Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 7, 2007
I like the general design and features of the Ice2O, but after owning one for a little more than a year I would not recommend it to anyone.
The ice dispenser flap started opening and closing in the middle of the night. It woke the whole family up and then we saw that the lights on the front were flashing and none of the buttons would do anything. Now, I understand that stuff happens and things can fail under normal use - but we had taken very good care of this appliance and this was clearly a design flaw. I searched online and found that many, many people were having the exact same trouble. When I contacted Maytag and explained the situation they responded (several days later) with an email stating "Based on the information given, it appears your appliance requires service" (Really?), and then "We regret that due to the age of the product, we will be unable to assist with the cost of the repair." The AGE? It's barely over a year old! It was built with defective parts! I was also upset that they responded by email. On their online form they make a point to ask how you would like to be responded to - email or telephone. I asked for a phone call.
When I emailed back regarding my disappointment they replied back (again, several days later) with "You are a valued Maytag customer and we appreciate your support of the Maytag brand. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to assist you today." Of course the response was by email - after I had again specifically requested a phone call in my response. WTF?
In addition to the Ice2O I also own their top of the line washer and dryer and have purchased several Maytag appliances for rental properties. Not anymore.

Before buying, do a quick search online and you'll find that it's quite common for this same thing to happen. It will happen to you too. Don't purchase this refrigerator, or any Maytag appliance for that matter.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2007
We've had this refrigerator for 18 months and our ice/water dispenser are doing the exact same thing as the previous reviewer described. Flapping, flashing lights, buttons don't work...piece of junk!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2012
Maytag has thought of everything. I've had my Ice2o for about 4 years now. Innovative. Quiet. Efficient. Adjustable shelves, freezer on the bottom, ice maker on top, very well thought out. Thank you Maytag.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2009
I puchased the Maytag Ice2O counter depth a little over a year ago because I had just remodeled my kitchen and needed something not so deep to fit in the spot I had planned for it. It is a very nice fridge and have not had any problems with it so far. The only thing I don't like about it is that the ice maker in the door will make enough ice for 2 1/2 glasses full and that's it. No more ice! Also, if you need a fridge with lots of room, this is not the one to get since it is very limited in what you can put in there. I knew that by getting the counter depth that I would be loosing space but the design could have been better to accomodate more shelving instead of the large bin at the bottom of the fridge that is a hassle to get into quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2008
This a great fridge! Looks great in my kitchen, counter depth matches it in well. i have the full stainless maytag suite and it's all very nice looking. hope I don't get the water problem - I have my water hooked up to water bottles via a separate pump.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2012
I bought my Maytag french door frig in 2010, so it's 2 years old. Model MF12067AEQ, looks identical to this, almost identical model # except for the last letter. It stopped making ice 2 months ago. It has now stopped cooling/freezing by about 50%. Big ice build up in freezer section. Repair costs are astronomical. No wonder they only offer a one year warranty. Beware and avoid. Probably a $600+ cost to fix. Worthless for a product that costs so much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2009
I bought a Maytag refrigerator because of their commercial that their repair person was always sleeping because nobody was calling for repairs, meaning that their products are really good. I was dead wrong because the reason why nobody was calling the repairman of Maytag was I guess nobody was buying it except me. After four years of usage of this refrigerator, it started to break down. The freezer would not work anymore. I have extended warranty of five years but nobody can fix it. The Maytag repairman even accused me of being my fault for the freezer not working. After a year of having a technician repair the refrigerator, I decided to buy a new one. It was not worth the aggravation of calling the technicians anymore. I disposed the Maytag and replaced it with a Whirlpool. Maytag still send me on mail offering me to get an extended warranty which is really a big joke. My advise to everybody is not to buy any Maytag products. Good only for five years or less.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2013
I purchased this refrigerator back in October of 2006 when we remodeled our kitchen. The counter depth works great for us, look awesome too. We have only had one minor issue which was the ice maker would not dispense ice roughly a year after purchasing it. The tech walked in and knew exactly what to adjust. The little flap that pushes the ice out of the forming tray into the ice bin had some play in it and it was getting caught on the ice form. Quick adjustment, all fixed. Since then, no problems whatsoever. I highly recommend this refrigerator.

Do keep in mind that this is a counter depth model. It is smaller inside, and the ice maker does not hold much ice. We always have plenty of ice for our family of four but if we are going to have a party we definitely have to buy more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.