strap was thicker but it is fine as it is. The zipper seems durable and I do not worry about breaking this like I have many zippers in the past.

There is on zippered pocket on the front of the bag, but no other storage pockets elsewhere on the bag. I was spoiled by my previous bag's side pockets. They make it easier to find the smaller things without having to rummage through the entire bag. However, the front pocket has worked fine so far so I cannot take off any marks for the lack of the extra pockets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2013
This is a tough, nice looking duffle bag that fits so much in it.

We bought two of these bags for use on holidays as checked luggage, they are so light they don't eat into your luggage weight allowance, whereas wheeled bags are often 4kg or more.

The cinch straps across the top let you cinch it down if it isn't full, making its dimensions smaller if you are having trouble with checked in luggage restrictions. We never had a problem with this as a checked bag on several airlines. The base is reinforced and strong. It folds down very small. The bag it comes in can be used as a packing cell while you're travelling, to put miscellaneous items, socks, undies or whatever in it, to keep them separate from other items - a packing cell that size would normally cost $15 or so at least, and this one is free with the bag.

The only thing not good about this bag is that you can fit so much into it and it can be so heavy, that we missed not having wheels. They do have a shoulder strap, but if you're lugging 23kg around, they're still very heavy to carry by the shoulder straps or the carry handles. Easier to find a trolley at the airport for the bag. If there's two people with two of these bags, the carry straps on either end mean you can each grab one end of each bag and walk in convoy with them.

I highly recommend this bag for African safaris, where you have to travel with collapsible bags, or where you want to utilise your checked luggage allowance on your contents rather than wasting it on the bag's weight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2013
I wish this bag had the pass through to hook over the telescope handle of rolling luggage, but this large size does not.
Its a nice large size and well constructed.
I don't think I can fold it up again to get back inside its stuff sack.
Great sturdy bag. No problems after checking it in as luggage for 6 flights.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2012
This bag was bigger them I expected, which is great!!! It comes in great cute packaging, and as i was pulling the bag out it kept getting bigger and bigger. this looks plenty big enough to pack all of my sons clothing for our move. Love that it is so light weight, so we can pack it full without worrying about going over baggage weight limits!! May have to buy another one in the future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
I bought this so I can travel with ease instead of lugging around a heavy and bulky suitcase. This bag is certainly large (I got the L size), and will hold anywhere from 5-7 days of outfits and more. It folds back quickly, easily, and compact to fit into the bag that is supplied for easy storage. Anyone who is looking for a durable, high quality, portable, and easily stored duffel can't go wrong with this, especially for the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
I haven't bought a new duffel bag in years, so when I realized my high school bag was on its last legs, I panicked a little. I did some basic research and then bought this in a rush. I took it on a crosscountry drive with me, and I am so happy I did. This bag is HUGE, but not as hard to carry as I thought it might be. You have to sling it in an awkward fashion for maximum comfort while carrying, but it does not fall off your shoulder and the outside straps help keep everything stable and in place. I spilled water, coffee and shampoo on the bag, but none of these liquids reached my clothes and there is no discoloration. All in all, I am very satisfied. I'll be taking this on all future trips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
I bought these for our 3-week trip to India. We were traveling with a baby and with all the luggage restrictions (we were checking in his car seat), we weren't sure if normal suitcases/luggage would serve our needs. We wanted to try duffel bags which were tough while not being heavy. After doing some research, these seemed to be a good fit. We ordered a couple and were able to fit in a lot of stuff (~50lbs) in each of them. Just to be on the safe side, I taped the bags(with packaging tape). But it didn't seem like they needed it. They survived the trip fine without a scratch. I even used them for road trips. We were extremely satisfied with them and would recommend them. It would have been great if these had wheels, but I bought them knowing well ahead that these didn't come with wheels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.